We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Celebrated my 50th birthday and also our 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel, the staff, the location, the food were all absolutely perfect. We had the gourmet menu, we only just about managed to fit it all in, seven courses is a lot of food. The taste buds were definetly working. Lovely lovely tasting food with absolute attention to detail.

We really loved this hotel and will definitely be returning. Thank you so much for making our celebration such a special one. Linda

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindamilbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed looking after you and your husband and I am always proud when people choose Holbeck for milestone birthdays and anniversaries.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

With all good wishes

Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    218
    122
    51
    28
See reviews for
146
833
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here on a Thursday night with a group of 8 friends celebrating my 40th b-day with a trip round the north.

We booked the Diner's Delight package which is unbelievably cheap considering what you get. One night in a beautiful bedroom, with either a great lake view or a shared terrace (with a lake view) that some of us had. The standard price is for fell view but they upgraded some of us. The bathroom I stayed in (room no.7) was incredibly spacey with a separate shower. Bed very comfortable. Old and cute design.

Also included was a fabolous afternoon tea in their lounge. With all the sandwiches, scones and sweets you could eat.

Then came three-course dinner that started off with champagne cocktails (well, not so good actually) and terrific canapées in the lounge. We browsed the menu and got to choose from three starters and three mains. After a while in the lounge (and some extra dry martinis) we we're redirected to the dining room and our table situated in the same place where Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon sat in "The Trip".

I had the scallops to start with and they we're probably up there with the best I've ever had. Others had the duck terrine and we're almost as satisfied.

For main course all of us had the lamb and everyone was pleased. Then came dessert menus and here we had a full menu to choose from. The "lemon" and the "pineapple" desserts we're most popular among us and everybody loved them.

As if this wasn't enough then they brought out the cheese expert with his trolley of 14 cheeses. Mainly french and english ones and we got to try a piece of everyone. Magic moment.

We then went back to the lounge for coffee, cognac and a huge tray of petit fours. So full, so satisfied.

The next day we went for strolls in the spectacular countryside. Among sheep and cows overlooking the lake. All of us agreeing that we had to come back.

The staff here we're all so very kind and welcoming. We had some issues with the lounge staff understanding us during afternoon tea and pre dinner cocktails, but other than that everything went smoothly.

Holbeck Ghyll is a must visit if in this part of the country. Can't think of a better place to bring my girlfriend and dog next summer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of the Diner's Delight - it is a good package and you described it very well. Sorry that the cocktails didn't make the mark - Tom, our Restaurant Manager, joins me in sending our apologies.

The Coogan/Brydon table is very popular as would be expected and I have passed your kind words onto the kitchen brigade. Such praise from such an experienced traveller as you does wonders for our morale.

We all look forward to you returning.

Best wishes

Andrew and Daisy (the dog)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We ate here in August - the delay in reviewing was to give the restaurant an opportunity to respond to my email, which they've declined to do.

We arrived slightly before our booked slot and were pointed to the lounge. Despite being told someone would take a drink order soon we waited over 20 minutes. I mentioned this at the front desk and they didn't do anything.

When we ordered our food we were told we couldn't have the tasting menu as we hadn't pre-booked. At no point were we told we needed to do this or given an opportunity to do so. I mentioned this but the waiter didn't do anything, instead he simply said 'oh' and walked off!

Service was sluggish throughout - we had to prompt for our wine, which arrived after our food, despite the waiter's response being that 'of course' it would arrive before the food when we prompted.

Food was ok - some dishes (crab and grapefruit) simply didn't work, others were fine, all were overpriced.

A special mention for the man who served us coffee, ordered a cab and boxed our petit fours to go, as he was the only glimmer of decent service all night.

We emailed the restaurant to tell them of our experience and they replied promptly that the manager would be in touch. They weren't.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DulwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to us. I am surprised to read that we haven't responded to your request for feedback. Usually my team and I try to be quick with these issues. Can I ask that you try emailing me directly on andrew.mcpherson@holbeckghyll.com?

Yours sincerely

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Holbeck Ghyll for 2 nights at the end of August as part of a week long tour of the lake district and Scotland. The whole experience here was fantastic. Our room (number 2) had the best view I think I've ever had from a hotel with a commanding view of Lake Windermere that I could have (and did) spend hours watching. The whole hotel is an example of classic British country hotel at it's best - classical done well. Service was impeccable throughout, friendly and personable and I can see why people say it's like being a guest at a friends posh house!
We ate at the Michelin restaurant on our second night and the tasting menu we had stood up extremely favourably to other similar establishments (with the added benefit of those amazing views from the windows!). Breakfast was of a similarly high standard.
We also had a couple of spa treatments (LaStone hot and cold stone) which were amazing!
All in all this place has it all - would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkSteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your great review. My team and I think your description 'staying in a friends house' is exactly what we set out to achieve. The spa ladies are over the moon with the mention, so thank you for taking the time to mention them.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew McPherson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great Little Treasure in the Lake District!
Very Friendly Reception!
Charming Rooms ... Old World Furnishings .. Unhurried Luxury!
Thoughtful Touches ... CD of Seranading Instrumental Music with CD Player!
Tempting Helpings of Cookies and Variety of Teas and Coffees in the Room.
Great View of the Lake from the Terrace Adjoining our Room!
Have to be Early for Breakfast though ... Small Hotel sometimes struggles to keep up with a Full Dining Room

Room Tip: Check for a Room Overlooking the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gajaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have noted your comment regarding the service levels and we have a new member of the team recently started -so hopefully you will find a better response time when eating with us.

However, overall, we were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay; we will be working on the breakfasts.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I booked two nights bed ,dinner and breakfast at the Holbeck Ghyll last weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday.

I settled on the Hotel by searching the Michelin starred restaurants in the area.

True it was a little more expensive than alternative venues but it delivered.

The Tower Room that we stayed in featured a huge four poster bed, whirl pool bath and brilliant views of Lake Windermere.

All the staff from manager to chamber maids were friendly and courteous, the restaurant staff in particular deserving praise for their efficient service.

The restaurant was busy on both nights (I had of course pre booked dinner). One half of the restaurant is wood panelled and features oak tables without table cloths which detracted from the experience, the other part of the restaurant was more traditional featuring crisp linen.

The staff did not wear badges so I cannot single any out by name,but the restaurant manager,our excellent waitress and the knowledgeable sommelierwere all excellent.

The dinners were imaginative and accomplished featuring the best local ingredients. The breakfasts providing a substantial start to a days walking, The smoked haddock was a real treat.

Another nice touch was the complimentary decanter of damson gin in each room.

All in all a thoroughly memorable stay.......for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main house rather than in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chim881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for a good review. I have passed your comments onto Tom, our Restaurant Manager and Stefan, our Sommelier - they are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Your point about the table clothes is an interesting one; the oak panelled room has original arts and crafts chairs and tables - all of differing styles and heights. When you put table clothes on these tables the varying heights are accentuated - and it does look incredible messy! We have tried to compensate with putting tablecloths and candles etc into the other room - and I am heartened that you notice the difference in style.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post such a good review.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A great location for a perfect relaxing break. Friendly, professional staff although some newer staff (have stayed here before) were not up to the usual high standard. Food and wines excellent as was the Spa. The gourmet menu was superb along with the matching wines. A bit surprised by the comment from below re having to have the' standard menu' - its anything but standard - its definitely Michelin Star - the gourmet is another, fantastic experience. Most of the guests couldn't have missed the groups conversations about whether to have the gourmet menu or not well before the night they asked. The main menu was excellent. I'd stay again just hope its soon!

Room Tip: Speak to David on reception - he's an expert on all the rooms - it depends what you want and wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing