We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel and location.
Staff couldn't have been any more helpful and friendly.
Rooms are clean and spacious.
Dinner was fantastic, I've never seen food like it-art on a plate.
Used the spa and hot tub.
Cannot thank staff enough for a marvellous Tay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Glad you like us! Thank you for such a great review. I have put your comments onto our staff notice board which is a good boost for our morale. With all good wishes. Andrew and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night as a special treat after her arduous battle with illness, and what a treat, the room was very clean and elegant in its decor with a wonderful view of Lake Windermere from the terrace,the staff were extremely attentive with nothing being to much trouble.We chose the gourmet menu with accompanying wines, it was a stunning dining experience, every course was beautiful, the restaurant staff were a class act and Stefan the Sommelier brought the whole experience together beautifully.
A fabulous hotel that we would recommend to all, can't wait to go back.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you very much for such a great review. Stefan is over the moon about his 'internet debut'. I am glad you enjoyed everything and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first trip to H G. We decided last minute to have a two night break in the Lake District , we loved the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of the hotel. Great food lovely warm service, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JERYLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Glad you liked my hotel; tell your mates to bring their owners! And bring your guys back soon.

Woof, sniffs and licks,

Daisy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Let me start by saying I had intended to rate this as 4 out of 5 on the basis that nobody pays much attention to the 5 out of 5 reviews on TripAdvisor. But when everything was just perfect, I really can't justify playing silly games.

This has to be one of the best places to stay with a dog. Being set in it's own grounds, with several circular walks starting from the hotel and with dogs being allowed in some of the bedrooms (as well as the inglenook in the hotel entrance hall) then this makes for a very pleasant break.

As far as humans are concerned, excellent food (if a little rich over the course of 3 days) and well-trained yet friendly staff make dining here a memorable experience. The views from the Lodge rooms, ours with a lounge area with panoramic windows, are wonderful - even though for most of our stay it didn't extend much beyond Lake Windemere due to the weather. And staying here midweek out of season, and being early birds, meant we had the dining room all to ourselves at breakfast time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miketynlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Oh no! Mike, you have given the secret to a wonderful, quiet, enjoyable breakfast away! I am so glad you have enjoyed yourself and even more delighted that your best friend had a great time. Thank you for your great review and taking the time to post it.

With all good wishes


Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Feb, choosing HG based on a 'Winter Package'. However when I came to book, the price of the package had been mis-communicated quite significantly. I almost went for our 2nd option, Gilpin, however the Manager threw in 2 spa treatments so we stuck with Holbeck.
We booked the Eltemere suite at £430ppn DBB. The website does not do justice to the room which was fabulous. We stay away a lot and are used to top end rooms but this was a little treat. The bathroom and Sonos system were great and we enjoyed big baths listening to music with damson gin, fab! The separate lounge in the room had a log burner with lots of glossy mags so we got the fire going and sat and read for a few hours on our drizzly 2nd day.
There was some building work going on outside so our view wasn't great so this is something to bear in mind if you do want a room with a decent view at the moment. We had dinner both nights and enjoyed our food, great wine although with hindsight should have had B&B on 1 night as 2 nights for that sort of richness of food was too much for us. Spa was lovely, breakfast great and service was fantastic. See note below we also asked to move from the bay window at Dinner and this was sorted with no issues, but top tip ask for a table not in the bay as it is cold!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for such a good review. I am concerned about your confusion on booking and, if you have the time, I would be grateful if you could drop me a line clarifying the confusion to the Tripadvisor contact details so I can make sure it doesn't occur again.

On the good side, I am delighted that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have wanted to stay and dine here for some time. The wait was rewarded. It's reputation was justified. Superb location, staff very friendly and efficient, room very good. Dinner was excellent - the Michelin star is well deserved. Food well presented and interesting - superb cooking. Breakfast could have been improved with a better fruit salad and a fruit compote; and our dirty plates could have ben cleared. Otherwise this is one of the best hotels and dining in the Lakes.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WestLakesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Good point about the fruit salad; something that my team and I will improve. However, I am cross about the plates...they should have been cleared; a strong word has been had with my restaurant team! However, I was glad that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbeck Ghyll in the very near future. Thank you for also taking the time to post such a great review.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Polite, relaxed, friendly service and a very pleasant room followed by a superb meal with an excellent wine. What more can you want? Perhaps the option of a trickle of whiskey on one's porridge next morning?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

What a great review; perhaps the best I have ever read on us! Delighted that you like us and the quirks. Come back and see us again soon, in the meanwhile, keep a wee dram close early in the morning!

Best wishes from us all.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,422 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £149 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing