We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Overall a great experience but not entirely perfect, considering the price. Staff were welcoming and the hotel is in a stunning location. When we made the booking we would have preferred a table at 1pm but we were told that 12 for 12.30 was the only time available. After a pre lunch drink, relaxing in the beautiful lounge, we were shown to our table at nearly 12.55. The canapés were ok, unremarkable really just cream cheese, breadsticks and olives. We ordered a bottle of wine which didn't arrive until we had to prompt our waiter as to its whereabouts which was a little disappointing. Also, the waitress only offered us one small bread roll- another would have been gratefully received!
The meal was excellent, our waiter very friendly- nothing to fault. Coffee in the lounge by the fire followed by a walk in the grounds surrounded by the beautiful scenery- a great afternoon. Do pay Holbeck Ghyll a visit, you won't be disappointed but as I said earlier, it wasn't perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaffacakes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our first visit, was very enjoyable.
Beautiful oustanding location.
Staff very friendly and professional, excellent service.
Food excellent.
The only comment I found the dinning room and lounge furniture very uncomfortable and generally tired.
This type of experience should be flawless.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our first visit to Holbeck Ghyll and we were not disappointed.
As other reviewers have said, the Hotel location is stunning and the staff are friendly but professional.
The bedroom we had (5) was spotlessly clean, although it is starting to need a refurb, with the bathroom needing repairs to the bath surround base (water damage) and perhaps some shelving is needed for toiletries/shaving gear etc above the hand basin.
The restaurant was very good too with high quality cooking (as you would expect from a Michelin starred chef) and a sensible wine list. However, on both nights we were there the confirmed times for dining were not being observed. We had reservations at 8 for 8.30 but it was well past 8.30 before we seated. One couple were given free drinks because they had waited so long past their booked time. The restaurant was full, so perhaps the kitchen was under too much pressure?
We were also a little surprised that we were not offered assistance with our bags on arrival. We were in the main house,so needed to navigate the staircase to reach our room - although I'm able to carry heavy bags up the stairs, an offer of help would have been nice.
One final point is that the Hotel charges 1% or 2% more for using credit cards. Although this is shown on the website, I find it very surprising that a hotel of this standard, with the margins they must have, should do this.
Overall then, a very pleasant experience, but, trying to be constructive, there is a bit more to do before I would give an "excellent"score.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rm48il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We managed to get a last minute booking over the Mother's day weekend for a one night stay. The restaurant was excellent and we were fortunate to get an upgrade. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel has a wonderful position. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pduxb24138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our first stay at Holbeck Ghyll and what a wonderful experience it was.
We went with six of our great friends, two who had stayed previously, to take advantage of a super offer which with food, accomodation and drinks effectively meant three nights for the price of one.The hotel had no problem accommodating a party of our size, especially in the restaurant when we had the best possible table overlooking the lake through a gorgeous mullioned bay window. Our room had good attention to detail, a very comfortable bed and lovely toiletries in
a modern bathroom. What was special about our room (6) was it had a large shared
terrace which overlooked the lake. If God ever had a vision this was it ! No camera
could ever do justice to the truly magnificent view of Lake Windermere surrounded by the
vast amount of trees and the backdrop of the Langdale Pikes, Crinkle Craggs and The Old
Man of Coniston towering above it all. Truly outstanding ! We were so lucky with the weather
so sitting on the lower terrace for pre dinner drinks was a real bonus. The Michelin star food
was everything we expected. Artwork on a plate and it tasted as good as it looked. All the
staff throughout are highly professional and make you feel special. There was only one negative
if I'm being honest and that is the kitchen is quite small even though they have 6 chefs apparently. This meant there were overlong delays in the food being served. One evening we
were eating our desserts around 10.30pm. I would thoroughly recommend this excellent hotel
with it's very special location, but try to book dinner as early as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 are lovely especially with the shared terrance and the stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_BRayleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Wonderful location with stunning views. A real country house feel, the staff couldn't be more obliging and welcoming. All topped off with fabulous food and an excellent wine list. Our only regret was that we weren't staying longer, but we will try to find an excuse to return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank hoong l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I had to travel from Oxford to the Lakes for a family wedding . Having decided on the trip we travelled up a couple of days earlier so that we could enjoy the area and decided to treat ourselves by staying at Holbeck Ghyll . From the moment we arrived to us leaving 4 days later the re wasn't one minute when the hotel was nothing short of fabulous. The food was stunning , our room and the view beautiful, the spa and the therapists were wonderful but what made it so special for us was the staff and service . Nothing was too much trouble and all served with just the right portion of humour . From the minute we booked to the girls in the restaurant - Holbeck Ghyll have got it just right . Fabulous hotel , incredible setting, great team . Thankyou .

Room Tip: Room 23 had an incredible lake view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £158 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing