We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Windermere Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$447
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
271
332
137
76
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
332
137
76
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsshearings holidaypremier roomcoast countrymeal timeslake districtevening meallounge barreception staffweekend breakthe general managersingle roomorrest headthe ground floorpublic roomsthree courses
Filter
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Windermere is an old hotel; it has been updated but still retains its 'old world' charm. The staff are very friendly, and the restaurant, although not brilliant, is reasonable and the food is nicely prepared. Its location overlooking the village is ideal as a centre for getting around the lakes. (for pensioners with a bus pass, it's ideal, as the bus station is close by, and the local bus service will take you all over!). If you travel by car, it's worth paying the small parking fee when you book, as the car park is a bit restricted. If you do, you get your 'executive'[parking space ready for you when you arrive. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the 'annexe',(actually attached to the main building!)and these rooms are newer, but with a bit of a walk to to the main restaurant area.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear reviewer

As you state our location is perfect for exploring the beautiful Lake District.
On your next visit you may like to book a scenic view room, for an additional £6 per person per night and enjoy the view from the hotel further
I will copy your comments to the staff who always appreciate the positive feedback.

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I had a great stay at this hotel, the food was outstanding for quality, quantity and variety all the time. The room was comfortable although looked well used, the view from window was great (the higher the better) and when waking in the morning, stunning. The rest of the hotel looked and felt modern and well cared for. The staff were always extremely helpful, including phoning our room on our first night to remind us of dinner! Having read other reviews for this hotel I am total surprised and taken aback, its a smashing place and we intend coming back again, soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review for the hotel.
All the team work hard to provide good service to our customers and will be pleased to hear of your appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Arrived at this Shearings Hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the modern feel of this hotel which does normally cater for the older person. Staff were extremely helpful and the rooms, televisions, tea making facilities were excellent. After a bad experience with the food in a Shearings Hotel in the Isle of Wight earlier this year we were well pleased when the food was really good and the waiting staff very efficient. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Giles was ace on the reception.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be good. Lift was working fine to upper floors.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annedelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Windermere Hotel. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and it’s great that you would recommend us to family and friends. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff with pride, and thank you for my special mention.
Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have stayed at a number of Shearings hotels over the last 8 years and all have been very good value. The Windermere was better than we expected. We had booked a standard room. We have had their best rooms in previous places, and these really are very good. However, we had booked a week's stay here (rather than 4 nights as usual) so we thought we'd save money for other things. Our room was adequate and the bed comfortable. The room was quiet with a rural view up a hill. What impressed us was the very nice public areas and restaurant and the incredible dinners. Although the menu gave a limited choice, the dishes were perfection - very high-class meals, all very well presented. Restaurant service was extremely efficient and courteous. In fact all the staff were helpful and courteous. The bar staff really knew their jobs. The women bar staff in particular had a thorough knowledge of the beers and wines and could mix a great Pimms. WiFi was available using Sky's "The Cloud" and this worked well on our iPad, but only in one half of the bar and in Reception. (The iPad seems to need a strong signal - I suspect other devices may access the signal in other rooms too.) There was enough car parking free-of-charge - good, as we didn't pay for a reserved place. All very good value and very central to all the main attractions. Other over-60s may wish to know that the train station opposite the hotel has a main bus stop area too. The 599 open-top service goes to all the main towns around and is free to bus-pass holders. This not only saved on fuel, but saved us the bother of finding scarce and expensive parking in many smaller places like Ambleside. The 599 goes every 20 minutes. Also by the station is "Lakeland", as in the shop with the catalogue. Worth a look, and has a very nice coffee shop. Not to be missed (if you're fit) is a walk that starts next to the hotel and goes up to Orrest Head. (Do it before dinner rather than after!)

Room Tip: Go for their best rooms (see web) - they are very good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

It’s great to hear you thought your stay at the Windermere Hotel was very good value for money and we exceeded your expectations. I have passed on your brilliant comments regarding the service you received throughout your stay to everyone concerned.

I agree our Stunning Location is great for everyone with reserved parking at the hotel, and just across the road from the hotel there are buses going all over the Lake District and bike hire too.

It was a pleasure to read your very positive review and thank you for taking the time to post it, we are looking forward to you visiting us again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Great food,lovely polite staff and a great ambience.Dont believe the poor reviews,this is a little gem of a place and not to be missed.We would definately revisit this hotel its ashame they couldnt fix the weather as a bit of sunshine would have made it perfect

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millymolly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Reviewer

I agree this summer has been one of wettest for a few years, which has made the Lakeland Fells the greenest ever and the rain has kept all of the lakes full.

I am pleased the service you received from us put some sunshine into your stay, on your next visit I will make sure the sun shines for you!.

Kind Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews