We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holbeck heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holbeck heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night as a special treat after her arduous battle with illness, and what a treat, the room was very clean and elegant in its decor with a wonderful view of Lake Windermere from the terrace,the staff were extremely attentive with nothing being to much trouble.We chose the gourmet menu with accompanying wines, it was a stunning dining experience, every course was beautiful, the restaurant staff were a class act and Stefan the Sommelier brought the whole experience together beautifully.
A fabulous hotel that we would recommend to all, can't wait to go back.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you very much for such a great review. Stefan is over the moon about his 'internet debut'. I am glad you enjoyed everything and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    202
    106
    44
    21
See reviews for
134
785
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first trip to H G. We decided last minute to have a two night break in the Lake District , we loved the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of the hotel. Great food lovely warm service, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JERYLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Glad you liked my hotel; tell your mates to bring their owners! And bring your guys back soon.

Woof, sniffs and licks,

Daisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Let me start by saying I had intended to rate this as 4 out of 5 on the basis that nobody pays much attention to the 5 out of 5 reviews on TripAdvisor. But when everything was just perfect, I really can't justify playing silly games.

This has to be one of the best places to stay with a dog. Being set in it's own grounds, with several circular walks starting from the hotel and with dogs being allowed in some of the bedrooms (as well as the inglenook in the hotel entrance hall) then this makes for a very pleasant break.

As far as humans are concerned, excellent food (if a little rich over the course of 3 days) and well-trained yet friendly staff make dining here a memorable experience. The views from the Lodge rooms, ours with a lounge area with panoramic windows, are wonderful - even though for most of our stay it didn't extend much beyond Lake Windemere due to the weather. And staying here midweek out of season, and being early birds, meant we had the dining room all to ourselves at breakfast time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miketynlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Oh no! Mike, you have given the secret to a wonderful, quiet, enjoyable breakfast away! I am so glad you have enjoyed yourself and even more delighted that your best friend had a great time. Thank you for your great review and taking the time to post it.

With all good wishes


Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Feb, choosing HG based on a 'Winter Package'. However when I came to book, the price of the package had been mis-communicated quite significantly. I almost went for our 2nd option, Gilpin, however the Manager threw in 2 spa treatments so we stuck with Holbeck.
We booked the Eltemere suite at £430ppn DBB. The website does not do justice to the room which was fabulous. We stay away a lot and are used to top end rooms but this was a little treat. The bathroom and Sonos system were great and we enjoyed big baths listening to music with damson gin, fab! The separate lounge in the room had a log burner with lots of glossy mags so we got the fire going and sat and read for a few hours on our drizzly 2nd day.
There was some building work going on outside so our view wasn't great so this is something to bear in mind if you do want a room with a decent view at the moment. We had dinner both nights and enjoyed our food, great wine although with hindsight should have had B&B on 1 night as 2 nights for that sort of richness of food was too much for us. Spa was lovely, breakfast great and service was fantastic. See note below we also asked to move from the bay window at Dinner and this was sorted with no issues, but top tip ask for a table not in the bay as it is cold!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for such a good review. I am concerned about your confusion on booking and, if you have the time, I would be grateful if you could drop me a line clarifying the confusion to the Tripadvisor contact details so I can make sure it doesn't occur again.

On the good side, I am delighted that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We have wanted to stay and dine here for some time. The wait was rewarded. It's reputation was justified. Superb location, staff very friendly and efficient, room very good. Dinner was excellent - the Michelin star is well deserved. Food well presented and interesting - superb cooking. Breakfast could have been improved with a better fruit salad and a fruit compote; and our dirty plates could have ben cleared. Otherwise this is one of the best hotels and dining in the Lakes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WestLakesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Good point about the fruit salad; something that my team and I will improve. However, I am cross about the plates...they should have been cleared; a strong word has been had with my restaurant team! However, I was glad that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbeck Ghyll in the very near future. Thank you for also taking the time to post such a great review.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Polite, relaxed, friendly service and a very pleasant room followed by a superb meal with an excellent wine. What more can you want? Perhaps the option of a trickle of whiskey on one's porridge next morning?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
What a great review; perhaps the best I have ever read on us! Delighted that you like us and the quirks. Come back and see us again soon, in the meanwhile, keep a wee dram close early in the morning!

Best wishes from us all.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I arrived at Holbeck Ghyll on 11th Feb, for a 2-night stay. It was a for a special birthday, and my husband had arranged for champagne and flowers to be in the room when we arrived. We were delighted to be offered an upgrade at no extra cost, and were thrilled with our room, which was now a suite. On the second night we had the gourmet dinner and went with the sommelier's wine recommendation for each course. It was nothing short of excellent. The real surprise was the dessert - the chef had piped 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY' on my dessert plate in chocolate fondant! (how did he know? - excellent communication between the staff, I suspect). Anyway, it was a lovely surprise to finish an outstanding meal.

Although this hotel is not cheap, the seamless service, attention to detail and ability to listen and act on customers views makes it an outstanding establishment. This is not the first, and will certainly not be the last time that we stay at Holbeck Ghyll. This place is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eclecticdiner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Glad we got it so right...and that you enjoyed your birthday surprise. Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you very much for such a positive one. We all hope that you come back soon; keep an eye on our website for some great special offer as well.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing