We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An anniversary weekend”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Spent a three night break over the weekend of our wedding anniversary at this hotel. We had paid for a scenic view and could just see the lake glittering in the distance over the trees. The reception staff were very efficient and quickly changed our duvet for sheet and blankets which we prefer. We found the food quite acceptable ,breakfasts were good with some lighter options to the full English,although, I did enjoy the Cumbrian sausage.All the waiting staff were very pleasant and kept their smiles even when dealing with a few awkward old ladies!It is a bit of a slog up the hill from town or lake but there is a good bus service. The hotel do reserve parking spaces at a cost , we did not bother and always managed to park in a non reserved spot.
As the hotel has several coach parties I think perhaps they should arrange more entertainment for those customers who are restricted to staying at the hotel.Another plus is that there are electronic safes in the rooms ,much better than having to carry a key around. The room was spacious ,clean with a couple of comfy armchairs and we found the bed very comfortable .

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for detailing your recent stay with us. I am glad the staff looked after you on your special weekend. All your comments will be shared with the team as this feedback will certainly have a positive effect on all of us, and we strive to continuously improve all areas of the service we provide.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Windermere Hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    295
    118
    63
    45
See reviews for
77
479
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a five day stay at The Windermere Hotel. This will now be our 7th visit. On arrival, Nadia, on reception, welcomed us with a smile and we were soon given our key. The room was fine, clean and had new bedding and carpets. The bathroom was clean and adequate. We were travelling independently by train and we do agree that the slope from the station can be challenging but we managed. The food was very good. The breakfasts had everything one would need and were well presented and prepared. The evening meals were great with plenty of choice. The food was 4 star quality. Well done the chef and his staff. The hotel is clean and tidy with welcoming staff who went out of their way to serve us. Giles, the manager, was ever his usual jolly self. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you have a preference i.e. low floor, shower cubicle or near a lift, remember to tell them when b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TedBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Ted & Betty

It’s always a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and I am pleased to read your satisfaction all round.
Being one of regulars we always look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit just let us know when.

See you both again soon and thank you for my special mention.

Kindest Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived at reception to be told we had been upgraded to a superior room after booking just a standard room. Great start! The room was perhaps a little more spacious than a standard one from what we could tell but there were no obvious extra luxuries. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The hallways could perhaps do with a little freshen up. The restaurant staff were very nice and the food was very quickly served and was of a good standard. The lounge bar was on the small side and only on one evening there was a piano player in residence which wasn't a problem to us but may be to some who want some entertainment in the evenings. The manager Giles was on reception sometimes and was a funny, likeable man. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you enjoyed your experience in one of our Superior rooms and that the staff were so helpful during your stay.
I hope you meant funny ha ha – seriously thank you for very kind comments and my special mention.
Hope you to see back at the Windermere again soon.

Kindest Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The first night my partner and I stayed at this hotel we got a great deal on a twin room - we decided to stay an extra night as the weather prevented us from camping and we were willing to pay a little more if necessary as the room we had was already booked... The staff at the front desk could not have been more helpful or kind enough as they upgraded us to the Premiere room for the same price as the twin room! We cannot say a bad word about this Hotel or the staff; we did feel a little young compared to the other guests but at least it was quiet and there are some great walks in the area! The breakfast was spot on too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and the felt you got value for money.
I agree the Windermere Hotel location is ideal for walkers, young or old exploring the stunning Lake District.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kindest Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

we had to return after a disastrous 1st visit
very pleasantly surprised reception 1st class , lounge bar still brilliant , upgraded room we could not fault clean airy very pleasant view , house maid service fantastic
dinning room lacks ambience , perhaps a little gentle background music to relax the single traveller however great service and good menu something for everybody
nice to see regular staff and they even recognised us
all areas clean tidy and well presented
A big thank you to Mr Norwood general manager and all his staff

Room Tip: worth spending on an upgrade to a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pappaConsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time writing your 5 star review letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was lovely to welcome you back and to read you received the great service that we are so highly praised for.
I hope that you will be visiting us again very soon.
Kindest Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Do not stay here smelly, tiny rooms, beds rock hard, breakfast cheap and awful, on top of a hill so hard to walk up to get to, creaky floor boards and they even took 200 off my card at time if booking even though I paid in cash for my rooms, was not advised about the 200 had to find this out from my bank and when I called hotel was told it can take 2 weeks to get my money back! Joke! There's so many lovely hotels in lakes for the same price

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

The card pre-authorisation procedure is clearly stated in booking confirmations when booking through any internet booking agent, and is always explained on check in (that no money have been taken from your account for the rooms it’s just pre-authorised , however paying cash on departure will leave the pre- authorised amount on hold with your bank for up to 2 weeks).
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and it’s a shame we were not made aware of your feelings and given the opportunity to take action to give you a positive experience
Thank you for your review, all guest feedback is very important to us.

Kindest Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

went in on off chance with no booking , paid for the upgrade room just B&B tho wanted to eat out . the room was so big and nice very clean , couldn't fault this hotel and would go back , but only in there up graded rooms . breakfast was really nice and lots of it .. fantastic weekend tho it did rain for 13 hours none stop we did find when it rains here there is only one thing to do and that's stay in the bar ,but all good . next time I would eat in the hotel worth the money :)

Room Tip: room 104 so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the excellent review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our 4-poster premier view room and made the most of the weather. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and I hope you be able to see the great views next time.
Hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,452 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing