We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I've seen this hotel over the years when walking in the area, so finally got round to booking a long weekend. In my opinion the Holbeck Ghyll gets it just right, the location, ambience, quality of service, quality of food, attention to detail made it a truly memorable experience! (that and the blizzards that weekend) Heartily recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a special stay or just a truly chilled out weekend

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZincD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2010

Dear ZincD,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

How wonderful that you finally got around to visiting us after years of walking in the area. We’re delighted that we lived up to your expectations and that you would recommend us to others.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
There are newer reviews for Holbeck Ghyll Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2010

What can I say about this hotel? The staff were so friendly and made you feel welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The rooms overlooking Lake Windermere were very well presented with excellent self catering facility if you wanted to make your own lunch. The location is perfect for the lakes and the mountains and we spent a lovely morning walking up a mountain to the snow!

The restaurant was superb and this was my teenage children's first taste of ‘Michelin Star’ food - a great introduction for them and when a 15 year old says 'gorgeous' (totally unprompted) about his food - you know it's good!

The little touches were what made me rate this hotel so highly, the chess board and puzzles dotted around the cozy lounge to keep everyone entertained, the wellingtons for loan if you needed them, and the children’s beds turned down in the evening with colour coordinated hot-water bottles warming their beds, meant that the whole family felt a little special.

Our short family break was very restful for all of us with a resounding – ‘Yes, we are glad we came with you’ from the teenagers.

And…Imagine my surprise to see this hotel featured on an episode of ‘The Trip’ featuring Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon – it was fun showing our family ‘that’s where we sat for breakfast’!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WalkersUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Dear WalkersUnited,

We’re so pleased to hear that we made your family getaway special, and that we even managed to impress your teenagers! We were delighted to read that you liked the hot water bottles as they are a new introduction; we’re thrilled to see that they are success.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and please come and visit us again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

My husband planned a surprise trip to Holbeck Ghyll for our anniversary. The criteria were great food, a good location and a steam room. Holbeck Ghyll delivered on all this and much much more. A grand and decadent hotel with attentive staff who made us feel instantly at home. Although the room was slightly on the small side and we didn't get the lake view we had hoped for, it was comfortable and clean and ideal for the amount of time we spent in it. At the end of a cold day touring the lakes, we even had the steam room and sauna to ourselves both days. At dinner, the waiter headed over with canapes and placed the vegetarian ones in front of me which was just one example of the impeccable service (my husband had only mentioned that I was a vegetarian in passing when he booked). The staff were attentive and caring at all times, offering excellent advice on days out, the weather and whatever else we wanted. And last but not least, the food was truly outstanding and very worthy of the Michellin star it has earned.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraManston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Dear Laura,

We were all delighted to read how much you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. We’re so pleased that we exceeded your expectations, and it was with pleasure that we advised on all aspects of your trip.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Holbeck Ghyll, and we hope you can return soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Holbeck Ghyll is that rare creature - a country house hotel that actually delivers on it's promise of comfort and relaxation. We stayed recently for two nights, on a half-board basis.
Firstly, the hotel is in a beautiful location, with views over Windermere and to the Langdale Pikes. The staffing levels are very high, and service at all times was very warm, welcoming and professional. Also warm and welcoming were the very comfortable lounges, with roaring log fires. The restaurant has a Michelin star, so no surprise that dinner was excellent on both nights.
The double bedroom was not large, but very clean and comfortable. The room is perhaps close to the point of needing redecoration, if only to match the standards elsewhere in the hotel.
It's a very individual operation, which is both personal and old-fashioned (and I mean that in a thoroughly positive sense). We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there - and we wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la-Z-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

Dear la-Z-boy,

We are delighted to read that you found comfort and relaxation at Holbeck Ghyll and enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. Thank you for your comments regarding redecoration. I am pleased to say that we are underway with a programme of refurbishment in the main house.

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and we hope to welcome you to Holbeck Ghyll again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I always believe in praising good service, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the exceptional service I received at this lovely country house hotel. My recent stay was rounded off with an outstanding, gourmet meal on the Friday evening which was the enjoyed by myself and my two guests.

As a single traveler, I particularly appreciated the friendly, attentive staff who looked after me and made me feel so welcome.

It is rare to find a hotel which combines comfortable surroundings, exceptional service and outstanding food, and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel especially to those seeking a little luxury and pampering in beatiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

Dear Malhall,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Holbeck Ghyll. I agree the gourmet menu is outstanding and all the staff are delighted to read about how much you enjoyed it!

We are pleased to read that you would recommend us and hope you can return soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

After Arriving for the first time on a bright winters afternoon we were breathtaken by the view of the lake and surrounding snow capped mountains just stunning . !!! One if not the best views in the lake district
From here on in the hotel had a lot to live up to and did not fail to exceed our expectations the staff were friendly and welcoming and we felt relaxed from the moment we walked through door.
The rooms were traditional and in keeping with the building and there were lovely touches such as complementary damson gin in the room!

The best part of all was the restaurant, we had the set eight course menu and wines to complement (highly recommend this) if you stay DO NOT miss dinning here!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

Dear PaHenderson,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We were thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed your stay at Holbeck Ghyll from the moment you arrived.

Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We had a warm welcome from the charming staff and a delectable light lunch at the fireside. After occupying our lovely room (the Miss Potter suite) which has its own balcony with views over Lake Windermere and outside hot tub, we were given directions for a two hour walk up a nearby hill. Then the highlight of our stay - dinner! My scallops were complete perfection and the Cumbrian lamb was really special. Once my husband could be dragged away from the interesting and adventurous wine list, he had a crab starter followed by venison. All washed down by an excellent claret.
All credit to the staff who were attentive without being pushy. And thanks for the toothpaste!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zilkeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2010

Dear zilkeem,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the Miss Potter Suite and the views to the food and wine.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £144 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing