We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Holbeck would definately come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Fantastic stay at Holbeck, the gounds are lovely and the view is spectacular, We were lucky enough to have stayed on a very sunny weekend and we ate canopes and had drinks outside on the lawn.

We stayed in the newer builds at the back of the hotel, no view but it was lovely inside, really clean, very spacious and the bathroom was amazing and so big, I think it was Eltermere cottage.

Food was fantastic, we went for the 8 course sampler menu with the wines to match, very expensive but why not enjoy the whole experience and really splash out if you are staying in an expensive hotel anyway!

Restaurant lacked atmosphere but what is lacked in this it most definately made up for in quality.

All in all it was a very good experience, very expensive, for 1 night. I could of gone away abroad for a week for the same money but very nice all around.

Nice treat.!!! Try it at least once!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlossyP0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

I took my partner to the restaurant here for a birthday surprise and was really impressed with the meal. Having the aperitif on the terrace overlooking Lake Windermere at sunset is one of those experiences neither of us will ever forget - a stunning view followed by a stunning meal. The service was a little slow at times but that didn't hamper a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank iTravelFurther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Firstly, I must apologise about the delay in service. I have mentioned this to Tom, our Restaurant Manager, and he joins me in sending our apologies. You were lukcy to get the fab weather and enjoy that sunset - this summer has been truly spectacular for those. We are all glad that you enjoyed the meal and we do hope that you will come back and see us on your next visit to the English Lakes.

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We came here a couple of weeks ago for dinner and we were so impressed my husband surprised me with a 2 night stay in miss tiggie-winkle room (best view ever) well worth the money it was such a luxurious room with great views I want that view every morning I wake up! On arrival we got champagne, chocolates and roses in our room lovely touch! We didn't want to leave the room. The staff are so nice here and the dinner was amazing just like last time. the Jerusalem artichoke velouté amouse bouche was beautiful, the guinea fowl was superb and my husbands beef equally good we had a bottle of champagne followed by a bottle of opus one my treat to my husband followed by dessert and I always have to have my cheese with a beautiful glass of Ramos pinto it was a wonderful night. We experienced the spa too and the two therapists were really good, treatments were very relaxing. We will definetly return here at some point so relaxing and luxurious but comfortable at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAAWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and, again, I have passed your kind comments onto the ladies in the Spa.

Do come back and see us soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A real gem of a hotel with magnificent views over Lake Windermere. The food was wonderful , and the welcome was superb . We were a two generations party and the young enjoyed it as much as I did . We took our two little dogs and they were ready to move in , so settled were they in the lovely fireside nook in the entrance hall . Wonderful walks begin and end at the hotel . A first class spa , the best massage I have had in years . We all decided we would make it a regular treat . Exceptional value for such first rate service .

Room Tip: I stayed in Squirrel Nutkin , the view was breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophiakidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have passed your comments onto the ladies in the spa and they are thrilled with such positve feedback. Daisy sends woofs, sniffs and licks and we are waiting to look after you when you have a date for your next visit to the Lakes!

Best Wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our time at The Holbeck Ghyll was fantastic. We booked in November for Cathy,s birthday and we were up graded to a fantastic suite over looking Lake Windermere. The room was the best we have stayed in. In the restaurant the food was to die for, the evening meal was much more than can be explained in this blog. If you are looking at spending some time in the Lake District around Windermere then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking Lake Windermere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyandDave070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review and it is nearly time to come and visit again - check out our webpage for special offers!

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just got home after staying at Holbeck Ghyll for two nights and I do just want to cry, because I want to go straight back!!
After promptly checking out of the hotel my other half had originally booked (which really did make me want to cry, or get a divorce!!) we arrived on Saturday afternoon and immediately knew we had found exactly the right place.
After a much needed, and very large, drink in the lounge (sat in the bay window with spectacular views of the stunning lake and landscape), we were offered the choice of viewing several different rooms all at the same fantastic rate.
The choice of the Mrs Tiggy-Winkle suite was a no-brainer! Enormous bed with views through the huge picture windows of the same breathtaking landscape and lake. The lounge area shared this view and the glass doors opened onto a private balcony with table and chairs. Lovely big bathroom with separate shower and bath and all facilities in room that you could wish for, including a decanter of damson gin! A lovely spiral staircase in the centre of room led to a small lounge area with single bed (and was the cause of much hilarity for me when hubby walked straight into it on his way to loo in middle of the night, serves him right for booking the earlier duff hotel!).
The restaurant was just lovely and the food and wine incredible, truly one of the best meals we have both ever had and we had no hesitation eating there again on our second night, simply sublime!
One minor blip we had with the shower was promptly attended to by the General Manager, Andrew. To be honest, I only mention it so we can thank Andrew again for the way he compensated us, which really was not necessary but was very much appreciated!
We could not fault our stay in any way, the hotel, our suite, the service and all members of staff were brilliant. And again the food, perfect (we had breakfast in our room and it was perfect).
I have never bothered to write a review on anywhere we have stayed before but just could not let this one pass, we will definitely be back, just not soon enough for me!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaTony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. My apologies for the boiler problem and you were welcome to the gesture, thank you for your patience. We all enjoyed looking after to you and do hope to welcome you back very soon!

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Oh dear what a shame that restaurant staff are lacking training.After a most wonderful welcome from Dave on reception and the delight of our room and location all went downhill from there.The Michelin star for the restaurant is surely a myth. Our experiences during dinner and breakfast are as follows.Butter warm and runny on silver plated dish required 2 requests to be exchanged; ordered half bottle ofNew Zealand Sauvignon Blanc was NOT the bottle requested and no apology offered! In fairness the wine itself was excellent.Additional bread roll failed to materialise despite repeated requests! Breakfast was a repeat of poor service post the general managers welcome into dining room. Toast arrived early,cold and half cooked( obviously not toasted to order) despite request for arrival with kipper and poached haddock.White toast never arrived as requested by my wife.Finally request for our thermos flask to be filled with hot coffee and warm milk upon departure was granted but when opened was LUKE WARM, hopefully our comment card will receive more attention than our personal requests. Oh forgot that when paying bill was advised that 1% surcharge would be applied to all credit card payments.Not applied to deposit pay,ENT via credit card and no prior advice of latter surcharge.Not sure this is legal but certainly not good customer relations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Michael,

We are all saddend by your review. We did try very hard to accommdate your requests in moving rooms on arrival because of the drilling noise, (although it turned out to be an electrical item going off in your bag), we did apologise about the wine, we did replace the butter, I have responded to your comment card and we inform our guests on the website, on reservation and on checkout about the charge. You should not have had to wait for a bread roll or toast and my restaurant manager joins me in apologising.

Of course, we take your comments seriously and such comments only help us to strive to do better. This is the second response that I have posted, hence the delay; I can only assume that the other has been removed?

Yours sincerely

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,104 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £158 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing