We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Howbeck(Windermere)
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Willowsmere(Windermere)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveller rating
276
338
144
83
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
338
144
83
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsshearings holidaypremier roomcoast countrymeal timesbooths supermarketlake districtevening meallounge barreception stafforrest headsingle roomweekend breakthe general managerpublic roomsmy wife and i have just
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at this Hotel last week.We went on a shearings holiday (a present for my husbands 65th birthday)We enjoyed every minute of it,the room was good and the food was excellent.I have to have a Gluten Free Menue and there was a Gluten free menue waiting for me every evening meal ,with something different every night.The Manager and the staff were very good,helpfull and pleasant. We look forward to going again.Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank veron599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Reviewer

It’s great to read that we played a part in your husband’s 65th Birthday celebrations and that you enjoyed the choice on our Gluten Free menu we provided for you throughout your stay. I am also very pleased that you felt we looked after you on this special occasion and you would come back and stay with us again.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here last week with Shearings Holidays and we found that the stay was very good.The staff were friendly the food was excellent especialy the breakfast.We had a problem with the room alloted to us due to the inclement weather but we were offered another room promptly and courtiously. I would recommend the Hotel to all. We stayed there 20th Feb to 24th Feb.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your super review, at the Windermere Hotel we are always doing our best to accommodate all of our guests needs, I am so pleased that your issue with your room was dealt with promptly and with the courtesy expected of all our staff. It is always great to read reviews where I can see guests have had good service from all of the team and would recommend to all.

Hope to see you back again soon

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our second time staying at this hotel and like the first time we had a lovely stay if not better as we knew what to expect. As always the staff are polite and helpful with a special mention to Giles on reception. Nothing was any trouble. We thought the meals were really lovely and the choice seemed to be improved from the year before which we thought was good then. Even though we were always in the last sitting in the evening the choice and quality was still available. An afternoon tea of the home made scone is not to be missed. Our room was lovely and warm and clean. We look forward to going back time and time again. Plenty to do in the surrounding area and an excellent bus service all around the main places. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Windermere Hotel. Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the menu we are always striving to improve and I am so pleased you picked up on that. Chefs scones with clotted cream and jam are very popular and always well received by everyone including me!. The staff appreciate the praise you have afforded them and we can not wait to see you again.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just had a lovely 3night stay .hotel very clean staff always smiling and polite. Food lovely and always good choice and served hot.rooms could do with updating but they are kept very clean.
Stayed here before and would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boylorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Reviewer


Thank you for your great review, I will pass on all your very positive comments regarding the choice of food and very smiling and polite staff. We will endeavour to keep updating the bedrooms, but I do feel the majority of our guests are happy as long as the rooms are clean and comfortable.

It is great to read that you came back to The Windermere and best of all you would stay with us again.

I hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Thanks to staff and management for a very nice stay Feb 17 -20 2012. Service and meals are excellent, staff are great always a smile and best efforts. Room was no23 very basic but comfy old bed...u can upgrade if u want better with a view. We found location very handy next to rail link, shops bars and the lake.This was our second stay and wont be the last.....very chilled...thanls

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHASSYGeordyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for a rewarding review especially regarding the friendliness of our team. You may be interested to know that all trip advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews