We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daughter's Wedding 19/05/12”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Daughter's Wedding 19/05/12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The whole weekend was perfect. The moment we arrived on the Friday the staff just took over and made the whole weekend enjoyable. The hotel is lovely and all the rooms had stunning views. All the staff were very helpful nothing was to much trouble, the food was excellent and all out guests commented on the food and the venue. Langdale Chase is highly recommend for a weekend break, wedding or even just a luch/dinner. Would visit this venue again. Once agai I would like to thank all the staff for making it a perfect weekend for all os us. Ann

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    180
    65
    36
    23
See reviews for
260
488
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I had our wedding at Langdale Chase last weekend....it could not have been made any more perfect. The venue was absolutley stunning, and was extremely clean. The weather was grey and dull but we didn't hardly notice because of the amount of different colours coming from the beautiful gardens.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful all the time, especially Ben the wedding co-ordinator and restaurant manager Albert. They couldn't do enough for us and made us feel so welcome. All our guests also commented on the beauty of Langdale Chase and how the food was such a high quality and tasted amazing.

All our thanks to the Staff at Langdale Chase...would highly recommend as a wedding venue/a day visit and a weekend away!!!

Sami & Matt

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and have a lovely view...but lake views are the best and the rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sami g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
581 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were attracted by the promise of enjoying a lakeside view during our evening meal, and this did not disappoint: the view from the conservatory is stunning. That was just as well as the service was so slow that all guests were chuntering and the staff were ill trained to cope - the manager was notable by his absence when an early warning and apology for being stretched in the kitchen, by a 'small wedding' party, would have taken the heat out of the situation. As it was we waited over 50 minutes for easy to prepare dishes, which were only average fare when they arrived. We felt especially sorry for two other guests who abandoned plans to eat in the main restaurant and who were still waiting to place an order for a bar meal when we left, over an hour after their arrival in the bar!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
In response to Malcsaville

Here at the Langdale Chase Hotel we have a strong team of Management who have all been trained to the highest level, including Michelin star standard, and we train our staff to similar standards and they all undergo vigorous training and tests during their recruitment and training programme.

All of our food is individually prepared and we use only the finest ingredients in our kitchen, our Head Chef is backed up by a highly dedicated team who have been working together for over 10 years now.

With such fresh ingredients in use, and all meals are individually prepared, obviously a slight delay may occur especially at peak times, and with a wedding sitting down at a time when the restaurant is also open for service along with bar meals which are available all day, meant we had a slight backlog in the kitchen, but to say a delay of 50 minutes was had, I feel is exaggerated as the Duty Manager would simply not allow a delay of that kind to happen and in communicating with the kitchen and Head Chef who was also on duty would have been picked up on and rectified imediately.

With the comments regarding the other 2 guests who abandoned plans to eat in the restaurant, this was entirely their choice not to eat in the restaurant, and it was also their choice to delay ordering their food as I personally have done a lot of investigating into the night in question and I have been assured that they wanted to eat later on rather than earlier, so they could enjoy the ambience and a drink first, which again is their choice and I feel it is unfair to include them in your comments.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Me and my Girlfriend chose to get married at your hotel and we are so glad that we did. We had a amazing day with all of our family. The views and grounds were a massive reason for coming to you and it did not disappoint. The staff were extremely helpful and made the day run very smoothly.

We stayed in the Boathouse, and I cannot understand some of the negative comments on trip adviser about this room. The views were please to wake up to, there were absolutely no problems with condensation and damp in the room. It is very unique to have the room above the lake and we will back again.

Over all it was everything we expected and more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smasoncw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
In response to Smasoncw

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Wedding day with us and both myself and Ben are delighted it was everything you expected and more.

The Boathouse is truly a unique room and indeed is one of my most favourite rooms in the Hotel. To have a bedroom situated on the largest Lake in England, I feel we are extremely fortunate and it is the perfect way to spend your wedding night.

The Langdale Chase team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Room a good size but only because it was a slow night and we were upgraded to a ‘superiour’ room. Superiour in the sense of size but not of facilities. Very expensive for what it is. However the location is excellent which is what you are paying for I guess. We did Dinner B&B – the dinner was very tasty – we had the mussels and the duck – nicely cooked and served. The breakfast was also very tasty but very skimpy. When you order just eggs and sausages you expect to get a couple of each but the plate consisted of one small poached egg and one very small sausage – very skimpy. My partner had the poached eggs and bacon and again only one egg and two pieces of bacon. It must have been embarrassing for the person serving them to set down such an empty plate. This place is certainly not value for money however service was excellent. The other plus was they at least supplied ‘free’ WiFi which is always handy. Small things should matter to a large hotel like this – charging for a newspaper falls under the ‘cheap’ category. The extras in the room should include proper soap and shampoo, robes and disposable slippers. A small additional cost to add some pluses to this overpriced hotel. Would also suggest music in the lounge for after dinner – it was so quite even people trying to whisper seemed loud.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beach1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night with family. Absolutely fantastic location on the edge of Windermere.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stejamhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Lets get the negatives out of the way First; - Maintenance in the room we had (8) was average. Grouting and filler in the bathroom had been done by very poorly and paint was peeling from the bottom of the bathroom door. Heating was full on in the communal areas and corridors - many guests mentioned this. Very hot, and a total waste of energy. The bar is tiny with only 2 staff, when it's busy, you're going to be thirsty.
Positives - the staff were really nice and polite, from reception to the domestic staff, all were lovely. The grounds - amazing. The view, especially from our room (8) absolutely priceless. However, as stated in the title, had it not been for this view, I would have scored this hotel a 1 or 2 at best. A shame really, as it could so easily be a 4 or 5 with a little extra attention to detail.

Room Tip: make sure it's looking at the lake, you won't be that bothered about the average room then
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thurcroftbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
In response to Thurcroft Biker

Firstly let me apologise for the paint peeling from the bottom of the bathroom door, this was something which happened from a previous guest in the room spilling something in the bathroom and it having an effect on the paint causing it to strip, and although it was brought to our attention by our dedicated team of housekeepers unfortunately with the room being let for a number of days in a row we had to wait until a convenient time to repaint the door, as I would not let a room out to a guest which smells of paint, which I can assure you the door has been painted. With regards to the grouting, this has also been rectified as again we were waiting for a convenient time to complete the necessary works.

With regards to the heating, we naturally want every guest to be relaxed and comfortable, and indeed enjoy the fantastic views without the need for extra layers and indeed we do not think it is a waste of energy for guests to be warm and relaxed as there is nothing worse in my opinion as being cold whilst sitting, and even with the very expensive energy prices at the moment we do not let this deter us from the service we strive to deliver.

In conclusion to this review, all the problems have now been rectified and I am so pleased you found the staff really nice, polite and professional and enjoyed the priceless views.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing