We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Windermere Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
268
328
136
75
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
328
136
75
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsshearings holidaypremier roomcoast countrymeal timeslake districtevening meallounge barreception staffweekend breakthe general managersingle roomorrest headthe ground floorpublic roomsthree courses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
803 - 808 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2011

lovely hotel food good room very clean staff pleasant and helpful, went with shearings on an all incluseive self drive only down side have bar free betweenj 7.30 10.30 rather a long queue and only had one lager fosters so husband to pay for bottles cost 11.80 for two bottles and one glass of rosy wine and soda, would go a gain but not all inclusive

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sussiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

firstly the hotels very good clean,staff friendly and helpful,food very good,BUT shearings advertise this as ALL inclusive i.e bed breakfast and evening meal with drinks included from 19.30 until 22.30 sounds good but when you get there the sign on the bar states that ALL inclusive only includes your first £15 worth off drinks which at hotel prices isn't a lot what shearings should advertise it as is, inclusive of £15 worth of drinks and not ALL INCLUSIVE

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shagEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Stayed for two nights in early February 2011, communal areas reception etc. ok but the room I was allocated was tatty. The carpets and curtains need to be replaced or at the very least cleaned. The bed was uncomfortable. A draft blew through the window which was an old sash type and the bathroom although clean was very small and basic. There was no heating on in the room in the morning and the window was covered in condensation when I awoke. There is a lift in the building but it is very small and claustrophobic. If you have any problems walking note that the hotel is situated at the top of a steep hill on the outskirts of the town. I only stayed on a B and B basis and the full breakfast is far from being a full monty and was on the cold side. I don't think I will stay at this hotel in the future I'm sure there are better to be found.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N0thingbutthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

we booked for a min 3 night dinner b and b break at this hotel 29th January 2011, with Shearings for £99 all in, we took our car rather than the coach as we like walking and our friends do not. Pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, very modern decor in the bar and restaurant and main reception area, rooms were classed as "standard", you could upgrade to superiior or premier rooms for an extra cost but we stuck with standard, they were quite small but had everything we needed and were clean, the only downside they were very cold, no double glazed windows and the windows are very large. The food was excellent with a choice each night of 3/4 mains, with a supplement for a couple of extra mains if you wished. now to the small print !. the Saturday was advertised as part of the deal as a "free bar" between 7.30 and 10.30, - no such thing as anything for free. In the small print in the Shearings new brochure for 2011 it states a maximum of £15.00 per person then you have to start paying for your drinks, now most people would find £15.00 ok I suspect but when the drinks were £9.00 a round for two it soons runs out!. All in all though a good trip and very good value for money - if you are not an alcoholic.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Another excellent break on a all inclusive Shearings holiday. Of all the Shearings hotels we found this the best, good sized comfortable room, good food, good service.
If there is one small fault with Shearings, mostly the tvs are old & don't have teletext.
I must mention Bruce McClaren?? who entertained us one night, he was superb & brought the house down.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews