We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly short stay break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A friendly short stay break”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We booked a standard room through Coast and Country and required a cot. I rang the hotel directly to ensure we would have one.Their esponse was positive and helpful. I rang again to ask about sterilizing baby bottles. The receptionist was unable to answer but rang back with a positive response the next day. Rang again to upgrade to Superior room was told they had allocated us their largest standard room because of the cot but would try to upgrade us if a room was a vailable. Arrived had a Superior room but it was too cold for the baby. A portable radiator was supplied immediately upon request. Staff extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Restaurant manageress ensured we had a table with room for the buggy every meal time. When it came time to leave car wouldn't start the manager came out to help us push it and a waiter joined in without being asked, We would be happy to return to this hotel

Room Tip: Pick room in main body of hotel - possibly warmer. Superior room good size if spending a lot of tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Dear Reviewer,



I am glad you got home and had no further problems with your car. Thank you for the extremely positive comments regarding the team which I will pass on with pride. It is always pleasing to read that we can cater for all ages including a little baby and it was great that you found our Superior room was large enough for you all.

Thank you again for your review and please come and stay with us again soon.

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    288
    113
    52
    40
See reviews for
73
462
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

we got off to a bad start, we had booked through Coast & Country, after looking at the reviews 0n the web site my husband rang Coast & Country and requested room 124 with the view of the lake,the lady he spoke to said that would be ok and sent us details although it did say request of room 124 (not guaranteed) we paid £293.00 bed breakfast & evening meal for three nights. When we arrived the lady on the desk told us no way could we have that room, before we knew it this guy butted in and there was another lady standing looking on, they were quite rude, we backed down and accepted room 33 and told it was high up and had a view, it didnt and was on the first floor. The first thing we noticed was a musty smell in the corridor, the room was a bit tired but quite clean except for the cushions on the bed which were dirty and stained, the bathroom was clean but the toilet roll was fixed to the wall above the cistern, impossible to reach, also the towel rail was above the toilet roll, not easy access at all after a shower. We are both over 70 and have travelled all over the world and eaten in different restuarants,never before have we been asked to pay extra for chips instead of potatoes, my husband requested this with his chicken, he had to pay £2 extra there and then, we have laughed at this stupid rule, the supplement if you wanted a steak was £9. along with other supplements this is too much.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Firstly I must apologise that your booking with us through our Coast & Country Reservations Office did not meet with your expectations, however as it was explained to you at the time of booking all requests are not guaranteed.

I was very surprised by your comments on how my Receptionist dealt with your problem, you booked a superior twin, room 124 is a superior double with a scenic view, she explained a number of times that this room was booked. The reason I “butted” in was because I felt that you blaming her which was not acceptable. Your comments regarding room 33 have already been investigated, thank you for bringing this to my attention. Our supplement dishes are on our menus to give customers more choice, I am sorry that you found our local 12oz steak served with chips and all trimmings too expensive.



Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our room was a little dated and in the extended part of the hotel which had a musty smell, we could have complained but didn't as we had unpacked all our belongings and hadn't paid a fortune for room so put up with it. The communal areas have been refurbished and have a more contemporary feel. The staff were mainly eastern european, efficient and friendly and the food was very good for this type of half board deal with three courses plus coffee and mints. It was mainly occupied by the over sixties whilst we were there and is not for those with mobility problems unless travelling everywhere by car as it is on a steep hill. Overall a pleasant stay and although the hotel is not exceptional it is good value.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in room 47!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank volleyqueenYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Reviewer



Thank you for your very complementary review, the staff are often being mentioned on trip advisor of which I am always very proud.

Your comments regarding Room 47 will be investigated and thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I am glad overall you had a pleasant stay with us and were looked after by my staff and felt our half board package was good value.



Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Thirteen! of us have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend walking break.
Our room (223) ws basically clean,but decor was grubby.
Staff were excellent in all aspects,choices at breakfast and dinner were exceptional especially for hungry walkers.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade! unfortunately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramsfans-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Reviewer



Thank you for letting me know your Oddfellows Tour was so enjoyable and you found the staff excellent and liked the many choices we provide at dinner and breakfast.

Hope to see you again on another weekend walking break in Windermere.



Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Access-on a very steep hill. . No heating or hot water. Cold and damp rooms, cold and damp beds and bed-linen. Food appalling. Totally unfit for diabetics. Unable to shower because I have had a stroke and cannot climb into the bath. Staff flying around in all directions, I got knocked over twice, no thought or consideration what-so-ever for elderly people. Greasy breakfasts, had to insist the staff serve me, and when they did it was banged down in front me time and time again. I've stayed in some dumps in England since my retirement-the Grand Hotel Scarborough for example-but the Windermere-never again!!!!

Room Tip: Over 60- do not stay there because the location will kill you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Reviewer



I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in the Lake District National Park at the Windermere Hotel.

I am very surprised by your comments that we have no thought or consideration for the older generation, as the majority of the guests are of that Golden age and by reading other trip advisor reviews you will clearly see we do.


Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just returned from a weekend at the Windermere Hotel and could not fault it. All the staff were helpful, friendly and courteous - always had a smile and a word of welcome. There was a good range of food choices, both at breakfast and evening meal, and all the food was cooked well - empty plates! We upgraded to a superior room - room 124, which was lovely, great view of the lake, really spacious, and we were able to relax after a day of walking and sailing on the lake. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Room 124 has a lovely view, and is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan1959Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Reviewer



WOW what a great review, I am so pleased you felt we got it right in so many areas from the room upgrade to the food and the overall service you received from my staff, the most important comment is always that you would definitely stay with us again.

Hope to see you soon

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We have just spent the weekend in this hotel and found it to be excellent value for money. The decor in our room (043) was dated and the beds were quite hard, but everything was clean. The food was very good and the staff very helpful, friendly and polite. We will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your lovely review on your stay with us in Room 43.
I so pleased you found our Dinner, Bed & Breakfast 3 day weekend break excellent value for money and the staff were helpful, friendly and polite.
The most rewarding comment to me and my team is when guests say they will come back to stay with us again. So hopefully we will see you soon.
Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,412 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing