We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I always believe in praising good service, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the exceptional service I received at this lovely country house hotel. My recent stay was rounded off with an outstanding, gourmet meal on the Friday evening which was the enjoyed by myself and my two guests.

As a single traveler, I particularly appreciated the friendly, attentive staff who looked after me and made me feel so welcome.

It is rare to find a hotel which combines comfortable surroundings, exceptional service and outstanding food, and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel especially to those seeking a little luxury and pampering in beatiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

Dear Malhall,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Holbeck Ghyll. I agree the gourmet menu is outstanding and all the staff are delighted to read about how much you enjoyed it!

We are pleased to read that you would recommend us and hope you can return soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

After Arriving for the first time on a bright winters afternoon we were breathtaken by the view of the lake and surrounding snow capped mountains just stunning . !!! One if not the best views in the lake district
From here on in the hotel had a lot to live up to and did not fail to exceed our expectations the staff were friendly and welcoming and we felt relaxed from the moment we walked through door.
The rooms were traditional and in keeping with the building and there were lovely touches such as complementary damson gin in the room!

The best part of all was the restaurant, we had the set eight course menu and wines to complement (highly recommend this) if you stay DO NOT miss dinning here!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

Dear PaHenderson,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We were thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed your stay at Holbeck Ghyll from the moment you arrived.

Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We had a warm welcome from the charming staff and a delectable light lunch at the fireside. After occupying our lovely room (the Miss Potter suite) which has its own balcony with views over Lake Windermere and outside hot tub, we were given directions for a two hour walk up a nearby hill. Then the highlight of our stay - dinner! My scallops were complete perfection and the Cumbrian lamb was really special. Once my husband could be dragged away from the interesting and adventurous wine list, he had a crab starter followed by venison. All washed down by an excellent claret.
All credit to the staff who were attentive without being pushy. And thanks for the toothpaste!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zilkeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2010

Dear zilkeem,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the Miss Potter Suite and the views to the food and wine.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We chose the Holbeck because of its location / views & the fact that most on-line reviews were positive. Unfortunately , given its ratings & michelin star, it did not meet our expectations . With hindsight we should have paid more attention to the less positive reviews. The position of the hotel is certainly stunning & it was good to see many original Arts & Crafts features retained. It's a pity the room / food & aspects of service let it down. The description of our room (Room 6) as 'classic' could be seen as a euphemism for old fashioned or dated. Clashing patterns, heavy swagged curtains & a false bed-canopy reminded us of 1990s decor. It certainly needs updating. Unsurprisingly the photo of a 'classic' room on their website shows a much more tastefully decorated room. The bed was comfortable & the room warm (too warm for a mild November day). Dinner was included in our tariff but the whole dining experience did not match the level of similarly rated restaurants we've eaten in. Some of the dining room fittings needed replacing (old fashioned wall lights & very uncomfortable dining chairs) . We were also mystified by the fact that only tables in one section of the restaurant had table cloths (not our section). Our starters arrived several minutes apart . Surely staff could be trained to carry 2 plates or use a tray to ensure diners can start a meal together. We both had turbot for main course & portions were small. However the major issue with our stay was noise , surprising in view of the peace & quiet highlighted in their publicity . Unfortunately guests in the suite across the terrace from our room enjoyed a late night, increasingly noisy session in their hot tub giving little consideration to other guests . Unable to sleep we finally contacted reception at 12.45am & were promised the matter would be dealt with. We're not sure what transpired because it was another 3/4 hour before the couple went inside (thankfully). No-one on the staff followed it up the next morning as you might expect. When I raised this & other issues on checking out there appeared to be no record that we had complained. The receptionist said she would refer our concerns to the general manager who would probably contact us personally. 5 days later we have still heard nothing. As a final floursh , the bill was wrong - we'd been charged for a couple of drinks we hadn't ordered. We booked their midweek special offer which promised ' an upgrade to the best accommodation on arrival'. Despite arriving half an hour after check in opened nothing was mentioned about this - either to confirm an upgrade or to apologise if none was available. According to members of staff the hotel was busy but not full. So we were left wondering about this offer & the upgrade question, especially as we've used similar offers before (eg. Devonshire Arms) & been really pleased with with the experience. So , if you're thinking of staying at the Holbeck - avoid room 6 (or any near the hot tub ), take a cushion to sit on, pack earplugs , check the bill carefully before you leave and if you've booked a midweek special offer, follow this up when you get there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kath1bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are underway with a programme of refurbishment in the main house to bring these rooms up to the standard of the rooms in our Lodge and cottages. New wall fittings have been commissioned at considerable expense and will be installed soon. I have noted that you found the chairs uncomfortable – we chose these to be in keeping with the original arts and crafts design of the house, which you refer to positively in your comments. I understand that my staff did ask on a number of occasions for the couple in the hot tub to respect the wishes of others; sadly they chose not to. I have spoken at length with my managers regarding many of your comments, they join me in sending our apologies.

With kind regards,

Andrew McPherson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Andrew and I have just returned home from a one night's stay at Holbeck Ghyll. Firstly, the hotel is in an incredible location, high and with imposing views over Windermere giving the whole place a special atmosphere. We were greeted at reception and shown around the hotel and up to our room. Our room was beautiful with bags of charm, and a huge bathroom.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and were bowled over by the service and the food. The food was very special indeed, amazing flavours and it was clear that the food was loved by every member of staff. My vegetarian needs were catered for very well. Immaculate attention to detail from the staff, without feeling you were being watched was greatly appreciated. Coffee and petit fours in the lounge next to a roaring fire topped off the evening perfectly.

At breakfast the next morning we had everything we could ever want and more, with the same exemplary service as the previous night. We had to tear ourselves away when we left!

We hope to return to the hotel very very soon, and would recommend it to anyone.

Sammy and Andrew

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammyandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2010

Dear Sammy and Andrew,

We were delighted to read about how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to review Holbeck Ghyll on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back very very soon!

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Stayed in the Jeremy Fisher lodge, which is one of six lodge-type rooms a very short walk from the main hotel entrance. Any thoughts that this would detract from our stay were soon dispelled as the room was of a very high standard and had a wonderful view of the lake. Throughout our stay, the staff were very attentive, polite and knowledgable about any questions we raised. The food was high-class fine dining that contained a range of imaginative dishes that couldn't be faulted at any time. There is a small spa facility where we enjoyed some excellent treatments. This was a very relaxed break and were made to feel very welcome throughout. We'll be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1961Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2010

Dear Mike1961Leeds,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holbeck Ghyll on Trip Advisor.

The staff were pleased to read that you found their service attentive, polite and knowledgable and the food high-class and imaginative.

We look forward to welcoming you to Holbeck Ghyll again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We ate here while staying in the lake district on our honeymoon, it was fantastic, cannot speak highly enough of the staff, the food, just our whole experience. We went for the taster menu and were immediately told by fellow diners in the lounge that we had made an excellent choice. We can't wait to go back and possibly try staying there.
Thank you very mych Holbeck for possibly the best meal of our honeymoon :)

I've given 5 out of 5 for everything even though we didn't stay the night but i'm sure if we had the 5 would be deserved.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmardot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2010

Dear emmardot,

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

All the staff are thrilled that you enjoyed your evening and hope you can come back and stay soon.

Kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
2.2 mi away
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £149 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing