We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to spend an evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to spend an evening”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My girlfriend and I took advantage of the January sale and stayed in the Miss Potter suite. It's an excellent place to hide away on a wintry, rainy night. We have been to Holbeck Ghyll before for dinner but this was our first time staying overnight and it lives up to all expectations. The standard of service is very high but not so much that it puts you on edge. (I find that overly attentive service makes me feel a bit uncomfortable but they get the balance just right.)

The Miss Potter suite itself, which is separate from the main building, is very well-appointed and very warm with underfloor heating throughout. We had an early morning dip in the private hot tub on the balcony which was more pleasant than it sounds on a cold, misty morning.

Breakfast was superb and being vegetarians we had to customise the menu a bit but they happily dealt with this. The menu lists Eggs Benedict but I asked for Eggs Florentine (with spinach) and it wasn't a problem.

Our only real comment was that the suite could do with a porch as you're quite exposed while fumbling for the keys and trying to unlock the door if the rain's hammering down (which, let's face it, in the Lake District it often is!)

Room Tip: The Miss Potter suite has lake views and a private balcony with hot tub. I can't imagine a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajax1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    218
    122
    52
    28
See reviews for
146
834
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We, myself, my wife and my mother [late 70s and now with poor hearing and walking an effort] returned to Holbeck Ghyll after our visit in 2011.Things were even better!
We had the two bedroomed cottage, the Shieling, and found it very warm and comfortable.
My mother found the downstairs bedrooms a real benefit: not having to constantly go up and down stairs in the evening.
Bathrooms are now looking dated but are fully equipped and with an exemplary range of toiletries. Cleaning is very well done and the evening turn-down service sets up the rooms perfectly for your return after dinner.
The upstairs living room was very spacious and well furnished. Festive decoration was perfect and the constantly refreshed supplies of tea, coffee and biscuits in the kitchen area made it a great place to find yourself snoozing during the breaks between meals or activities.
The main hotel is a couple of minutes stroll and was beautifully decorated for the season. The lounges are very comfortable and with lots of seating [although this was stretched during the main festive meals which, usually, started with a pre-meal drinks reception].
The Dining rooms are really well organised for the Christmas break. Tables are varied during the four day break, giving everyone fresh views over the surrounding countryside during daylight and new guests to chat to during the evenings.
Evenings see a range of entertainment: hand-bell ringers and trips to church services on Christmas eve, party games on Christmas day and a casino night on Boxing Day which you are free to join in or enjoy the efforts of other from your armchair with a comforting brandy!
Nothing seems too much for the staff, ever smiling and really attentive. Andrew is seemingly ever present and ensuring my mother is always happy. Tom runs the restaurant with charm and precision while Stefan will ensure your wine tastes are fantastically catered for.
The food is an obvious highlight - a constant Michelin standard being maintained on every one of our dishes over four days with the possible exception of the 'traditional' turkey main course on Christmas day. This was much better than a similar course two years ago. Overall the atmosphere, service and sheer quality and quantity of food on Christmas lunch alone is worth the visit!
The range of options on the menus over the three nights with dinner was really good, allowing us to enjoy lamb, beef, fish and game; all beutifully cooked and presented.
My mother's visit to the wellness area for a manicure went very well, with caring staff who ensured she felt really pampered.
I'd be amazed if, god willing, we don't return!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra. Cottages vary enormously but one will fit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
So sorry for this delayed response; I cant believe how time flies. I am glad that you enjoyed yourselves and we do all hope to welcome you, and Mum, make it back soon - I cant wear my red trousers without thinking a the bursar!

Best wishes to you and your clan.

Andrew, Tom and the rest of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I have been staying at Holbeck for over 15 years for special occasions i.e. birthdays, wedding anniversaries etc. We stayed for 2 nights on 16th and 17th December 2013 for my birthday. We booked a few weeks before hand and as usual requested any room in the main house, as they are usually all great. We were allocated room 6, which we couldn’t recall staying in before. The room itself was decorated lovely however there were 3 areas of concern 1) the bed was far too hard. The only position to get comfortable was lying on one’s back. I woke up a few times with pins and needles down my arm, as the mattress was so hard. I mentioned this to reception the following morning who informed me that most of the mattresses had been changed in the last 12 to 18 months, so changing rooms would not help the situation. I requested a second duvet to be placed under the bottom sheet which helped a little on the second night. 2) The second problem was the noise coming from a locked cupboard behind the headboard on the left hand side of the bed. The noise woke me early in the morning between 6am and 7am and again on retiring to the room to get ready for dinner. It sounds like either water pipes or ventilation etc. Thankfully, the noise could not be heard when we retired in the evening around 11.00pm. I would consider explaining this issues to guests in future and offer a room reduction. Some guest may not mind the early morning noise. I didn’t appreciate it. 3) The third but minor issue was with regards to the shower. It was difficult to get the right temperature of water and the shower head was not very powerful. I have long hair and it took a long time to shampoo and condition due to the lack of speed of the water coming out of the showerhead. Everything else was fantastic - food, wine, service, ambiance, spa was out of this world. Gourmet meal with accompanying wines was fabulous. Holbeck - please just consider these small points, as I think I may be trying somewhere else this year! Sorry.

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully. Don't book room 6 unless you like a really hard mattress and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seansid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Don't go. We are always improving bedding and new mattresses. I am very disappointed that my team did not offer to show you around and I have had a word with the team. Please accept our apologies. Please do give us a call when you have a date in mind to return and explain the issues that you had and we can make sure that your next room is more preferable. I would be grateful if you could email me your name, via the Tripadvisor contact email, so that I can make a note in your booking profile.

Yours sincerely

Andrew McPherson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our 6th stay at the lovely Holbeck Ghyll but our first Christmas and it was everything and more what we hoped it would be.

There was a lovely atmosphere around the place and everything available you could want for a fabulous Christmas in a beautiful Country house hotel.

This is my favourite Hotel in the Lake District and being a fusspot it ticks all the boxes for me - the food the wine the staff the rooms and of course the amazing views.

It is'nt cheap but the best never is!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Recently had short stay here for my Birthday.We chose to stay in one of the lodges having done so previously and it didn't disappoint.
Accommodation of a very high standard with view to die for.
Staff very friendly and welcoming and service excellent.
Food superb with plenty of choice and all cooked to perfection.
Always a pleasure to stay here and I'm sure we will return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgomurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year.

The building has a lot of charm about it, which looks very inviting with it's open fire places and numerous sofas although it does look a little tired.

The view of Windermere from our bedroom window was spectacular although again, the room was a little basic.

All of that said, the food and the service in the restaurant is excellent and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have just spent the weekend at Holbeck Ghyll, we will definitely return. The bedrooms are sumptuous, magnificent views over lake and hillsides, (room 4). What can I say about the food and the service. The food is outstanding, the flavours, textures and presentation ten out of ten, equal to any top restaurant in London and better than some. The service throughout the hotel is faultless, from front desk, waiters, waitresses and management. Can not recommend this hidden retreat enough.

Fiona and Max

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaSamuelsRadnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing