We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Hooked

Hooked
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fantastic range of seafood, cooked fresh to order. Menu changes daily depending on what comes in from the local supplier in Fleetwood.
staffs
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We rarely find a fish restaurant we can praise, they ONLY do seafood which is great. Lovely people and atmosphere, good service and very tasty food. I can recommend to fish lovers. Wine is a bit pricy but they have house wines as well.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank waterbabyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    160
    31
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
on tour
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A nice plaice”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

It is great to find a decent fish restaurant in the UK that doesn't overcharge. Selection of starters and main course were eclectic and all very tempting. Fish all cooked to perfection. Staff attentive but not overbearing. Like being at a friend's house for dinner.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KangaOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fantastic, outstanging”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

After looking at hooked menu, we decided to book a table on Sunday 1st may 11.

We had 3 starters, tai fishcakes, sardines,prawns.

For mains salmon, hake and seafood tagine.

Deserts panna cotta, cheese board and chocolate fonude.

1 bottle of Rose wine, 1 x coke all for £96.

All of the starters were fantastic.

The salmon was cooked to perfection, my husband is a very good cook and he thought it
was fantastic, the hake portion was amazing and beautifully presented. The seafood tagine for 2 people is an absolute must!! Absolutely gorgeous.

All deserts were fantastic, my 16 year old daughter had the chocoate fondue, which arrived in an orange le cruet pot with strawberries, cake pieces and lovely marshmallow pieces.

All in all, a fabulous, and fantastic , good value for money night.

Will definately be visiting again very soon.

Well done to the all staff and compliements to the CHEF!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deniro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing seafood”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We returned to Windermere for our 1st wedding anniversary and noticed this new restaurant. My husband and I both love seafood so we read the reviews on here and decided to try it out and see if it was really as good as previous reviewers had claimed.......It was BETTER!!!!
A friendly relaxed welcome from the owner who clearly loves what he does. We loved the understated, simple feel to the decor and furnishings. Nothing fancy is needed when the food is this amazing. I had the Moules to start (best ive ever tasted) and my husbands thai fishcakes were to die for, then Hake on a pea puree with crispy bacon which was seriously one of the tastiest plates of food ive ever eaten, swordfish with peppercorn sauce equally gorgeous for hubby. Super succulent, perfectly cooked fish. Unexpectedly generous portions too. Managed to make room (just) to share a dessert, the most delicious Panna Cotta ever. The wine suggested by the owner was a delightful accompaniment.
If you like seafood this restaurant is a must, but make sure you book, a place this good of this size will undoubtedly be packed out.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danksy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxed atmosphere with exquisite food”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This is the place to go to if you like seafood.
Its simple decor is a little surprising to start with but suits the feel iof the resturant brilliantly.
Perfect service, friendly relaxed and timely
The food is incredible. You can tell there has been love and thought in every dish.
It feels like every part of the resturant has been thought about and the decision cared about.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieJaneLongmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hooked also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing