We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for .”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is the second mini break with coast and country hotels and The Winderemere is an improvement on the Derwentwater hotel in Keswick . The only major fault was very few English speaking staff if indeed any , food was ok not brilliant but ok. We upgraded to a superior room as we were so disappointed with the rooms at the Derwentwater hotel and I can only say that to me it's what you would expect of a good standard room in a 3 star hotel without having to pay extra .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer
I am sorry you were disappointed with the room at Derwentwater Hotel and you felt you didn’t get value for money here at the Windermere Hotel, however I do feel both hotels are very competitively priced for they are both in stunning locations in the Lake District National Park.
I am totally surprised that you found it a major fault that the staff could not speak enough English, as you can read so many previous reviews all mention how the staff are the Hotel’s biggest asset and personally I enjoy working in this multi - cultured team.
Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    290
    113
    53
    41
See reviews for
73
466
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Spent a very enjoyable and comfortable three nights at the Windermere,( 29 June/ 2 july) the hotel has obviously been recently refurbished to a very high standard. The food was exellent, the service was great, the staff were helpful and friendly , and area is wonderful . Would we go back to Windermere, most certainly.

Room Tip: Room 124 is large comfortable and has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for a lovely post, it’s great when customers feel that we have delivered an enjoyable break and also pleasing when customers put those comments on trip advisor.

The team motivation increases when reading such a wonderful review, it shows them that their hard work is being appreciated.

Let’s hope you come back and stay again soon.

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Other than poor water pressure in our quite small bathroom, we cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Giles, the Hotel Manager (great sense of humour), and his team were really quite superb. A very clean, well-maintained hotel with modern decor. Service in the dining room was quite outstanding. Particularly worthy of praise was our waiter, Miguel, who even though under considerable pressure at times, was always most pleasant, courteous and efficient.

As part of the Jubilee celebrations, upon arrival, we found that Shearings had placed a Diamond Jubilee gift in our room - a boxed, quality commemorative glass paper weight. On the Tuesday of our stay, after the day's excursion there was coffee and cake in the lounge followed in the evening by a 5-course dinner with champagne: a nice touch - well done Shearings!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indicator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

I am so pleased you enjoyed the Jubilee celebrations with us, which I agree it did make the week a special one.

The reason Miguel was so happy was because he drew Spain in our European Championships staff sweep stake !!, with his winnings he has popped home to see his family and came back with his brother Ramon who now also works in the Restaurant, he was really happy with his first trip advisor mention.

Thank you for your very complimentary comments regarding our hotel and the team, which makes us all feel like Royalty.

Hope you come back to stay before the next Jubilee!

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I spent a week in this hotel mid-June. Travelled by train so delighted the hotel is right opposite the station and buses which are nexxt door to Booths supermarket and then the TIC,where the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly.

Our room, 223, in which we were to spend seven nights, was quite small, with just 5 hangers in the wardrobe and only three drawers, apart from the bedside ones, but extra hangers were provided with no hassle, when we asked at reception.The small bathroom contained both bath and shower, but a tight fit to sit on loo as it was squeezed in between the end of the bath and the door. Also no apparent way of turning on a fan in there.

The view from the bedroom window was lovely, over grass and trees - I sat watching rabbits eating and scuttling about one early morning when woken by the sunlight.

The meals were fine, the breakfasts sausages lovely and usual Shearings choice of dinners. Coffee is served in the bar after dinner and at the start of the week, with the hotel full, we sometimes couldn't find a seat in which to sit and drink it.

Excellent location and we explored on foot (don't miss the Orris Head climb next to hotel); by bus (remember your OAP bus pass) and boat. Think we might well return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SussexClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear reviewer

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent trip to Windermere and were able to explore the area.
As you know the Orrest Head walk, which starts at the bottom of our car park, is well worth the effort with the reward of panoramic views of Lake Windermere.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your return.

Regards

Joanna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

coast and country hotel which wew found to be their usual high standard. Unfortunatley from the town up to the hotel involves a very steep climb, but that is the only complaint we can make.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hyundai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear reviewer


Thank you for your positive review

I’m sure you found the Lake District views from the hotel to be worth the climb!

Regards

Joanna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 4th June for four nights whilst on a trip with Shearings.
When we arrived we were introduced to Giles the general manager. He was funny, but most of all he was helpful and also were the rest of the team.
We had booked a superior room but when we were given the keys, Giles had shuffled the rooms and we were in a premier room. The room was lovely with a great view over Windermere. Could have done with a couple of trees being shortened by a few feet, for a better view!! The room had a four poster bed, a small seating area and a tv. The room was clean and the en suite bathroom was lovely.
The restaurant was lovely and clean and the waiting staff were friendly and helpful, with special thanks going to Jonas who was very accommodating and helpful. Also special thanks to Monica, the bar waitress. She was very friendly, pleasant and like a whirlwind.
A special thanks goes to Nicky and Giles for the lovely meal on our last night to celebrate our honeymoon and a big thanks for the bottle of bubbly and the table decorations.
There is also a big thanks to our coach driver and tour guide whilst travelling around the lake district and that is Adrian. His knowledge about the lakes was very interesting and made the trips even more interesting.
We would like to give a big thanks to the Hotel Windermere for a special honeymoon holiday, for a lovely hotel, friendly staff, excellent food and hospitality. The only down side was the drizzle but we cant order sunshine all the time.
Hope to see u all again soon xxxxxx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RheeRocester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Honeymooners,

Thank you for choosing to share such a special time with us, and wow what a wonderful and very detailed review, it is always great to read that guests have had such a nice stay it means a lot and makes the team here a happy one.

We hope we have encouraged you to return to Windermere again soon.

Anniversary perhaps !

Best Wishes

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel fro 1st June 2012 - 3rd June - We stayed in the Premier Room and was pleasently surprised that a bottle of bubbly was waiting for us in our room (at no extra cost). The room was clean and wll kept and the lake view from the bedroom window was just visible (looking round the trees). Most of the staff were Europeans and pleasent. Breakfast unfortunately was disappointing, poached eggs were not always hot, your plate was barely covered. We ate at the hotel for two of the nights but were very disappointed with the food. It was more like McDonalds. The food could not have been prepared when ordered because by the time you had ordered your starters/mains within minutes it was dished up to you, salad leaves were very limp and this must have been prepared hours earlier. We were though very impressed with the Bistro across the road Mojo's this is a "must visit". Staff very nice and friendly. Would stay here again but not to eat

Room Tip: Premier Room very good but you can only just see the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Reviewer



I agree our Premier Room has outstanding views of Windermere town and lake Windermere and I’m glad that you appreciated the Premier Room welcome pack. However I was surprised to read about your disappointment with our restaurant food, we have had so many reviewers commenting on how much they enjoyed our food. It’s pleasing to read that you found the staff pleasant and would stay here again.

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
580 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing