We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break at Windermere Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend break at Windermere Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I have just had a very enjoyable short break at Shearings' Windermere Hotel as members of an 18 person group from Crofton Walking Club.
It is six years since we stayed at this hotel and the standards of service and quality of the meals are every bit as good as they were then. However the hotel's recent refurbishment has greatly added to the standard and decor of the rooms.
For the price we paid (£240 per couple for three nights' dinner, bed and breakfast) we were highly satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel and for choosing to return to us.
As you found we have the ideal position for exploring the Lake District.
I hope you don’t leave it another 6 years until your return.


Joanna,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    285
    111
    52
    37
See reviews for
73
459
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and keep coming back as it suits us down to the ground. From the minute we entered reception we felt welcome as the staff immediately recognised us and greeted us as if we were old friends. Our room was on the front of the hotel overlooking Windermere with views of the lake and was warm, clean and comfortable with everything we needed. We were awoken every day by birdsong and were really lucky with the weather. Service in the restaurant was very efficient and we liked the fact that we could choose where to sit and were not made to sit at the same table for every meal like some hotels we have stayed in. At breakfast, the porridge was delicious and creamy, there were cereals, fruit, yogurt and juice and you could mix and match the full English breakfast to suit your taste and appetite or have kippers or ham and cheese and rolls etc if you preferred. The evening menu was always displayed on the front desk in the mornings and we used to wet our appetites by looking at it before we went out for the day and would come back looking forward to our evening feast. We were quite impressed that in the 7 days we stayed the menu was different every day and the food was well cooked and beautifully presented. After dinner, coffee and mints were served in the piano room. There was some entertainment but we preferred the peace and quiet of our room. We really did have a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking a relaxed break in comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Reviewer

WOW what a fabulous review, its great that you keep coming back and this time you brought friends with you too. I am so pleased that you found your 7 days so enjoyable and we have been part of that, it’s always much appreciated when guests let us know how well we do.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you again, love to Devon
Kindest Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Food and service are first class, rooms are small and need a freshen up. Drinks quite expensive. Would go again though.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebarker_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Reviewer


We are always on a continuous room freshen up programme, however I can only apologise for not meeting you expectations on this occasion. I am pleased you found the food and service to your satisfaction and have not been put off coming to stay with us again.



Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We recently returned from a 4 night break at the Windermere Hotel. We were meeting up with friends who had stayed there previously. I was half expecting the public areas to be in need of some tlc as it takes a lot of investment to keep these large old hotels up to a good standard. I was pleasantly surprised. There has obviously been a lot of money spent on the corridors and public areas. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a superior room. There may be some rooms still to be refurbished, but we had no complaints with ours. It had everything we needed, was very clean and the power shower was great.
The breakfast wasn't a huge portion, but it was more than enough and the waiter did everything to accommodate all our requests. In fact all the staff were friendly and helpful.
We only ate dinner on one evening but the menu changes daily and we enjoyed what we had.
The location is ideal for exploring the Lakes. Grab yourself a coffee or a glass of something and enjoy the views from the seats on the front porch if you're not lucky enough to have a view of the lake from your room. If you're fairly fit you should do the walk up the hill on the right of the hotel. The views were spectacular. Well worth the climb.
All in all a happy experience and good value for money. We've all agreed we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoiraNicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Reviewer
I totally agree we are in an ideal and stunning location with the views of the Lakeland Fells and Lake Windermere. The front seats are often used to rest many Orrest Head viewpoint explorers. It’s true we have invested lots in all the public areas and corridors and we endeavour to continue to refurbish our standard rooms when required. I am glad you enjoyed one of our Superior Rooms.
I would thank you for your very complimentary comment regarding the service you received from the staff here at the Windermere Hotel.
Cheers
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just returned from 3 day self drive break (Shearings) - booked weeks ago and requested adjacent/nearby single room for son who accompanied us. We were in newer (!) part of hotel - a long, long, long walk to his room, to restaurant and to hotel reception. Our "superior" room was OK but freezing cold (big room with small slightly warm radiator). Bathroom had no heat at all - also v.cold. Can understand why beds have very thick quilts and blankets - would hate to stay in this room in depths of winter! Large flatscreen TV was billed as having Freeview but only had 4 freeview channels plus normal BBC, ITV.
On top shelf of our wardrobe, when I removed a blanket, I found SEVEN empty booze bottles - gin, vodka, whisky etc. etc. I wouldn't have minded if they had been full but sadly not. Despite these problems, we had a reasonable stay which could have been so much better.(Room 38)
Restaurant staff were outstanding - friendly, very efficient and very fast service. Food very good at dinner but breakfast was spoiled by tepid food and tepid coffee.

Room Tip: Pick superior room in "older" part of hotel - will be warmer and closer to restaurant etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jumbo415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Reviewer



Thank you for your mixed review, I have duly noted the problems with your room I wish you had brought this to my attention at the start of your stay then I would have ensured an extra heater was provided, as you can appreciate it very difficult to get this very old Victorian building the right temperature to please everyone, however I must apologised for any discomfort caused.

It’s great despite the problems you found that our Restaurant service was of a good standard and you had a reasonable break.

I hope you will come back and try us again soon.

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Good hotel for visiting Windermere and Boness. Very handy for local buses. Usually good entertainment at weekends. Quality of food served very good. Some very good fell walks in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to read any reviews from our guests on trip advisor as all feedback is essential. I will pass on your comments to the team, I am glad you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break and perhaps with some more fell walking!

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Me and my mum have just got back from staying at the Windermere Hotel and we did not want to leave.

The hotel was very clean, the staff were VERY helpful and the food was outstanding. Giles the manager has a great sense of humour and he and the staff are a credit to the hotel.

We travelled with Shearings travel via coach and Adrian the driver is a great fella and he has a good knowledge of the area.

We went to Kendal, Keswick, Bowness, Hawkeshead, Ullswater, Conniston and Grasmere. All are very nice places.

We will definitely return again.

Note to Giles: My mum was locked out of her room, you greatly sorted the problem out for her, many thanks! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear John



I am so pleased you and your Mum enjoyed all aspects of your Shearings Holiday to the Lake District, I totally agree Adrian is an excellent tour driver and what he does not know about this wonderful part of the country is not worth knowing !.

Your very complimentary comments regarding the food and how well the staff looked after you are much appreciated (even I got a mention!) they have already been passed on with pride.

Let me know when you would like to return and we will make sure your Mum is locked in the room next time !!.

All the best

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing