We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely treat”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were given a gift voucher for Holbeck Ghyll as a present and so discovered a gem of a hotel overlooking Windermere. It is a very attractive building in a Rennie Mackintosh style with amazing views. The room was great, with an outside patio area. The staff and service are excellent and the food rightly deserves the Michelin star.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review and five dots. Our kitchen team are pleased that you really enjoyed yourselves and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbeck Ghyll in the near future.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    218
    122
    52
    28
See reviews for
146
834
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We found Holbeck Ghyll by accident whilst looking for a venue for our private wedding for two.
From the moment our booking was made we received exemplary service from everyone at Holbeck. Greg, our wedding planner suggested the most perfect accommodation for us, Ghyllside Cottage. This gave us so much space to get ready and felt like home rather than a hotel room. The hot tub was well used during our stay.
We experienced both the standard dinner menu and the gourmet menu with wines. All of the food we had was perfectly cooked, thanks David and team and Stefan, the sommelier provided an excellent choice of wine.
Greg was fantastic on the day of our wedding, making sure everything ran perfectly and acted as one of our witnesses.
Anna in the spa provided make up, pedicure and a perfect French manicure, she also came to help put on my bridal gown.
We experienced most of the services on offer at Holbeck Ghyll during our stay and all far exceeded all expectations. We have booked a stay for our wedding anniversary next year and are visiting for afternoon tea shortly, if we could move in we would!!!
Andrew is rightly very proud of his team, they all do a fantastic job.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for mentioning so many of the staff. They are all delighted to be mentioned on tripadvisor - especially Stefan! Yes, I am terribly proud of my team but it also a massive boost to our morale when we read great reviews. We are all delighted that you had a memorable wedding and we can't wait to be welcoming you back on your anniversary!

With all good wishes


Andrew and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

13 - 15 June 2014 I organised my Mum's 70th birthday celebrations in a weekend at the Holbeck Ghyll for 9 family members. The Hotel handled the need to move rooms around to accommodate physical needs of one family member with utter diplomacy and resulted in others in my group getting an upgrade to the excellent newly refurbished Elterwater Suite with tv in bath! Chef David, and Andrew, the Manager, re-arranged the menu to accommodate certain food tastes in my group at the very last minute which was greatly appreciated by all concerned. All family members thoroughly enjoyed their stay especially my Mum who also enjoyed the excellent SPA treatments in the afternoon before dinner. A wonderful location to enjoy a special occasion. Thank you Andrew and all your staff once again and see you all soon

Room Tip: If you want an excellent contemporary suite, with good size separate lounge, try the Elterwater or B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMcG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for a great review and we all enjoyed looking after you and your family. Next time though...bring the girls, we missed them!! We are all looking forward to your next visit with us.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff, service and food are all fantastic and without fault. Plus the view from the terrace and hot tub money can't buy. However I honestly couldn't recommend friends to stay. The rooms don't quite reach the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed the great majority of your stay to us. You should checkout our refurbished rooms on our website or ask the reception team to talk you through which rooms are more modern in design. We are always refurbishing and updating rooms so please give our reception team a call and we can make sure that you get into a room that you like.

With all good wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The voucher that I got as a birthday present made us go to Holbeck Ghyll together with friends from the village. On arrival we had G&T's and cocktails for the ladies and some very nice canapees. The 7 course surprise menu with matching wines were one of the best we ever had.
Service was excellent and the explanation with every course and the description of the wines was very well received, We enjoyed some fantastic flavours and surprising combinations of food and wine. Thanks to all the staff for a fantastic evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_munchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are all delighted that you and your friends enjoyed themselves. The Gourmet Menu is a popular menu and Stefan, our sommelier, is pleased that you enjoyed his choice of wines. Thank you for taking the time to post such a good review and we all hope to see you back at Holbeck when time allows.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in the Miss Potter Suite, which had a hot tub on the balcony overlooking the lake and mountains- so good we stayed in there for hours, drinking the complementary champagne and damson gin (nice touch). The hot tub wasn't perhaps as private as the website photos suggest, but immensely enjoyable all the same, even in the rain! The evening meal was one of the best we've had, from the canapes to the petit fours, each course was worthy of the impressive reputation. The staff were all professional, friendly and attentive, without being overbearing. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, and was brought to our suite without fuss. Thanks for a lovely stay, we look forward exploring the main house next time.

Room Tip: Choose the Potter Suite if you want a private hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I am delighted to hear that you tried out the Hot Tub in the rain! It is when it is at its best. I have taken on board your comments regarding the privacy of the hot tub and that is something we will consider in future refurbishments. We are very glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts; this is something that we do try and put extra effort into.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Booked based on prior reputation. Booked room online and tried to ring earlier in the week to book a table. I was told that someone would ring me back to sort the table however I received no return phone call that evening so I emailed the next morning. I did receive a reply that we couldn't have our requested time of 7.30pm but either 8.30 for 9pm or 6.30 for 7 pm. Slightly disappointed but we opted for the earlier time.
When we arrived we were underwhelmed with the surroundings as there was building work going on near the hotel although partially disguised with some fencing. The reception hall is extremely dark and we were looking forward to sitting in the lounge with lovely views of Windermere . The lady on reception then informed us that we were unable to go in the lounge as there was a small wedding on. Very poor! They didn't inform us when we booked that a wedding was on so certain rooms would be out of bounds. My husband was rather cross. The hall had some comfy seating but we didn't want to sit in a dark room with hardly any window and no view on a bright sunny day!!We drove to another hotel which we nearly booked instead to use their lounge and have a drink. We wished we had booked this hotel in retrospect.
The room we had was one of the cheaper fell rooms which are always Moore expensive on a fri/sat.It was adequate overall and had reasonable views but it was dated with a small basic bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well however there was certainly no luxury about the room. Carpets frayed and upholstered chairs a bit grubby! In fairness the manager of the hotel emailed me later to offer us a free upgrade if we were to go back again. The restaurant manager with whom we were chatting must have passed on our comments.
The food was mixed. Our starters and desserts were excellent but the main courses were poor and bland. I asked for my beef to be medium well. It came extremely well done in a tasteless mushroom sauce. I had expected the food to blow us away,being a michelin starred restaurant. On top of that the seating in the dining room is uncomfortable. The wine waiter also appeared to be very self important and this became irritating. We also did not receive the wine we ordered which we noticed but didn't say anything as it was similar. It was actually cheaper! Interesting though that he didn't draw our attention to it. Breakfast was ok . Nothing wrong with the food but an uncomfortable atmosphere. No background music so people were whispering.
On a positive, the staff on the whole were very friendly and the manager did take time to email me about a future upgrade . I hadn't made any formal complaints etc. Would I stay here again?? Sadly I think the answer is no! For the prices charged I thought it disgraceful that the lounge was out of bounds to residents. The rest I found to be hit and miss. I didn't find the whole experience value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as you should have. As we have already emailed, you are very welcome to return and we will show you some of our updated rooms. One of the lounges was indeed taken up with a small wedding for two and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.

Yours sincerely

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,365 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing