We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers re-visited, worst Hotel we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The Hotel looks reasonable from the outside, but looks certainily can be deceiving. The room we stayed in was "tired", small and not clean. We paid extra for a view, which, on a clear day, you could see Lake Windermere if you had good eyesight. The bathroom was a joke, VERY small, a hole in the side panel of the bath, and the shower just had enough strength to trickle out. The T.V. in the room was probably the smallest you could have, and the window was was covered in mould. Meal times had to be booked on the evening of arrival, and we felt that we were being hurried to finish our evening meal, as there were not enough tables to accommadate all the guests in the Hotel,unless people vacated their tables swiftly. Also eggs were served uncooked twice. We were VERY dissapointed with the whole ghastly experience,particularly after staying in Hotels abroad where you felt as if you were really welcome. This is the 1st. U.K. holiday we have had for manny years, and it will be the last. The T.V. room is advertised for guests to use, but the T.V. was not working. The lounge was not comfortable and not large enough for all the guests.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room we were alocated and I cannot believe that this is a three star Hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DEN2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear Reviewer

We try to ensure it is made clear in all our brochures, websites and newspaper adverts that the Hotel is located on the hill overlooking the village of Windermere with views over towards both the village of Bowness and famous Windermere lake including the surrounding Langdale hills, a scenic supplement charge is made on these rooms many of our previous reviews have commented on how the hotel is ideally located . I apologise if you expected more.

Meal times can be booked on check in and booked for the rest of the stay if required, with both dinner and breakfast being two hours there are busy and quieter seating times, and I’m sorry if you felt hurried.

I will be investigating the issues reported regarding the room you stayed in and rectifying them if found to be below our high standard.

The Piano Bar lounge is just one of three lounges that we have for you to relax in along with our Boardroom and TV lounge with large flat screen televisions.



I must thank for your review and I am sorry we did meet your expectations.

Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for The Windermere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

stayed for 3 nights in premier room paid extra for scenic view and celebration pack, room decor nice but quite cramp, bathroom again nice decor but bath was too small could not stretch legs out and i am only 5'8 shower cubicle smallest i have ever been in. Was on half board food was ok but not enough choice too many supplements , breakfast was ok but again basic, my biggest problem with this hotel is staff. On the saturday morning we were woken up at 7.35am by large coach revving engine, when i went to reception to complain the duty manager attitude was surly to say the least she offered no apology she ranted on that they catered for coach parties and thats the time the coach was leaving at so tough at this point i also pointed out that the bath was too small and that i had paid extra for a scenic view of the lake but all you could see where trees. She stated there was nothing she could do and if i was not happy to contact head office this is when i found out that coast and country are just a front for SHEARINGS coach tours. the rest of the staff where not much better book your dinner but never on time, slow service at table had to beg for a drink one time but if you where in the coach party things where different they where well looked after . This company have tried to move upmarket but fail simply because they cant grasp the point that all customers are equal and should be treated the same and they have not got a clue at what premier and superior mean they are third rate and always will be. My advice stay well clear of any Shearings hotels unless of course you are in the coach party.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 758john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Our Premier rooms are extremely popular and enjoyed as many previous reviewers have mentioned and they are the largest rooms in the hotel.
The views from our hotel are of the surrounding countryside, Langdale hills and woodland areas and you can also see the Lake Windermere on the shores of Bowness village from the first and second floors.

Our menu is regularly reviewed and is changed each day giving 28 main course choices through the week, there is always a chefs salad on offer and a range supplement dishes choose from.
We aim to please all guests by offering lots of choice for Breakfast, our buffet breakfast has fresh fruit, cereals, porridge, pastries, toast, kippers, variety of fruit juices, and a full cooked English breakfast with your choice of egg. If this was not to your liking I must apologies.

We endeavour to treat all our guests with a warm welcome and friendly service regardless of whether they come by coach, car or train, I am sorry if felt you were not treated equal perhaps you could try another Coast & Country Hotel which are self drives only.

Thank you for your review and sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were pleasantly supprised with the hotel having read some of the negative reviews before we left home.We enjoyed our stay very much.The room was comfortable,the staff were very nice and polite and the food was excellant.We also had entertainment on four nights which was vey good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Dear Reviewer
I am pleased you found the hotel to your liking. Our staff take pride in offering a good service and are please to know how much their effort is appreciated. Our prices are very competitive for the area. We offer a relax style of entertainment four nights of the week; we find that this goes down very well with our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel in April for my birthday and despite mixed weather we really enjoyed it. Our room was small but clean and comfortable. The staff and the food were excellent. When criticising a hotel like this you do have to consider how much you have paid. We have done a few Coast and Country hotels over the past few years and they have ALL been excellent and very good value for money. We have recently returned from the George in Chollerford and we really enjoyed that hotel too. We have also stayed at The St George Harrogate and the Pitlochry Hydro. They are all different some have bigger bed rooms but the Windermere we were told is a listed building and there is not a lot you can do about that. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We offer great value, excellent service at a good price, and I am pleased you found all three. We enjoy a superb location which gives us some of the best views in Windermere. We hope you will enjoy your next holiday with Coast & Country Hotels and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

stayed in room 48 twin room
the room felt damp
the ' duvet' was awful
the full english was one sausage, two bacon one warm egg and half the plate swimming in beans

one of the bosses should try and sleep in there, and see what i mean
there is probably some very nice rooms, but this one should be shut

i stayed in a small b and b in penrith for the same £50 and it was fabulous

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank paulclw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Dear Reviewer

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Room 48, thank you for taking the time in posting all your concerns which now will be investigated. I was most surprised by your comments regarding our full English breakfast, as we have received many excellent reviews commenting on how much our guest have enjoyed the food and service we provide . Our hotel is one of the most ideally located in Windermere for getting out and about all over the Lake District, I feel a twin room in peak season for £50 Bed & Breakfast , which if compared to the local market is extremely good value for money.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The room we were given was at the far end of the hotel. It smelled heavily of dampness or decay. This smell persisted throuthout our stay inspite opening the window to ventilate the room. After an unpleasant night we checked out early next morning. I complained when paying my bill but got little satisfaction.

Room Tip: If you must stay in this hotel, please stay in the main body of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear reviewer

I do apologies that your expectations were not met, after investigation we could find no evidence of dampness or decay in your room, there was however a small leak from a burst pipe further down the corridor and this has since been rectified. Many of our customers like this part of the hotel due to its easy access to the car park, it is peaceful and has some of our larger standard rooms. As regards the handling of your complain this did surprise me, as you can see from many other reviews my staff are often praised for their helpful and friendly nature, again I can only apologies if this was not the case with yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My elderly father and I have just returned from a visit to the Lake District where we stayed at the Windermere Hotel. My father can walk with assistance for short distances but usually uses a wheelchair and I am his daily carer. Having explained our circumstances to the hotel staff prior to arrival they very kindly arranged for us to have adjacent rooms on the ground floor. Both rooms were comfortable, clean and appropriate for the overall standard of the hotel. Giles (hotel manager) and all the hotel staff were courteous, kind and extremely helpful throughout our stay. They all went out of their way to make our break as comfortable as possible.
The Windermere Hotel is located on a hill opposite the station and tourist information centre and overlooks both the town and the lake. There is access to plenty of local information about the area and activities available plus the hotel staff offered useful suggestions for various excursions. Inside the hotel the reception and bar are welcoming areas with plenty of space. There is a small lounge for residents and the restaurant is located in three separate areas which enables mealtimes to be intimate and efficient.
This hotel offers value for money but what made our stay so succesful was the care and attention from all the staff. It is not particularly set-up for wheelchair visitors but with help from the hotel staff we were able to manage well. During high season the car park is very busy but there is plenty of room for visitors cars albeit sometimes not directly in front of the reception area. Mealtimes are generous with menus that have choices at both breakfast and dinner with fish, meat and vegetarian options available.
Having stayed in many hotels I would unhesitatingly recommend the Windermere Hotel to individuals and family groups who are looking for a friendly, courteous, helpful, comfortable experience that offers value for money and warm memories.

Room Tip: Explain your needs clearly to the booking personnel and speak to hotel staff at least a week before...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PWilson186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear Reviewer

I clearly remember you contacting us before you came to stay, which as you mentioned definitely makes it easier when dealing with special requests. I am so glad that you and your father would recommend the Windermere Hotel to people who are looking for a friendly, courteous, helpful, comfortable experience that is value for money. Most importantly I am glad that you have taken away some warm memories.

I hope you come back to see us again soon and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
593 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £95 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing