We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of The Hideaway Restaurant - CLOSED

The Hideaway Restaurant
Price range: US$44 - US$70
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Modern British Food & Elegant Service in a Contemporary Victorian House. Please note the Restaurant is only open for Dinner on Friday & Saturday 13th/14th & 20th/21st February 2015.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Both the food and quality of service were exceptional. The pre-dinner drinks in the lounge were a really nice touch; the staff were really friendly and polite without being overly formal; the relaxed atmosphere and quality of the food made for a really enjoyable evening; the ability to return to the lounge after dinner was great—it meant we didn’t feel rushed to leave after eating.

All in all, a great, relaxed, upmarket-but-not-pretentious, enjoyable place to eat, with fantastic food and lovely staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csswizardry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, amazing amazing.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for our 4th wedding anniversary and took the chance to have a break away without the little one and before baby two arrives. We wanted luxury, relaxation and good food, all received in abundance. We had the dining experience on the Friday night and the service and food was spectacular. The food was adapted, without any issues, for my pregnancy needs and didn't detract from the quality of the meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carlamarie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautifully presented, can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were delighted to hear that The Hideaway were doing special 'dining weekends' again. We have stayed and dined there several times and have always enjoyed it. My husband booked the romantic Valentines dining weekend and it was as good if not better than ever. Delicious food, so delicately and beautifully presented. Intimate, friendly restaurant with a relaxed but attentive staff, who couldn't be more helpful.
Afternoon tea with those beautiful cakes or the lovely warm scones with clotted cream and jam were a melt in the mouth delight. And what can you say about the breakfasts - just beautiful. Poached egg perfection
I was disappointed to read the comments made by 2 people visiting The Hideaway. They have never done lunches there and had changed from a 'Restaurant with rooms' to 'Bed, breakfast and beyond'. It seems a shame that people who have not eaten there, can make comments about this beautiful, much loved place. If only they had checked on the website they would see the dates when they CAN go and enjoy the delights Richard and his team produce. This place definitely has NOT gone.
Just need to persuade my husband to take me to all the dining weekends, one a month isn't too much to ask. Is it?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The Best Dining Experience”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

It is such a shame that this place does not have the restaurant facilities in the evening anymore as it was the best meal I have ever, ever had. Please bring it back!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner to remember!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I took my partner here for an evening meal in December and we were both very glad we came! We picked the hideaway due to the amazing reviews on here, and we were not disappointed! On first entering I was a little worried it was going to be a bit pretentious but those worries were quickly erased by the very friendly staff. The food was top notch, the service first class and the meal was definitely one of the best I've ever eaten. I would agree the atmosphere was a bit lacking in the room we were sat in, which seemed to be an overflow room in comparison to the the main dining room, however the food more than made for that! Look forward to returning next time we visit the lakes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideaway Restaurant also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing