We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Pure Beatrix Potter! We even stayed in the Jemima Puddleduck suite. Very expensive (by our standards) but what a treat. The view of the Lake (Windermere) that kept changing. Magical - oh and dinner was amazing

Room Tip: We got a good offer one weekend by searching online - otherwise i am not at all sure we could have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phetola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are all glad that you enjoyed your visit. Make sure that you sign up for our monthly email on our website as we often send out exclusive offers to our previous guests. We hope to see you back soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    206
    110
    45
    22
See reviews for
138
796
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed one sunday night at the end of October as a 40th birthday treat to ourselves. We picked the cheapest room, the fell room I believe, which was lovely and spacious. The food, service and overall experience were wonderful. Possibly the greatest meal we've ever had and we have dined at other Michelin starred places.

However, we were disappointed with the view from our room (9) which had a view over a building site. It looked like some large pipes were being laid in the ground on the green right outside our window. It was a large wasteland with a digger and contractors who could see into our room. This should have been made clear to us on booking as we expected a peaceful time with a view of the hills, not metres from this. We also had deliveries through the night outside our open window which woke me up so had to shut this despite it being a warm night.

The worst part of it was when we packed up to leave we saw a huge bonfire being lit right in full view with old pallets and wood. This was literally 30 metres from our window. Could they not have done this somewhere else? Luckily we were leaving and in a hurry, but I do regret not raising it with management when I left as it slightly spoilt our trip.

Great experience that aside, fantastic staff and we would possibly go back, just avoiding this room!

Room Tip: Avoid room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazwario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Firstly, I must apologies for the building site. We do try and keep noise and disturbance to a minimum. We are in the process of building a Laundry and Bio-mass Boiler House. I am disappointed that you didn't raise it with me when you were here - my team are quite ready to remind the builders about our guests - never mind; I have contacted you directly. The builders should have burnt the wood somewhere else, of course. They have been reminded.

I was, however, heartend to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to us. I also look forward to welcoming you back again.

With all good wishes

andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just returned fom a relaxing 2 night stay with my family very warm welcome from reception both rooms well presented turn down on both evenings restaurant dinner was amazing and service warm and genuine with the quality of food to a very high standard
Thank you to everyone at Holbeck Ghyll for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I have printed your comments out an posted them on our noticeboard. We are delighted that we were able to look after you well and hope that you all come back and see us again very soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We've just returned from our 6th trip to Holbeck Ghyll, and it was as good (if not better) than our previous visits. We were fortunate enough to stay in Ghyllside, the 3-bedroom cottage with stunning views over Lake Windermere. This time around we took our 7-year old Labrador Ralphie, along with our 5-month old Labrador pup (Greg). We're so lucky to have found such a fantastic dog-friendly hotel.

As ever, the food and service were impeccable. Special thanks to Philip, whose laid-back but attentive style makes the whole experience so special.

We're saving up for our next trip - it's worth every penny. (The only downside was that we didn't get to see Daisy......maybe next time??!)

Room Tip: We've stayed in several rooms at Holbeck Ghyll, and they're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YashinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Ralphie and Greg,

I am so sorry that we missed playing - I can't believe I wasn't here to show you where the best smells are! It sounds as though your mum and dad enjoyed themselves which is great to hear; I know Andrew has given Philip a pat for getting a mention. Give your guys a lick from me to say thanks for such a lovely review.

Wags, barks and sniffs

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very courteous, professional staff. Beautiful building. Miss Potter Suite a real treat, damson gin provided in a decanter in the suite - enjoyed in the private hot tub on the balcony with a view across the lake to the mountains. Food in restaurant delicious. Mushrooms at breakfast very moreish, could have eaten an entire plate of them. Lovely champagne with canapes before dinner. Very enjoyable silver wedding treat to remember. We may well be back. THE most comfortable bed I have had in any hotel, would like that mattress at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for writing such a glowing report! Delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and found the food gorgeous! I was especially pleased to read that we all made your silver wedding treat special. I have pinned your report to our noticeboard as praise like yours does wonders for our morale. Do come back and see us soon.

With all good wishes


Andrew and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the most adorable room overlooking Lake Windermere and the mountains beyond. With its charming window seat you find yourself sitting and staring out over the ever changing landscape.
We had the dinner on both nights and found no problem in choosing fabulously tasting and stunningly presented cuisine served in a calm but efficient way even though, on both occasions the restaurant was full.
This little piece of paradise always put us first and somehow managed to exude peace and tranquility at all times of the day.
We have already booked our next trip and cannot wait to go up the long winding drive from the bustle of the main Windermere to Ambleside road and enter our stress free, welcoming and beautifully put together away from it all.

Room Tip: The Lake view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review; again, it is another one that has been posted onto our noticeboard. It really does wonders for our morale to know that you have enjoyed yourselves so much with us. Do come back and see us again soon.

With all good wishes
Andrew and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here about 5 years ago and loved everything about this hotel. The room, the food, wine and service was impeccable! Staying again from Thursday to Saturday this week and very much looking forward to it. Booked a few treatments at the spa for myself and my husband. Can't wait to get there and just chill and enjoy the amazing views I remember so well from our last visit.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi Gill,

Hope you enjoyed it and we looked atfer you.

Best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing