We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel to stay, but not dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Langdale Hotel with my partner for two nights for a friends wedding. The room was lovely - spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was immaculately clean and had a gorgeous roll top bath. There were also a great patio area that we could sit out on and enjoy the fabulous views across the lake. The breakfast was also very good.

However, the only downside for me was that, although the hotel purports itself to be dog-friendly, it isn't really. I had considered taking my dog with me but because there wasn't going to be much opportunity to walk him I instead took him to my parents. On arrival at the hotel I was really glad that I had made this choice. The welcome book in the room starts off in the usual fashion, welcoming guests to the hotel, but then the tone quickly changes and the message is clear that dogs aren't actually welcome anywhere at the hotel apart from the designated dog exercise area. After walking around the lovely grounds (and noticing 'no dogs allowed' signs at frequent intervals) I came across the exercise area and can only say that I was staggered at how inadequate it was. It was in a dark, damp corner, next to the busy main road and was unkempt and hillocky. It was fully fenced, but not particularly high. It certainly wasn't an area that you could have walked around, more stood in the gateway whilst your dog sniffed about. I thought it was really sad that this was all that was offered and I definitely would not recommend this hotel if you do wish to stay with your dog.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the Lake House - good sized rooms and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bizzle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

In response to Bizzle C

I am so pleased that the guests enjoyed the stay at the hotel, however I feel the comments regarding being dog friendly unjustified.

We are a pet friendly hotel, and we offer a warm welcome to our four legged friends. We have had to put in place certain guidelines for guests with their dogs to adhere to, due to the simple fact some pet owners are extremely irresponsible and allow their pets to run wild through our beautiful gardens ruining all the hard work from our dedicated gardening team. We spend a lot of money annually maintaining our award winning gardens and a certain minority were ruining it for other very responsible pet owners. It is for this reason we introduced these restrictions. However when we decided to introduce these restrictions we thought long and hard about what we were going to do, so we then decided to design a exercise pen in a part of our beautiful part of our gardens. To say it is unkempt and hillocky is extremely unfair, we chose this area of the hotel for the reason, that there are little hills in there, so dogs could get plenty of exercise, and I truly feel the area we have set aside is bigger than a lot of hotels grounds. Until last year we had our hotel dog, who was regularly exercised in there and used to love running around all day in the dog pen.

In conclusion to this comment, we are a dog friendly hotel and will always offer a warm welcome to the hotel our four legged friends.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have just had a 2 night break away in this lovely place.We last stayed here 10 years ago.The hotel is full of character and warm and cosy.There are lovely open fires and the staff are very welcoming.We had a deluxe room with a lake view and one of the largest bathrooms I have ever been in.Some of the furniture could be upgraded I suppose if I was to nit-pick but the place was spotless and there were lovely thick towels.The food was of an extremely high standard and beautifully served .To eat in the restaurant was a delight and breakfast with the view is something else.No wonder it is popular as a wedding venue.We were very lucky in that the weather was just superb!

Room Tip: There are newly refurbished rooms in the Lake House with private parking and all on one level for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywalkerstockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Alex and I married at the Langdale Chase on 21st Oct 2011 and we cannot thank, Claire, Tom, Andrew and the team enough for their attention to detail, professionalism and friendliness! Andrew even phoned us from his holiday in the USA to wish us luck. As locals Alex and I have had many a Sunday lunch or evening meal at the Landgale Chase and have been overwhelmed by the quality of the food each time and the standard of service.
For a wedding the location is amazing and the suite (or turret as I like to call it) was perfect for me to get ready in and also for our wedding night! The cermonial hall is breath taking and adds an extra something special to the day!
Each guest who stayed was delighted with their room and the service they recieved and discussed the excellent value for money. All of whom would not hesitate in staying again and have promised if they do they will invite us to join them for dinner! Yum!
We highly recommend this wonderful hotel for whatever the occassion and will continue to frequent it.
Thanks a million to all the staff who made our day so special and memorable
Bridget & Alex xxx

Room Tip: Got to be the turret!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at the Langdale chase in November 2010 for our wedding. The hotel and location are stunning. Staff are nice and do the job. Food is good, it's not cheap but if you want cheap then travel lodge is your best bet. This hotel is full of chrlaracter and style, perfect for weddings or a weekend away.

Thanks to The Geordie lady (sorry cant remember her name!)that did our wedding planning!

Keep up the good work guys

Mr & Mrs Hibbert

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClintandElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We would just like to say a huge thanks to Ben/Andrew and the rest of the staff at the Langdale Chase Hotel. We got married here on the 15th October after only 3 months of planning, that aside in the short space of time we had to plan everything the hotel couldn't have been more helpful, From advicing us about how to plan our day, right down to the music and room organising they were there. The hotel is beautiful with one of the most stunning views in Cumbria and the grounds are kept imaculate and are equally as great. All the staff were so helpful and very polite, the food was wonderful with many compliments passed onto the chef during our meal. Would definatly recommend, we will certainly be going again for our anniversary. Zoe & Ash - Lincolnshire

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcany's are well worth going for especially if your lucky with the weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

After recently holding our wedding at the Langdale Chase Hotel we really must say a big 'thank you' to Andrew and all of his staff. Everyone was so friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for anyone.
Andrew's organised approach and attention to detail ensured we had a hassle free wedding day. The food, rooms, location and service were first class.
Our guests all commented on what a wonderful place we had chosen and most of them are planning to return in the near future.

Room Tip: For traditional rooms book the main hotel and the Lake House annexe for contemporary rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just returned from the Langdale Chase having spent three nights there. We attended a wedding there and decided to stay for longer than the one night on offer. The staff were very good -nothing was a problem to them.Our room was on the ground floor with a fabulous view of the lake and gardens. It was large and very comfortable with a huge bath and bathroom. All of the guests seemed to ve very satisfied with their rooms which were all very different. Extra bedding was provided because the weather was colder than anticipated. The food at the wedding was really good and breakfast was served freshly each day.We will definitely return there to stay when we visit the Lake District.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryIsabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £91 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing