We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings Coach Holiday Windermere Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shearings Coach Holiday Windermere Hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was our first time with Shearings and our first UK holiday for a long time as we usually take a cruise or visit Spain. On arriving at the Windermere we were pleasantly surprised at its lovely outside appearance and on entering we also liked what we saw.
The only draw back was the fact that our room would not be available until 3pm and the coach had arrived at 12pm. However we had a look around Wndermere Town and had a light lunch and then returned and sat in the hotel lounge. One thing that should be noted is that the hotel sits at the top of a steep hill. On eventually being given the keys to our room we found it to be of a reasonable standard and contained a bath as we had requested and had a good view over the fields at the back. The meals in the hotel where of a good standard and gave a reasonable choice and the waiters and the rest of the staff where very friendly and could not have been more helpful. All in all we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you took the opportunity to explore Windermere until Check in. It is a wonderful town and not to be missed. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your meals and the staff. I do hope you will return very soon.
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    292
    116
    57
    43
See reviews for
74
472
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Good value 5 day break with Shearings at Winderemere, (week 15th Feb 2015) staying at the hotel in the town,good accomodation,meals and trips out,good staff in hotel and very efficient service with a smile...we will be back ....thanks for everything !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased everything was to your satisfaction. You are more than welcome and I will look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have recently stayed here for 4 nights on a Shearings coach break. This is a very impressive hotel,internally and externally, especially the closeness of both train and bus terminals.The hotel is very comfortable, and the restaurant staff and service were superb .Despite there being many other guests staying here, there was sufficient room for all.
The only criticism I have is that there needs to be double glazed windows in the front facing upper floor rooms.

Room Tip: Upper floor front facing rooms for spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rod d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. It is always a delight to read our guests have a positive experience here at the Windermere Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day break with shearing, the hotel it's self was great all the staff were excellent especially the head waiter Ramon who looked after US all the other staff could not do enough for US. The hotel was very warm and our room very good and the maid made sure it was kept in good condition every day, the only down side was the hot water which took ages to come through, our coach driver Andy was excellent with his knowledge of the area and we always felt safe with his driving when we saw the roads we traveled from driffent places of interest, we are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground or first floor hot water came through better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for such a great review. I will pass on your kind comments to Ramon & Andy I am sure they will be chuffed with their mentions. Both are definitely an asset to the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windermere Hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were on a Shearings five day mid-week break, first week in January ‘13. The initial impression was that it is obviously an old established Hotel full of character which has been extended a few times over the years. We were in what was probably the last extension so was quite a way from the dining room, not a problem as we were on the first floor which made us on the same level as the dining room due to the sloping ground. The Coast and Country hotels tend to be slightly better than the the Bay Hotels, most of the tables are set out for couples and you could sit at a different one for each meal. Although here, by request, they did move some together for fours and sixes.
The meals were fine, the quantity did vary depending on what was ordered, I had the Chefs Special every day, they were good. The waiter service was fine although not being english did have its moments but they were good humored about it and very efficient and obliging.
The room was adequate in size, clean, initially it was cold, cool is fine for us but it took a time to warm it up with the heating full on. The windows were a bit drafty, they seemed to be stuck and any serious attempt to open/close then could easily resulted in damage. Condensation was also evident. Next day the room heating was OK, the weather was damp and cold which did not help. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been refurbished, pity the floor wasn’t done as well. The bathroom was a bit on the small size.
The £25 in house spend was good it kept most of the guests in the bar room which made it good for conversation with other guests/travelers.
Saddened by the fact that some guests took the liberty of ‘borrowing’ the lounge copies of the free Newspapers up to their rooms.
Taking it all into account we really enjoyed our stay, the guests we spoke to were entertaining, the staff and general ambiance of the hotel was great. We recommend it. Finally the bus stop is over the road at the station, less than a five min walk although the road can be busy at times and it slopes down..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay here. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with most aspects of your stay. Especially the staff and ambiance this is always pleasing to hear. The £25 in house spend is definitely proving very popular.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I took a chance on a last minute weekend break at this hotel and I have to say it was impressive. This is a hotel in a beautiful position and has oodles of character. THE STAFF are helpful and apart from one young lady on reception courteous in every way. MANY thanks to the waiters all of which were efficient spot on and of course to the excellent value for money food. don't forget the a la carte menu I can recommend the crème brulee one of the best I have tasted .it all comes at a substantial discount when travelling with shearings. SO WOULD I RETURN a triple yes to that ,

Room Tip: go for an upgrade if u can refurbishment is on going but all perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Reviewer

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Windermere Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel a few minutes walk from winderemere. Food good and varied. Staff helpful, polite, nothing to much trouble. Our room was beautiful with fantastic view of the lake. Thank you to Giles and all the staff for a fantastic weekend break.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your complimentary review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the ideal location of the Windermere Hotel and the staff looked after you so well.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing