We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Wonderful hotel. Great and friendly staff - guided us to our parking space and always helpful. Lovely rooms overlooking Windemere. Marvellous food and bar. What not to like? Nothing.
Also dog-friendly. The puppy loved the place!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of Windemere - and avoid where the building work is taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your visit to the lakes and I hope you took back some great smell memories for later on. Did you find the rabbits? If not, whine and whine at your owners until they bring you back and I promise I will show you where they are. Give them a couple of licks for writing such a nice review!

Woofs, sniffs and licks,

Daisy the Golden Retriever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    206
    110
    45
    22
See reviews for
138
796
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at this charming hotel for a couple of nights in Eltermere suite. This had a fell view, but was a bit marred by overlooking a house with building work in progress, so not the best of views. Anyone with mobility problems may find it hard as it is quite a steep incline to the suite, although you can park your car outside.
Those were the only negative points about this hotel as everything else is first class. The suite is beautiful, very modern, comfortable with a lounge & lovely bathroom complete with three TV's including one above the bath. They have thought of special touches to enhance your stay such as the damson gin & hot water bottle placed in the bed when turned down at night.
Canapes with our pre dinner drinks were tasty & the food was beautiful & worthy of its Michelin star. Breakfast was also a delight with plenty of choice & gorgeous views towards Lake Windermere-what a start to the day!
The staff here are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble, they really go above the call of duty to look after you.
I would certainly recommend this hotel especially if you want to celebrate a special occasion as it really does deliver. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank for your honest review and giving us such a high score. I am sorry about the building works - as you probably know we are building a bio-mass boiler and laundry, which will be great when it is finished. In the meantime I am sorry about the view.

Do call us when you are returning and we can talk you through all the different room catergories so we can get the right room for you.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us and we all look forwward to welcoming you back very soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've been to Holbeck Ghyll quite a number of times over the last 10 years and have thoroughly enjoyed every visit. The staff are never anything less than excellent, probably some of the friendliest and most welcoming I know of.

The rooms are beautifully turned out, from the standard all the way up to the truly amazing Miss Potter suite. They are well thought out and beds are extremely comfortable. As you might expect from somewhere of this reputation the attention to detail is high and I have never spotted anything the least bit at fault with my rooms.

The real reason I keep going back though is for the food and service. The pre-dinner drinks in the wonderful sitting area, the food at dinner always superb, the staff again always attentive but never intrusive. Breakfasts are also really great, perfect for fuelling up before a good, long walk.

It of course all helped by the setting. The views across Windermere to the Langdales is gorgeous and it is ideally placed for getting onto some beautiful walks within 20 minutes drive. And what better way to work up an appetite than with a wander up the hills!

All in all my favourite place to stay in the Lakes - food, service and location all get top marks.

Room Tip: Don't worry about booking the standard rooms, they are all good! If you want really great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

A beautiful hotel in a great location, close to Windermere, Bowness, Grasmere and Ambleside! Very friendly staff who did everything they could to go out of their way to help, offering umbrellas for unloading the car, a shed to store our bikes and much much more!

As the night of our meal in the hotel turned out to be my engagement and 30th birthday meal it was perfect in every way! The food was out of this world...we had canapés and drinks to start followed an awesome three course meal.

Breakfast both days was just as beautiful with plenty of choice!

I would defiantly recommend a stay...the views from the hotel are worth every penny!

Room Tip: We had a fell view room with a shared balcony...it was perfect even in the rain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed the night in a fell view junior suite. The hotel setting up on the hill side above the road to Ambleside gives glorious views towards the lake and also up the hillside where sheep and lambs graze. Our room (21) had twin beds, a very large modern bathroom/walk in shower, a sitting area with lovely fell views and both areas had flat screen TV's. An unexpected extra on returning from dinner was to find hot water bottles in our beds! Our dinner was delicious classical food with the deserts being like tasty pretty pictures and served by charming and efficient staff. Nothing was too much trouble and my wife's dietary restrictions were taken account of very kindly and effectively. Breakfast too was delightful with fresh fruit and local produce. I would agree with some other comments that some aspects of the hotel are showing their age, but for us they were not so tired that they detracted from the hotel's comfort and warm ambience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerp38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Overall a great experience but not entirely perfect, considering the price. Staff were welcoming and the hotel is in a stunning location. When we made the booking we would have preferred a table at 1pm but we were told that 12 for 12.30 was the only time available. After a pre lunch drink, relaxing in the beautiful lounge, we were shown to our table at nearly 12.55. The canapés were ok, unremarkable really just cream cheese, breadsticks and olives. We ordered a bottle of wine which didn't arrive until we had to prompt our waiter as to its whereabouts which was a little disappointing. Also, the waitress only offered us one small bread roll- another would have been gratefully received!
The meal was excellent, our waiter very friendly- nothing to fault. Coffee in the lounge by the fire followed by a walk in the grounds surrounded by the beautiful scenery- a great afternoon. Do pay Holbeck Ghyll a visit, you won't be disappointed but as I said earlier, it wasn't perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaffacakes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our first visit, was very enjoyable.
Beautiful oustanding location.
Staff very friendly and professional, excellent service.
Food excellent.
The only comment I found the dinning room and lounge furniture very uncomfortable and generally tired.
This type of experience should be flawless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing