We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like an old people home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like an old people home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is over priced and the staff are un-helpful and rude! We had come from the daffodil hotel and spa and their was a massive difference their was a funny smell all round the hotel and the staff at breakfast were un helpful and rude will not be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Chiltsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

As you stayed with us last September and we didn’t receive comments regarding smells or unhelpful staff at the time, it surprises me that you did not bring this to my attention before now. However I must apologise for your stay not meeting your expectations, it is also unfair comparing us with a Spa hotel like Daffodil.

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    284
    107
    51
    37
See reviews for
72
453
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Third time we have stayed at this hotel, value for money is excellent,the food is of a high quality and good choice on the table d,hote, for extra you can select a substantial additional choice.
The staff are excellent,where do you get them from ??, they cannot do enough for you and are ALWAYS polite and courteous.

In the evening there was a lady singer to entertain the guests.

Good car parking, a must in the lakes, is available and is free, unique in the lake district.

Little brickbat, our room 221, a little cramped and could do with a redecorate and some TLC.

Overall, fantastic value for money,you can do a 2, 3, 0r more nightly package which includes dinner bed and breakfast, great value.

We will be back.

Thanks to all the staff, they are excellent.

Ken Dorward

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a front facing room, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth_dorward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Mr Dorward

I am so pleased you keep coming back to stay with us. Your review clearly tells me that we are getting it right and you feel it‘s value for money.

It’s great that you identified the staff being excellent, they all work hard and it’s great they get the acknowledgement.

I agree room 221 is not one of our largest rooms, perhaps I could convince to try one of our Premier or Superior rooms on your next stay with us.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We thought this hotel was very good value for money. It's old but very comfortable and the food was very good. The bus station and railway are opposite which makes it very easy to get about. The staff were efficient and friendly and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiganHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your super comments on the Windermere Hotel. The location as you have mentioned could not be much better. Our food is very popular with our guests and we have received many great reviews. The staff are always happy to hear that their work is appreciated.

I look forward to seeing you again at the hotel

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

hi spent 4 days here at the windermere hotel its a old hotel but its got plenty of of history used to be called the riggs hotel so its quite old staff are friendly rooms i had a superior room it was at the front of hotel meals were plain but very good breakfast was vv good as much as you like would go back again ps the hotel is about 1 1/2 miles from the the lake its a steep hill going down as well as up

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for noting the wonderful history of the Windermere Hotel built to welcome visitors to Windermere since 1847 and still doing so today.

Our breakfasts give you a great start to the day and dinner to finish helps you get up and down the hill to Bowness.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Myself and friend have just returned from a 5 day holiday with shearings staying at the Windermere Hotel. It was the worst holiday we have ever had. We were in room 25 ground floor, it was cold, damp, we had to have a fire on in August. When we arrived the bed had not been changed, the housekeeper was called, when she moved the bed to change it, the dust just hit you. We felt the manager was rude, he needs to go on customer training. Felt very upset, but it was the first and last time with shearings.

Room Tip: must upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bruce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your holiday here last week however as you know I personally dealt with your complaint and a heater was issued. The one marked sheet was replaced and the matter has been reported to our Laundry company.

As the Manager I am entitled to challenge any guests I feel are being disrespectful or aggressive to towards a member of staff which you were.

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Staff lovely shearings drivers great hotel room clean and value for money. Only problem we had was food. Only 3 choices on dinner menu and they ran out. First night ordered veg tart and salad. Got veg tart and uncooked red cabbage. Next night ran out of fish pie. Had Thai veg curry made from frozen veg looked like vomit. Ordered apple & satana desert. No saltarnas in the shop made slice I got. Also ordered bakewell tart got jam sponge. Burnt bacon one morning. The waiter could see burnt but still served it.Used Shearings 5 times before never had such limited badly cooked food.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sillyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

I am sorry you did not enjoy the food, it was surprising to read as we have had many reviewers stating how much they liked our whole dinning experience and found it good value for money, however I am pleased all the other aspects of your holiday were great.

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Poor old Giles he must get fed up with people complaining about the basic rooms at the windermere but they are very gloomy and not really adequate for two people and can be COLD even in july.We found it necessary to upgrade to a better standard room.(more money) The evening food was somtimes bland,but all (4) our breakfast were great...Its a pity that the higher management do not allow a bigger budget for refurbishment of the basic rooms.ALL THE STAFF AT THE WINDERMERE ARE GREAT. I

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alanmorley1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Reviewer

I am sorry the standard room you were first allocated did not meet your expectations but pleased you were happy with your upgrade to one of our superior rooms. I am surprised by your comments regarding the evening meals as we have guests complimenting the food in many previous reviews. I’m glad you liked our breakfasts and I will let the team know how much they were appreciated.

I can assure you that all senior Management are fully aware of the importance of continuing to invest in the Windermere Hotel.

Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing