We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lovely view , shame about the room "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel and found it poor. Our room (210)was very small with hardly space to move round and was depressingly decorated in dark brown and dull green. The carpet was threadbare in places. It was like stepping back to the fifties. The corridors and reception were painted in a very dark grey and were also very gloomy. I can only think that the designer was going through a nervous breakdown when given this commission!
In the room the ensuite was clean, but the sink had a large crack from side to side and the shower lacked any power. I did ask to change rooms and was given the option to look at another one on the floor below but this turned out to be just the same size. I was told that this was the standard room size and if this is so would hate to spend more than a night or two here.
We had paid an extra £28 for a scenic view and this was the saving grace as we were able to watch the snow falling silently over Windermere, creating both a winter wonderland and a hazard as motorists tried to get up the hill next to the hotel! However, no matter how pretty the view we will not be returning to this hotel or recommending it.

Room Tip: There are Premier and Superior rooms available which may be better but none were available when we s...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DandM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Reviewer
I am sorry you found the colour scheme of the hotel not to your liking and were unhappy with the standard of your bedroom. However I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your view which is well worth the supplement paid.

Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for The Windermere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

Just returned from a five day break with shearings, stayed at the windermere hotel,Staff were very friendly and efficient.Food can not be faulted service was prompt and not kept waiting.Our room was on the second floor (218) which was at the front with great views over the village and the lake and hills..(we were not told that there was an outer door to our room and the room door was behind that).The room itself was big enough with a large bathroom,the lake is walkable about 1.5 miles away it is down hill going...BUT up hill coming back, you can get the bus back about 10 mins ride (£2.10).Our driver (Andy) was an excellent driver.taking account of the weather conditions.he done very well..
There is one person i would like to mention on the tour that is a gentlemen by the name of bob soane. he was a pleasure to have travelled with and made our trip very enjoyable he sat in the seats in front of us.so thank you bob....The location of the hotel is superb, but on a hill...All in all it was a great break so thank you al the hotel staff and to shearings

Room Tip: rooms at the front are best with great views try to get the rooms on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, Front Office Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for your review, I’m glad that you enjoyed your visit. Due to our location at the top of the village we have excellent panoramic views of lake Windermere and the lakeland hills, well worth the scenic view supplement.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next holiday at the hotel.

Joanna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just home today from 4 nights at this lovely hotel. What excellent service,food,drinks,friendliness,comfort,and views! Lounge bit chilly,but layers of clothes solved this.Bedroom lighting could be improved,and room and bathroom was fairly basic..................but hey,so's ours at home! Snow was on the ground but inside the atmosphere was warm and friendly.We had a great time and will return one day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellen266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a glowing review, I’m glad your snowy week with us was warm and friendly with excellent service. I am pleased you found our winter 4 day breaks great value and would return.
Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent a long weekend at this hotel recently and were impressed with the standard of customer care. We found the bar, restaurant and reception staff to be polite, professional and hard working. The choices and quality of meals were very good value for money. There was a high standard of cleanliness in room 123 which was quiet and offered a view of the countryside from the rear of the building. We will return to this hotel in the near future and definitely recommend it to our friends.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, Front Office Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for your positive all round review of your weekend stay. I have copied your review to our training wall and the staff are very pleased to read of your satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends on your next break here at Windermere.

Regards

Joanna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have just had a 5 day break with Shearings holidays, staying in the Windermere Hotel, and would like to thank all concerned for a very enjoyable holiday.

Check in staff were friendly and efficient, and we were delighted to find our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel, with far reaching views overlooking the town of Windermere.

As last week was exceptionally cold we had been concerned that our room and public rooms would be cold, but this was not the case. A previous reviewer had stated their bedroom heating was only on for a few hours in the daytime, but ours seemed to be on 24 hours, as I noticed when I went to the bathroom at 2am!

We last stayed in the hotel some 15 years ago, and could see that a lot of money has been spent on updating and modernising the interior, especially the dining rooms. The food was very good, a wide choice on the menu and served by very efficient, friendly and hard working waiters.

I was particularly pleased to find the free WiFi was accessible in our bedroom, meaning I didnt have to take my lap top down to the bar area to use it. This may have been because our room was almost directly above this area and may not apply to all rooms.

All the staff were excellent, can't really give any names as the list would be too long, although having said that, Joanne (?) on reception was totally professional, friendly and helpful.

We love this area and will most certainly choose the Windermere Hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandJWinterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Reviewer



Thank you for your lovely review, it’s made Joanna’s day, we have changed many things over the past 15 years and I am happy that you could see the improvement. I am really pleased that you found all aspects of your stay to be very enjoyable and that the staff work in a professional manner.

It’s always means an awful lot to the team when we get such positive reviews and better still that you would choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the Lake District.



Kind Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Went for DBB rate, but paid extra for superior room. Reasonable choice at meal times and option to upgrade. Food reasonable for the price. Room clean, but not superior in our opinion. Whole hotel rather chilly... which spoilt it a little
Very pleasant and helpful staff throughout our stay.
However... this hotel very much caters for the older end, and we were the youngest there by a good 25 years! The evening entertainment (sat only) catered to this audience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smiler141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Reviewer



Thank you for your review I am sorry we did not meet some of your expectations, I am pleased that you found the room clean and the food we offer was good value. You are correct when you say we cater for the older generation, however we certainly cater for all and do not discriminate.

Thank you for kind comments regarding the staff which I will pass on.



Kind Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A most enjoyable stay.food and accommodation excellent.staff very professional and friendly.The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained and perfectly situated for visiting the lakes.I travelled by Shearings Coaches and have submitted that I was a solo traveller as I paid a small single room supplement but I did in fact have a travelling companion.
I would recommend this hotel as being good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review following your recent Shearings Coach Tour to the Lake District, it was good to read all your positive comments about our perfectly situated Hotel. Also how well the professional and friendly staff looked after you.

Hopefully we will see you again soon in Windermere.

Kind Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £91 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing