We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got it right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    181
    67
    39
    23
See reviews for
265
493
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had our wedding at Langdale Chase over the weekend of the 7th April 2012 and just quite simply from our arrival on the Friday to when we left on the Sunday had a perfect faultless weekend!
Mark and I both wanted to say a huge thank you to you and all of the staff at Langdale Chase for making our wedding day so perfect. We had the most fantastic day and enjoyed every minute of it. Our day was without doubt what we had hoped for and much more. We have so many happy memories of our wedding and will remember it always.

Many of our friends and family have also commented on the hotel, friendly staff and beautiful surroundings that made the day so special for everyone there. Many have said that they will definitely return to the hotel themselves as they had such a lovely time.
Our wedding pictures came out better than we could have ever hoped!

Langdale Chase is certainly a credit to Andrew, the manager, who nothing whatsoever is a problem to, which included putting both of us at ease the morning of our wedding and having everything organised and explained perfectly. We knew straight away we were in good hands with Andrew and all of the staff who made our day so wonderful.
We would not hesitate in recommending the hotel to anyone getting married as a perfect wedding location and a place where they will have a truly magical day.

Once again, thank you so much and can you pass on our thanks to all of your team. We look forward to returning to the Langdale Chase in the future as it has now become such a special place for us.


Sarah & Mark (married on 7th April 2012)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your big day with us in April. To read such wonderful comments are always a delight and makes all of the hard work that both myself and my team put in seem worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We dined at Langdale Chase's restaurant on 26th June 2012 with family who were visiting from Cape Town. This is the hotel where we got married in 2009 and we wanted to show it off! We wanted everything to be perfect for our overseas visitors and it was. Exquisite food, beautifully presented and professionally served - what a treat. And as always - that breathtaking view of Windermere and the hotel's impressive gardens.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own features but try and get a lake view as it's one of the best views in E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments regarding your lunch at the hotel. Our lake view restaurant serves only the finest local produce delivered by a team of great chefs led by Daniel Hopkins who has been heading the kitchen team for 10 years now. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for a night in room 85 in the lakehouse on Wednesday 4th July. The appearance of the building was breathtaking as we drove in, having aspired to stay here for some years we were so happy to see that the house and gardens are looking in immaculate shape.

Upon checkin we were greeted by a very friendly gent called Jay. He was polite and attentive, describing the location and room to us and even allowing us a look at other rooms in the main building as we were curious and wanted to see them. It seemed nothing was too much trouble and he immediatly responded to our request with great enthusiasm.

The house itself is wonderful with a great feeling of grandure as you explore the rooms and balconies. All staff were pleasent and greeted us on sight in a friendly and genuine manner.

We loved our room. It was in the newish lakehouse building and had a good sized balcony with seating and a table. The room was huge and has a very comfy bed and large flatscreen TV, there was a nice antique looking full length mirror and wardrobe that complimented the modern feel with the unique location and gave a feel of connection to the main house. The bathroom was very nice with walk in shower and a self standing bath. The water was warm when we needed it.

We ate in the bar in the evening and both had sirloin steak. The quality of the food was top notch and the peppercorn sauce was lovely. The roulade for dessert was hands down the best thing I have ever eaten. The only meal I have had that could have equaled its taste and quality was at the Daffodil restaurant in Cheltenham.The cost of the meal at the Langdale Chase was very cheap for the area. We ate at Wainwrights pub in Chapel Stile later in the week and the cost there was far higher for simple food that was nowhere near the same league as the Langdale. To that point the drinks were cheaper in the Langdale too.

We had our coffees on the terrace and watched the sun set over the Langdale pikes. The view was extraordinary. Down in the gardens two fawns were playing - it was superb.

The room was comfortable to stay in and smelled clean and fresh. The standard of clenliness was perfect and there was pleanty of well presented information for us to look through.

Overall we were delighted with our stay and would like to thank the staff of the Langdale Chase. We really hope to be able to visit again when we can manage it.

James and Lisa

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hawkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I was so pleased to read your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. The Lakehouse has just celebrated its 4th Birthday and still looks as good as the day it first opened, with fabulous under floor heating, full wet rooms in the bathrooms with roll top baths and finished with only the finest furnishings. It has a great terrace which offers stunning views onto Windermere. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had afternoon tea today for my mams' 84th birthday, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic and most of all the sun shone and we were able to sit on the terrace and enjoy the wonderful views of the lake and the mountains, all in all a lovely afternoon.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I read with great pleasure your favourable comments regarding your afternoon tea to celebrate your Mam’s 84th Birthday. I am so pleased you got to sit outside and enjoy the fabulous views whilst enjoying our afternoon tea prepared by our Pastry Chef Joanna who has been with us for 15 years making her delicious homemade scones, fruitcake, ginger parkin and chocolate éclairs. Please come back soon to enjoy afternoon tea on our Terrace.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

As I pulled up at the hotel the first thing I thought was wow this is beautiful, as I went in to the hotel the staff were lovely and very friendly and we were greeted straight away and shown to our room. The room itself was incredible so large a lovely big bed and a separate area to sit. I had food from the bar menu which was beautiful, I used the hotels own bar on the evening and the staff again were friendly and welcoming and had a chat it made the experience at the hotel unbeatable. The hotels is not just somewhere to stay its an experience and one I will definitely go back to. The hotel staff were unbeatable in the friendly nature and the service they offered and that's what made the visit. I had breakfast at the langdale chase and the choice was fantastic and delivered quickly staff were very attentive and nothing was too much for them.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as the service, food and staff are all fantastic and make the stay a great experience and when coupled with views across the lake there is nothing that could be improved!!

Room Tip: My room was numer 23 and I found it to be fantastic very quiet and even though positioned at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend and have had an amazing time. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and we were made to feel like the most important people in the world. The room was amazing with a beautiful four poster bed a separate tv room and a gorgeous bathroom. The shower was perfect and the complimentary toiletries were lovely. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the bedding was superior quality. The hotel itself is full of fantastic furniture and has a vast history which is explained by the owners in great detail. The view over the lake is breathtaking even on a cloudy day and the grounds, which lead to the waters edge, are beautiful and a joy to walk around. This is a hotel that is well worth visiting and it will be a place you will want to return to. The food was excellent and again the service was superior with a great menu. There is free wi-fi in certain areas of the hotel and the signal is strong in these areas. Over all a fantastic weekend in a beautiful location in a hotel that is amazing with fantastic staff led by a couple who have excellent communication and people skills making you feel special. Thank you all so much

Room Tip: We went with friends who had rooms in different areas of the hotel and all rooms were of an excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing