We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for good food lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“A treat for good food lovers”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We Had the pleasure of eating at the Hotel on the 19th August 2010.The gourmet menu was excellent not to mention the service and staff who made our evening very enjoyable. I would have no hesitation in going back and indeed are already planing my return trip.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Dear George,

Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at Holbeck Ghyl on Trip Advisor.

We were all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much and hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    214
    116
    47
    24
See reviews for
143
817
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Our stay was extremely pleasant. The hotel setting is superb with wonderful views over Lake Windermere. Our room was lovely with patio doors onto a patio and balcony overlooking the lake.The staff were very helpful, and made us very welcome. The food was first class , extremely well cooked and very well presented . The service in the hotel was second to none nothing being too much trouble for the staff. All in all a beautiful hotel which we would be more than happy to recommend.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank saville51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
Dear saville51,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

The staff are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that they made you feel so welcome. We are also delighted to read that you will recommend us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel is in a great location and the views of the lake from both our room and the terrace where amazing.

The food in the restaurant was excellent as you would expect from a Michelin stared chef, the lamb was some of the best I have ever eaten and the cheese trolley was 10/10!

My only comments would be that the rooms could do with updating, they are very dated and again the two beds zipped together, as a previous review has mentioned, wasn’t great.

Bearing in mind the cost, I would recommend the place to friends as a restaurant but not as a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
Dear jimmyagar,

Thank you for reviewing Holbeck Ghyll on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the view and meal at Holbeck Ghyll. I must agree that the cheese trolley is fantastic!

Thank you for your comments regarding updating the rooms. This is something that we are considering.

We hope to welcome you to Holbeck Ghyll again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We were traveling with our daughter, son-in-law and two grandsons, ages 8 and 6. The two lodge rooms were connecting, with the young family in a room with an internal circular stairway to a sleeping loft above, with the boys loved. Their room (named Mrs. Tiggy Winkle) was a bit larger than ours (the Squirrel Nutkin room). Both rooms had great views across a hillside with grazing sheep and the lake beyond.

A full English breakfast in the attractive dining room was included.

The staff were pleasant and helpful, although we had rather limited contact with them. A request to replace the duvee with a blanket was promptly handled.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadready75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
Dear roadready75,

Thank you for reviewing Holbeck Ghyll on Trip Advisor.

The staff are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Lodge, and delighted that you found them pleasant and helpful.

We hope to welcome you to Holbeck Ghyll again soon.

Yours sincerely

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We have enjoyed many visits here and this has been another memorable one. From the moment we arrived, the friendly welcome once again set the mood for the delights that followed. From the excellent food served in the Michelin star restaurant to the relaxing treatments enjoyed in the spar. The staff including room housekeeping staff seemingly anticipated our every need. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foggy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Dear foggy028,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holbeck Ghyll.

All the staff are thrilled to read your compliments and are delighted that you had another memorable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We read the review in The Times and booked ourselves into The Lodge for an evening.

The lodge rooms overlook Lake Windermere and the mountains behind which was a sheer joy when opening the curtains in the morning.

The restaurant offers a Michelin star restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
Dear TheBigs,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Lodge and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We had a wonderful wedding in February at Holbeck with just our immediate family (15 of us). From the moment we chose the hotel to the day we left after the wedding they couldn't have been more helpful - a special thanks to James for going the extra mile, we hope to see you there when we visit next. They were flexible with the menu choices, rooms for the wedding and even let us have the library all to ourselves after the ceremony. It was my husbands birthday the next morning and they baked him a birthday cake - just perfect! We love the hotel, the food, the wine and the people and plan to go back very soon!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteLogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for taking the time to review Holbeck Ghyll.

James and all the staff are delighted that we helped make your wedding day, and your husband's birthday, so special.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,033 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing