We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner after a long day of traveling to the lakes”
Review of Little Chippy

Little Chippy
Ranked #15 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Take away fish and chip shop.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner after a long day of traveling to the lakes”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stopped at Little Chippy after a long day of travelling to the lakes. While waiting for our fish & chips we had a nice chat with the owners. The fish & chips were great, one of the best we have ever had!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank vanMoorsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    83
    24
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great fish and chops”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

For truly great cod and chips (with salt and vinegar the English way) you cannot go past this place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I am horrified by a number of these reviews!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

How dare anyone try and pull down on of the service assistants just because she is a little on the larger side. I was served by the large lady and I have been served by her numerous times. She is a lovely lady and does an amazing job. Maybe if you weren't so rude and stuck up maybe she wouldn't treat you that way. She is human like the rest of us. You people commenting on stuff like that disgust me. I honestly believe the food is 100% all the time and the service is 100% all the time! Yeah critic the food and the service but not the staff; ask your self would you work full time in a chippy! Idiots.

Helpful?
1 Thank AaronPares2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Used the Chippy 3 times during our stay, very reasonable and very nice food. The food was very hot, you feel it is cooked just for you. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Terryg601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Didn't bother”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Couldn't agree with Alan H more, the lady serving me firstly ignored me whilst carrying on a conversation with the other staff, then after I had given my order, proceeded to serve someone who came in after me without asking me if I minded waiting to be served second. I left without my food and after reading some of the reviews on here, I'm glad I did. And yes, it was a large lady who was serving (or not) that day, this isn't a nasty comment or a pulling down about her weight problem, merely an observation. Won't get much custom with an attitude like she has anyway.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Chippy also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Little Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing