We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Wedding Day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Wedding Day!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We first saw Langdale Chase Hotel from the lake and loved it from then on. We looked at a few venues around the area but Langdale Chase sold itself with the stunning views, magnificent building and endless character. We met with Andrew who managed our wedding booking and made the day run smoothly with the help of his fantastic staff team. No question was too small for them to answer politely and efficiently during the run up to the day.

We had just a small wedding with 35 people so dined in the Oak Room which was a perfect size and very in keeping with the character of the hotel. The meal was amazing, I've never seen sirloin of beef looking and tasting so good and all the other meals were equally as fantastic. Service was impeccable and the staff really made you feel like one of a big family whilst staying 100% professional making the whole wedding experience really personal.

We stayed overnight in the Boathouse which, as you would probably guess, it right on the bank of Windermere. When you are in the room you are tucked away and all you can see is the views of the lake - you wouldn't even know the hotel was there. Quirky and perfect if you want to get away from everything.

I would highly recommend Langdale Chase for anyone thinking of getting married near Windermere and photo opportunities are endless whatever the weather. Thank you so much to all the staff in the hotel, I can't express how proud we were of you all. Everyone loved it.

One last point is to mention the souvenir booklets on sale at the reception which tell you all about the history of Langdale Chase and are a perfect keepsake for close family or for your own memory box.

Room Tip: Several rooms have balconies and majority have a view of the lake, ask reception as they will be hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    181
    67
    37
    23
See reviews for
261
492
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

What an amazing Hotel, with the extra bonus of the stunning views over Lake Windermere. We were warmly welcomed and stayed in The Lake House. We have nothing but praise for Andrew and his team, who went the extra mile to make our visit so special. The Hotel and Grounds are kept immaculate. The food in the Restaurant was equal to a 4* plus Hotel. We loved our whole experience at The Langdale Chase Hotel and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our first time visit to Lake District and the Langdale Chase Hotel.
The Main Hotel is a wonderful building, as soon as you enter, you are made to feel special,and treated royally.

We can only praise the managemen and staff, being very helpful & catering for your every need.

The food fantastic.

The grounds and the lake are truely spectactular.

We will be back to the Langdale Chase soon .

Room Tip: Room 85 in Lake House, you wont be disappointed, quiet twin aspect room well appointed, with en-suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stunning position, Most welcoming hotel in England! Three generations enjoyed this weekend.
Not in the least bit stuffy, and the staff could not have been more helpful. The food was exceptional, - in fact not one complaint from any of our 30 party. We loved the roaring fires, and the scones are definitely the best we have ever eaten!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Got married at the Langdale Chase in February....we did't actually stay at the hotel as we were having a family only wedding and stayed in a cottage nearby, but the staff, service and food were fantastic. The hotel and grounds are just beautiful, we cannot wait to see our photo's. We will definately be celebrating our first wedding anniversery here. Thanks to all for such a wonderful day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We booked seven rooms for all the family to celebrate a birthday. There were mixed generations - very young children to grandparents. The rooms were all individual, in keeping with the hotel some were creaky and old, but given the age of the building that's what we expected, the little windy stairs were a great challenge later on in the evening.

They put us in a private dining room so that the children could move around freely. There were still complaints from other residents though when the children escaped on one accasion to go to the toilet and ended up briefly in the lounge.

They are dog friendly and the children loved the resident cat. The view over the lake is stunning.All the food was good, the breakfast was simple but everything you would want.

The only niggle given that we all ate and ordered plenty of drinks and wine from the hotel over the whole weekend was we felt the £5 charge to get an ice bucket (given all we spent!) left a bit of a sour taste! We'd had the roof leak in the first night and told them we were ok to stay in the room as long as they fixed it - which they did, but no free ice in sight.

The grounds are lovely and the staff helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms with a lake view are stunning. All the rooms we had were very individual. Take your own to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

you have to visit to see its glory,fantastic gardens to walk around,then just go back in for afternoon lunch & tea .the food is great,staff are very friendly,the relax in a lake view room which are very clean and tidy and just look at the stunning views across the lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing