We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An entirely gluten free wedding banquet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“An entirely gluten free wedding banquet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I had my wedding reception here and stayed on for a short 3 day honeymoon. The staff were exceptional in their politeness and care. In particular for accommodating my needs as a coeliac and needing an entirely gluten free menu for the reception and all my subsequent meals. I met with the head chef ahead of time to plan out the menu and he was well informed about the seriousness of coeliac disease and took all my concerns to heart. The food he made was so brilliant that none of my guests realized they'd all eaten an entirely gluten free meal and I didn't feel like the odd one out by needing a 'special diet', for the first time in my life.

We stayed in the newer annex, which has a more modern feel than the rooms in the main hotel. Although our older relatives said they preferred the old world charms of the older rooms. The only downside was coming back early to find the cleaning staff washing up our cups in the bathtub! However a quick visit to reception soon sorted this out and we were provided with clean cups fresh from the kitchen.

The reception area was warm and welcoming when we stayed and always had a huge vase of white lillies, the air was perfumed with their scent. The reception staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.
We stayed in Nov 2009, just before the floods hit and had the place almost to ourselves for most of that time. Wonderful memories and highly recommended to others for a wedding reception and/or honeymoon.

Room Tip: If you want a modern state of the art bathroom, book a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    181
    65
    36
    23
See reviews for
261
489
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Like others I am sure having seen this hotel on the box I already felt I knew it intimately. We booked a short break and to also use the restaurant.

Very nice staff, helpful and pleasant.

We were initially disappointed with the provided room, the huge picture widow had undoubtably one of the best views of any hotel in the uk but the room standard was not great. We were offered two other rooms which were much bigger and better quality.

The hotel is full of old world charm with bags of character. The restaurant is big with massive windows to enjoy the view, we stayed for Sunday Lunch - the food quality was adequate, the roast being quite disappointing.

As a wedding venue I can see this being amazing and I can see this is where they focus.

For others enjoying the area for walking etc - again great as the focus is on location, location, location.

For us though, a room makeover and more attention in the kitchen would be needed to surpass other hotels in area such as Storrs Hall etc of similar price.....

All in all lovely place, average room (at least the 3 we saw), average commercial hotel food......

Nice but could do better...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandS_Abergele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had our wedding day at Langdale chase on the 2nd January 2012. It was the most wonderful day of our lives.
Every single member of staff treated me like a princess, nothing was too much, the groom was spoiled and looked after as were the whole wedding party.
As soon as we viewed the hotel and met Andrew we knew there was no doubt it was the wedding venue for us and booked it immediately.
We couldnt give more of a recommendation, it was absolutely perfect. We had soup, roast turkey dinner and sticky toffee pudding for our meal and believe me it was superb!!! cant wait to go back to eat it again.
Thankyou to all the staff we will be back soon.
Sharon and mark xx

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed at the Langdale Chase Hotel from the 20th Januery to the 22nd January 2012. Booked the hotel through a web booking agent for the previous weekend, the hotel rang to say that we should not have been able to book as the hotel was being used for a wedding.
Hotel upgraded our room and reduced our bill by £80.00. The view from the room was stunning, could not fault the offer from the very helpful lady who took my booking.
Dined in the hotel on Friday night, expensive but the food was exellent.
Breakfast was exellent, selected from an extensive menu and seved at the table (not buffet). All the staff were exellent and very helpful, enjoyed the hotel gardens as well, you can walk down to the lake edge and enjoy looking straight into the Langdale Pikes, beautiful.
Would love to stay again

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor for the best views, Room 26 has windows to the front and side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed in this beautiful inn many years ago--it was summertime, the temperature in London was well over 100 degrees but in the Lake District it was in the low 80's, no rain and perfect walking weather. This hotel is truly another time and place: drinks in the evening before dinner and then a communal sitting in a dining room overlooking the lake, followed by coffee and aperitifs in the library. There is--or was--a grass tennis court, and a cutting garden which kept the hotel in massive bouquets of flowers in every public space. Our room looked out over the tennis court and onto the lake. There is also a private room that sits atop the boathouse and I recommended it to my friends for their honeymoon but that particular room is always in great demand. You owe it to yourself, if you are in the Lake District to stay in this gem--you will never regret or forget it. BTW I stayed there well before 2/11 but this site will not allow one to go further back or leave the date blank.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruby445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walney Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for a short break, room very nice, bathroom clean and modern. Meals brilliant as was the service. Hotel very atmospheric and garden walks a delight even in winter.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walney-Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here for a wedding this weekend (14.01.12) and it really was the perfect venue.
We took over the hotel so the partying went on as long as we did!
Food was delicious, staff accommodating, rooms spacious, location superb.
We were in the Lakehouse which was really nice. If i wanted to be a real pain i'd say we had an issue with the sink blocking and the towel rail was on all the time which made the room overly warm. But that's being pedantic; I actually don't understand why this is only a 3 star hotel.
We'd certainly come back for a visit just the 2 of us.
Highlights - pork crackling at the evening buffet and the adorable house cat!

Room Tip: The Lakehouse is away from the main hotel, which is great for some peace and quiet. Although if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlhardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing