We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR RETURN TO HOLBECK GHYLL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We returned to this wonderful arts and crafts designed hotel for the fourth time. It just gets better and better. This time it was for their gourmet week-end.
David McLauchlin's menus were superb. Don't be daunted that there are six/seven courses on each menu. They are all well guaged so that you don't feel bloated at the end of the meal.
Sommelier Stefan beautifully matched the wines for each course. He also gaves details and verbal tasting notes on each of the wines.
Andrew McPherson, the hotel general manager, has schooled his team so well that although he is there for his guests he lets his brigade get on with their jobs without looking over their shoulders. He trusts them to do their jobs well and they do.
Tom, Matt, Alex and Stefan et al, the main dining room staff, remember each guests names which gives a homely and personal feel to it all.
Our bedroom was the Lord Lonsdale (he of the boxing belt and who owned the house as a hunting box). It is a large room with art and crafts stained glass windows and a door (stained glass, of course) on to a balcony and stunning views over Lake Windermere and the Fells beyond.
All in all another memorable visit to Holbeck Ghyll.

Room Tip: Lord Lonsdale, see above, the Tower room (it has a jaccuzi bath)
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raeside_auld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

You know we all love seeing you! Best wishes to you and your lovely wife. Glad you didnt mentioned the motorway journey.....! Trish is still waiting to be all yours......


Best wishes


Andrew, Jane and Daisy dog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for Holbeck Ghyll Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

If you like package hotels don't stay here. If you like average food give this place a miss.
If you love crowds of loud people steer clear.
If you love mediocre menus and dreary service skip this place.
If you want the quintessential exclusive hotel feel with an understated and unfussy attention to exact detail ...amazing Michelin food , best wines , supreme service ....stay here . We've stayed around the world, this is very special and very wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JarvisMrMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

This is the best Trpadvisor report I have ever read - you should be in journalism! We all had a chuckle and are delighted that you enjoyed our service, food and style. As they said in the movie Grease.... 'You're the one that we want...ooo,ooo,ooo!' Come back and see us soon!

Best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We got a discounted B&B deal through Voyage Prive, and even then it was bit more than we usually pay for weekend stays. The hotel is a delight. We visited Blackwell (arts and crafts house)on the way and this set us up to enjoy the lovely arts and crafts furnishings and decoration. We had a room with an amazing lake view in the main house. The room was a real period piece with a wonderfully comfortable bed and the cleanest brightest bathroom ever. Even the tea-making tray is an exercise in working out everything that a customer might enjoy. The staff are delightful - determined that you will enjoy your stay with them. We had a pleasant surprise on arrival - told that our package include an hour's spa treatment! The dinner menu was too fancy for us (why don't smart hotels have a 'plain eater's' option?) so we went down to Bowness for another great meal at the Golden Fortune chinese retaurant. Breakfast was delicious. My wife had a super spa treatment (Fell-walker's Life Saver!) while I idled away an hour in the sauna, steam room and coffee lounge. Some nice touches like a whole set of leaflets on local walks printed by the hotel. If only all hotels could be as good as this..... .

Room Tip: We had room 3 - one of the pleasantest rooms ever. Go for a lake view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobnShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Glad you liked us and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to the lakes and hope to see you again soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at Holbeck Ghyll on a Friday in the lodge (Squirrel Nutkin; all named after Beatrix Potter characters) which is a separate building a short walk from the main house. The room was very nice and spacious with a beautiful view of the lake. The hotel is extremely nice and welcoming with an entrance hallway, two sitting rooms with open fires and a wood panelled dinning room. We booked dinner for 8.30pm and arrived at 8pm for canapés and a glass of champagne in one of the sitting rooms. Your dinner request and wine choices are chosen here then they lead you through to the dinning room. The food and the wine choice (assisted by the sommelier) were excellent. Petit fours were served with coffee in the sitting room were you can relax and chat. My only grumble regarding the food would be the small supplement of £3 for scallops as a starter. When i am paying £380 for room and dinner, why am i asked to pay an extra £3; i mean, come on, whats that about. Just increase the overall price and remove the indignity of the extra charge from the menu; just seemed a little petty to me. That said i had a wonderful time, thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdexholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and I have taken your point on board regarding the supplements. Each week we discuss the guest feedback and yours will be a hotly debated point.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you back again with us soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Hollbeck Ghyll is one of a kind. I stayed there during a long weekend and had a great time. The view of the mountains is simply spectacular. The restaurant and the wine list are impressive. Many of the furniture inside has been restored to perfection. Elia Shreiber, the housekeeping manager was outstanding. Elia herself is a reflection of the high level of service at this unforgettable property. Hope to return one day and bring the family along.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectular views and outstanding decor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiliyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

You are right; Elia is a pillar of the South Lake Housekeeping Community and the back bone of our clean and sparkling hotel - you can imagine how hard her and the whole team work given that it is sometimes raining, often muddy and we are dog -friendly! However, this never gets them down - always there with a smile and a doggy towel!

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review!

With al good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This was a wedding present and with such a high reputation we were expecting big things. The staff at reception were not as friendly as I'd hoped when we arrived after a *very* long journey; a smile and a hand getting in would have been much appreciated. Our room had a fantastic view of the lake - that cannot be faulted, and the room itself was comfortable.
Dinner was lovely. I had called in with dietary requirements that were noted and yet I still had a fantastic meal at the end of it. The staff again generally were not as warming as I feel they should have been, although we had no complaints about the service itself.
Breakfast the next morning took a little long to arrive but was cooked well. Our final disappointment was with the lunch - the same menu as dinner the evening before but less extensive.
Overall, a nice break but were it not for the food I would not have been very pleased with this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Lakeside room was wonderful
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderin_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. My team and I have had a long discussion about how we could have met your expectations and we all send our apologies; you should have been helped with your luggage even though you were staying in one of our lodges.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the food though, especially as you had special dietary requests. I am delighted that my kitchen and waiting team managed to satisfy you in this respect - similarly with breakfast.

Your sincerely

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Maybe we were expecting too much of this hotel but we were genuinely disappointed. It is difficult to put a finger on what was wrong; most of it was due to minor irritations. The staff were pleasant, the room comfortable with a pleasant view, but the whole place felt a little tired. The food was ok but it took too long for items at the breakfast buffet to be replaced on our third morning. . I should have asked for what I wanted to be replenished but by that time I really could not be bothered. Also got cold mushrooms at breakfast - an elementary error. Afternoon tea was a huge disappointment - almost niggardly in quantity and it cost £36 for two. Finally, the bill for our stay was incorrect. It is disappointing to have to make these comments as we had high hopes of having a lovely time but it just fell short for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Each week my team and I discuss, in detail, the good feedback and areas where we can improve. Your review reminds us that we can always get better in all areas.

I have spoken at length with my team regarding breakfast and they join me in sending our apologies.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £143 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing