We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th celebration done in style ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

To celebrate my wife's "special" birthday we booked the gourmet meal with accompanying wines. The whole evening was done with great style , the food was simply superb, the wines perfect and the attention to detail outstanding . The price yes is expensive but you know that before you go so shouldn't be a shock ! The staff couldn't have been any better and if you want a real treat then book a meal at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Metalman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments; it is a real boost for my team and their morale. Lots of people do join us for their milestone events and it is always pleasing to hear that we performed well. Please don't leave it too long before you return!

With all good wishes


Andrew and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for Holbeck Ghyll Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

It was a birthday treat and we were not disappointed with the lovely relaxing country house atmosphere of the hotel. The food is superb and worthy of it's Michelin star. The service and staff were perfect, but why weren't we told about the work being carried out within the grounds of the hotel? We stayed in the Eltemere Suite - a Deluxe Fell View Suite. Instead of a Fell View we had Diggers and groundwork being prepared for a Bio-Mass installation and workmen able to see in our window. Very disappointed not to be told of this when booking as this suite looks right over the work being carried out. When checking out we told reception and an apology was given. but we did ask them to inform future guests. Would certainly return to this hotel if only for the food!

Room Tip: Avoid Eltemere suite at present, unless you are happy to look out over groundworks.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T17ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Although we have already been in correspondence, I can reiterate, for other Tripadvisor readers as well, how sorry we are that the view has been disturned and that you weren't told. We do make every effort to make sure people are aware of the works as well as trying to make sure the works are as attractive as possible. Clearly on this occasion we failed.

Once again, I am sorry that this affected your stay with us. Please do let me know when you intend to visit again and I will be delighted to assist in making your reservation. You have my eamil address as we have been in correspondence.

Yours sincerely

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had an overnight stay, in a beautiful room, with a superb view over the lake. The evening meal was outstanding (the dessert in particular was amazing). Breakfast the next morning was also excellent. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Any! We had a lake view which was fantastic.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went to holbeck ghyll to experience the restaurant. It did not disappoint. The building is very impressive, the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and the food very special. We were a little nervous about going for a leisurely lunch with our 3 month old daughter but the staff put us at ease, allowed us to chose a table so our daughter would be as comfortable as possible and were very attentive. The food was exceptional-amazingly presented and tasted great. The wine menu was also impressive. The view over lake Windermere is supposed to be stunning but unfortunately we picked a grey day...unfortunately we will have to return on our next visit to the lakes to ensure we take that view in-can't wait! Will definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Loricase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments. It is very uplifting to read when we have made someones stay enjoyable. I have pinned your comments to our notice board and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

With all good wishes


Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel and location.
Staff couldn't have been any more helpful and friendly.
Rooms are clean and spacious.
Dinner was fantastic, I've never seen food like it-art on a plate.
Used the spa and hot tub.
Cannot thank staff enough for a marvellous Tay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Glad you like us! Thank you for such a great review. I have put your comments onto our staff notice board which is a good boost for our morale. With all good wishes. Andrew and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night as a special treat after her arduous battle with illness, and what a treat, the room was very clean and elegant in its decor with a wonderful view of Lake Windermere from the terrace,the staff were extremely attentive with nothing being to much trouble.We chose the gourmet menu with accompanying wines, it was a stunning dining experience, every course was beautiful, the restaurant staff were a class act and Stefan the Sommelier brought the whole experience together beautifully.
A fabulous hotel that we would recommend to all, can't wait to go back.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you very much for such a great review. Stefan is over the moon about his 'internet debut'. I am glad you enjoyed everything and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first trip to H G. We decided last minute to have a two night break in the Lake District , we loved the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of the hotel. Great food lovely warm service, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JERYLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Glad you liked my hotel; tell your mates to bring their owners! And bring your guys back soon.

Woof, sniffs and licks,

Daisy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £143 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing