We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night break in the lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

just got back from three night break at the langdale chase .have had a great time in this hotel can not think of anything bad to say about this hotel .are room was fantastic it was more like apartment with sitting room and seperate bedroom and large bathroom .the staff was very friendly food great location a dream .we have stayed in some really nice 5star hotels and can not understand who ever rated this hotel why it is only 3star in our oppinion it should be 5star our room was 27 and would reccommend it thankyou for a great stay and will be back as soon as we get a chance

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelryan1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

We just had the most amazing holiday ever at the Langdale Chase hotel... the staff over there are so welcoming and warm... they keep all their guests at heart and make sure that every single guest is happy. All the staff from the general manager Andrew to all the waiters/ waitressess, receptionists and all are simply amazing... they are one big family... We had the a great time during the new years eve dinner and brunch the day after... the food is simply amazing.... the hotel is also very clean and was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season....the Chase gardens are beautiful and take you directly to Lake Windermere... a big thank you to Mr.Thomas Noblett and his wife Claire for making our stay at the hotel an unforgettable one... You will surely see us again....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stf261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here for a wedding and had a nice time; it is in a tremendous location with its own frontage onto the lake.

Couple of things let it down slightly; service was a bit fawlty towers at times but i think we hit at as new staff started, and for some reason the breakfast room had loud local commercial radio playing each day we stayed. The room has amazing views over the gardens and lake but it was difficult to talk to friends it was so loud. The nice lady turned it down when asked, only for a colleague to turn it up again. Twice. Shame.

Still, nice place for a break if you can get a good room rate. Rooms were simple and ours had a great bath in it; other friends had some amazing views and balconies.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalPlumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Menu vague about what accompanies main course - eg. veg, potatoes, etc. The waiter gave no advice and allowed us to order a pie with no accompaniment! Thanks for that. So if you then order veg, by the time it arrives the pie would be cold.(the waiter told me this after speaking to the chef). The steak pie is without doubt the worst steak pie I have ever tasted.
The prices for bar food are far too high especially for the standard they provide.
The waiter in the conservatory where we ate had a bad attitude and when we paid at the bar the bar staff did not ask if we enjoyed our meal. If he had - I would have told him - NO.
Think perhaps after their recent TV appearances they think that will be enough to attract custom, and they are probably correct, that is why we went, it was on my list of places to go as we had never been to the Lake District before. The TV programme made it look fabulous with a real friendly atmosphere. However the beautiful views are not enough to tempt me back, there are too many other hotels and eateries in the area.
Just left thinking - I won't be back and will warn my fellow trip advisor's not to waste their money.
So very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank HolidayHotspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

's a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds. The breakfast was lovely. The rooms was spacious and clean. We had a lovely view of lake windermere from our room. The room was warm when we arrived, but did feel a bit cold in the night but there was extra blankets in the wardrobe..Would stay again..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 870Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We first visited the hotel for a friend's birthday celebration and we were so impressed we booked it for our wedding anniversary. The location is wonderful, the meal for the 30 guests was delicious and excellent value for money, with a good choice of dishes on the menu. Our lunchtime celebration lasted well into the evening and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.
The two of us stayed on for the rest of the week in a comfortable room with such beautiful views over the lake. Just walking round the gardens was a real pleasure. The hotel lived up to expectations for the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: Most have views over Lake Windermere. We were in a separate building with rooms with balconies overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We haven't stayed overnight at Langdale, but after passing it many a time and seeing it on TV, we decided to give it a go for lunch. I regret to say that we won't be rushing back. Reception was cold and you could see the untidy office behind the desk. It seemed tired and in need of an uplift. We sat in the conservatory overlooking the lake...chairs and floor was grubby although the views are beautiful. Food ok but nothing special. My millionaire's shortcake was served on a glass, scratched plate ...the cake was rock hard and I felt uncomfortable trying to cut it up in case it was to fly across the room and take someones eye out! My husband said it looked like something the dog had chewed. The toilets were freezing and at one point we heard the two waitresses chatting...one of them saying the F word! This is not the review I wanted to give this hotel...I so wanted to love it and it to exceed my expectations but sadly it didn't. On TV I think the family that run it are lovely, especially with the charity work that is done but I feel they need to cast a closer eye over the running of the hotel. Sorry!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MrsB360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

In response to MrsB360

After reading this review, I feel this review is very unfair. To say Reception is cold and untidy is an extremely unfair statement to make, we have the heating on all day and night to keep the hotel warm and inviting however the main door of the hotel is in constant use and in these cold days we are having heat is always likely to escape, which means keeping the main reception warm is often a difficult task, The comment regarding the chairs being grubby has left me somewhat flabbergasted as we have only just completed a full refurbishment of the conservatory and bar, replacing all furniture, sparing no expense and providing the best furnishings available.

With regards to the Millionaires Shortcake, we make this in a baking tray and it is then removed from the tray and divided into portions, to say it had been chewed by the dog is very unfair. It is inevitable that if it is made in a baking tray when it comes to cutting it, the likelihood is that the chocolate on top may crack; it has left our pastry chef who has been making it to this recipe for 18 years, completely bemused and quite saddened. She is dedicated to her job and is getting constant praise from many guests regarding her recipe to the Millionaires shortcake.

Our staff, who are all highly trained and have attended many training courses which specialise in the art of fine guest service, have been left horrified by the accusations that the “F” word was used in the guests proximity.

I am so sorry the visit did not live up to this persons expectations, both myself and my dedicated team set our standards extremely high and are very proud of the product we deliver.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,788 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £83 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing