We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location.”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We booked this hotel for three nights, on the spur of the moment.Our intention was to find a base for a tour of some of the lakes.What a nice surprise to find we had been given a good sized room.with a good sized double bed.The bathroom was okay and the towels were nice and thick.The room also had a balcony which had a side view of the lake.
The weather was good enough for us to take drinks out onto the terrace,which has splendid views across the lake,there was plenty of seats even at busy times.
The staff were helpful and polite at all times,and the bar menu had choices for most tastes.
Breakfasts had choice,the full english was well cooked and hot.We would return for another visit.
If i had to give any advice to other visitors it would be always turn left out of the hotel drive if using a car at busy times,the main road is very busy and seeing cars coming around the bend can be a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himandher22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    181
    67
    37
    23
See reviews for
261
492
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I would like to thank Andrew and every single member of staff for making our wedding day absolutely perfect. We got married on the 25th August 2011.

The staff could not do enough, from the cleaners to the manager, they constantly asked if everything was ok. Everything we organised and arranged was where it should be when it should have been.

When you stay at the hotel you can also sign up at reception to receive special offers by email. We did this and will be planning a return trip soon.

If the staff are reading this you may remember that my mum had terminal cancer. She was fantastic on the day of our wedding but deteriorated very quickly afterwards, the night of our wedding was actually the last night she spent anywhere else other than the hospital and she passed away a week later. This hotel holds very special memories for us now and the staff and service we received are included in these. Many thanks xx

Room Tip: Opt for a lake view room if they have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Thompsons321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful few days at the Langdale Chase Hotel. The location is superb. A lovely country house set in beautiful gardens overlooking Lake Windermere. Anyone who does not enjoy this little piece of heaven must be very hard to please indeed. The staff were very friendly as were our fellow guests. The food was fine although the restaurant meals are expensive the bar meals were good and reasonably priced and it was great to have a meal in the conservatory overlooking the lake.
Our room was large and overlooked Lake Windermere and also had a separate sitting room area. The en suite had both a walk in shower and a bath.
We had fantastic weather and our stay at Langdale Chase was relaxing and enjoyable that we did not want to leave.
It is an old property with no lift and could do with some tlc but these are very minor issues compared to all the plus points this hotel has to offer.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: It is a must to have a lake view room. The whole point of staying at this hotel is the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Superb location, brilliant staff and a wonderful hotel all round. A few small gripes but if you are aware of the issues you will find this one of the best hotels in the world - (1) the restuarant food is fine but maybe a little too rich for more than a couple of nights, however they have an excellent bar menu so I would only book B&B next time and have the choice. (2) WiFi very weak and only in the lounge/Hall - maybe this is a good thing as you shouldnt be doing business at this sort of hotel (3) the pillows are dispointingly thin and uncomfortable - bring your own - this is strange as the beds are extremely comfortable.
All that said this hotel is made by the attitude of the staff, nothing is too much trouble, they are all friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Clearly a great management team.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had an excellent afternoon tea at Langdale Chase with scrumptious sandwiches and cakes. My husband had a fantastic ploughman's lunch which included homemade bread, apple, chutney grapes, etc. Service was excellent. There are beautiful views from the dining conservatory from the hotel gardens to Lake Windermere and the Langdales which made it an extremely pleasant place to relax and have lunch.
We then walked through the gardens to the lakeside where the views are indeed stunning and fully live up to the reputation of a hotel with the best views.
This is our second visit for afternoon tea and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emberton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We got married here a year ago and what an amazing place it is. I have the most beautiful memories of my special day spent here which I will treasure always.
We looked at a lot of places but nowhere compares on location,service and food.
We were looked after by Andrew from start to finish, His staff were a great help and very professional thoughout our dealings with them.
The day went like clockwork, food was brilliant and being able to have photos done in the grounds produced some lovely pictures.
Looking forward to getting back for a stay soon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My daughter and her now husband fell in love with Langdale Chase the moment they walked into the Baronial Hall.We had looked at many venues for their wedding but this stands out from the crowd. If,for whatever reason,you choose not to have a church wedding,then this has to be THE best venue alternative. I will always remember watching my beautiful daughter descend the lovely staircase for the ceremony. A stunning,atmospheric room for such a special occassion. I could go on and on ..drinks and canapes on the terrace overlooking the lake... boat trip from their own jetty... dining room with stunning views..what more could you want.
From the outset nothing was ever too much trouble for Andrew and the staff, (and I was a fuss pot !)We visited again and again on the run up to the big day and were always welcomed with help and advice. On the day itself everything was as we had planned and more.Our visiting guests were bowled over by the location and ,despite some rain, many pronounced that it had been the best wedding they had ever attended,commenting on excellent food,friendly and helpful staff and of course unique surroundings.We took exclusive use of the entire place so it felt like a huge house party - just perfect,definately the way to do it.
Take no notice of recorded negative reviews,yes it has to be said that the bedrooms in the main building may be more traditional in style in comparison to some hotels,but what they may lack in that department is made up by individuality, character ,size (they are HUGE) and ,bar a couple of the standard rooms,THE most amazing views across the lake to the fells.Basically,if you prefer a building where the heart has been ripped out by over modernisation and turned into a stereotype contemporary hotel then maybe this isnt the one for you , but that would be your loss.

Room Tip: Take your pick of Superior Deluxe rooms as each is special in different ways.Lake House if you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridesmum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing