We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, perhaps a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Holbeck Ghyll during a tour of the Lakes and undoubtably this hotel has one of the best views possible. We also had dinner (separate TripAdvisor review) and whilst that was stunningly good, we were just a little underwhelmed by the accommodation. We had a suite with terrace and whilst the room was comfortable and quiet, it was suffering a little from needing an update. It was the little things...a little worn here and there, particularly the bathroom, and whilst immaculately clean we just felt an update was probably due. The biggest issue for us was that our room and terrace at the far right hand end of the hotel, overlooked what is currently a building site! Whilst we appreciate that the hotel had taken some measures to minimise the impact of this with screening, etc, it did stop us wanting to use the terrace and the "fell view" promised was massively detracted from....a great shame!

Room Tip: Avoid the right hand end rooms (as you look from the front) until the building work is completed. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I take on board your comments about your room. We are in the process of updating and refurbishing all the rooms and please, when you visit us again, do call us and we can help you choose one of our updated rooms. Again, I am sorry that you felt that you couldn't use your terrace; we are hurrying through this building work as quickly as we can and I must apologies again.

Yours sincerely

Andrew McPherson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Live local and had a great afternoon tea treat for our wedding anniversary at Holbeck Ghyll , stunning scenery , superb afternoon tea , fantastic friendly staff , clean , very well maintained.
Sandwiches and cakes were simply stunning and plentiful , no wonder they have kept their star for so long , if you are ever visiting the lakes this country house cannot be missed.
Best views of the Langdales and Coniston old man from Troutbeck via a restaurant/hotel will visit again this winter time to see change in scenery , so relaxing.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are all so delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and thank you for your great recommendation. Also, thank you for taking the time to review us.

With all good wishes


Andrew and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were given a gift voucher for Holbeck Ghyll as a present and so discovered a gem of a hotel overlooking Windermere. It is a very attractive building in a Rennie Mackintosh style with amazing views. The room was great, with an outside patio area. The staff and service are excellent and the food rightly deserves the Michelin star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMC460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent review and five dots. Our kitchen team are pleased that you really enjoyed yourselves and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbeck Ghyll in the near future.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We found Holbeck Ghyll by accident whilst looking for a venue for our private wedding for two.
From the moment our booking was made we received exemplary service from everyone at Holbeck. Greg, our wedding planner suggested the most perfect accommodation for us, Ghyllside Cottage. This gave us so much space to get ready and felt like home rather than a hotel room. The hot tub was well used during our stay.
We experienced both the standard dinner menu and the gourmet menu with wines. All of the food we had was perfectly cooked, thanks David and team and Stefan, the sommelier provided an excellent choice of wine.
Greg was fantastic on the day of our wedding, making sure everything ran perfectly and acted as one of our witnesses.
Anna in the spa provided make up, pedicure and a perfect French manicure, she also came to help put on my bridal gown.
We experienced most of the services on offer at Holbeck Ghyll during our stay and all far exceeded all expectations. We have booked a stay for our wedding anniversary next year and are visiting for afternoon tea shortly, if we could move in we would!!!
Andrew is rightly very proud of his team, they all do a fantastic job.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for mentioning so many of the staff. They are all delighted to be mentioned on tripadvisor - especially Stefan! Yes, I am terribly proud of my team but it also a massive boost to our morale when we read great reviews. We are all delighted that you had a memorable wedding and we can't wait to be welcoming you back on your anniversary!

With all good wishes


Andrew and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

13 - 15 June 2014 I organised my Mum's 70th birthday celebrations in a weekend at the Holbeck Ghyll for 9 family members. The Hotel handled the need to move rooms around to accommodate physical needs of one family member with utter diplomacy and resulted in others in my group getting an upgrade to the excellent newly refurbished Elterwater Suite with tv in bath! Chef David, and Andrew, the Manager, re-arranged the menu to accommodate certain food tastes in my group at the very last minute which was greatly appreciated by all concerned. All family members thoroughly enjoyed their stay especially my Mum who also enjoyed the excellent SPA treatments in the afternoon before dinner. A wonderful location to enjoy a special occasion. Thank you Andrew and all your staff once again and see you all soon

Room Tip: If you want an excellent contemporary suite, with good size separate lounge, try the Elterwater or B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMcG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for a great review and we all enjoyed looking after you and your family. Next time though...bring the girls, we missed them!! We are all looking forward to your next visit with us.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff, service and food are all fantastic and without fault. Plus the view from the terrace and hot tub money can't buy. However I honestly couldn't recommend friends to stay. The rooms don't quite reach the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed the great majority of your stay to us. You should checkout our refurbished rooms on our website or ask the reception team to talk you through which rooms are more modern in design. We are always refurbishing and updating rooms so please give our reception team a call and we can make sure that you get into a room that you like.

With all good wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The voucher that I got as a birthday present made us go to Holbeck Ghyll together with friends from the village. On arrival we had G&T's and cocktails for the ladies and some very nice canapees. The 7 course surprise menu with matching wines were one of the best we ever had.
Service was excellent and the explanation with every course and the description of the wines was very well received, We enjoyed some fantastic flavours and surprising combinations of food and wine. Thanks to all the staff for a fantastic evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch_munchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We are all delighted that you and your friends enjoyed themselves. The Gourmet Menu is a popular menu and Stefan, our sommelier, is pleased that you enjoyed his choice of wines. Thank you for taking the time to post such a good review and we all hope to see you back at Holbeck when time allows.

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £158 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing