We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdale Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

We stayed in The Langdale Chase hotel (room 3) for 2 nights and loved it. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is amazing and the views are second to none. Our room had 2 balcony’s and looked directly over the immaculate gardens & Lake Windermere (see photos). For meals you have the option of the restaurant or a bar meals menu and also have the option to sit in any of the beautiful reception rooms (most have log fires) to eat. The hotel is on the shore of Windemere and the walk to the lake is maintained to the highest standard as are the gardens surrounding the hotel. We found the entire experience one to be definitely repeated and hope to get back as soon as possible. Definitely recommended!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    177
    64
    36
    23
See reviews for
259
484
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

We stopped at Langdale Chase Hotel, Windermere on Saturday 1st March as a last minute weekend getaway.

The hotel was very grand, and has amazing gardens. Check in/out was very easy and the staff were very helpful, and breakfast was very good and service was quick.

We were offered a room in the Garden Bungalow, over looking the lake, the room we had was B1, out the main bedroom window were views of the lake (Through tree’s) – To the right was a building site, where the hotel seems to be expanding – although we did not see or hear any building – it did not look very nice.

Our room had some major concerns, although these were not reported to reception as we did not want the effort of changing rooms, and we only had the room for one night and were out till late, and then up and out first thing in the morning.
1. The room looked dated – We referenced it as the ‘Granny Flat’
2. The bed looked old and looked like it needed to be replaced – The headboard had strange stains on, and the top sheets were ripped.
3. There was strange stains on the chairs in the room – See Pictures
4. One of the bed side lamps needed some electrical attention – When you moved the wire it went on and off – and when you flicked the in line switch it was 50/50 as to if it would turn the light on or off – or spark – This was a good talking point in the pub – Magical lamp.
5. It looked like there had been some leakage on the roof – and these had been patched up – so there were area’s of nice new paint, and area’s of old paint – and the other give away of the sagged roof.
6. The exterior door did not have a very sturdy lock – it had a small latch style lock that you would use on a bed side cabinet – did not look very secure, so was a big of a worry leaving laptop and luggage in there when we went out for the evening. – See Pictures
7. The TV was very old, and the picture quality was very poor.
8. The bathroom had some broken tiles on the floor – these could do with being fixed.
9. No shower in the bathroom.
Regards
Stephen

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TNoblett, Managing Director at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2008
In response to the review posted 3rd March, the Lakeland bungalows have magnificent lake views as we are right on the lake side. Unlike some other hotels claiming lake view who are actually a mile away. It is unfortunate that the guest did not use the full facilities of the hotel as he said, he arrived late in the dark and left early in the dawn light so couldn’t appreciate the view.
The new building currently being completed will be a replacement for the Lakeland bungalow, which will be put to another use. However, this does not detract from the fact that they are very pleasant rooms of a more traditional nature. They fall well above our three star hotel rating. The new block will be closer to five star standards. We aim to be the top of the three star criteria, and have many more facilities than are required in this bracket. For example the majority of our rooms do have a separate bath and shower, whereas the criteria only requires there to be one or the other. We are currently completing building and upgrade work to the value of £2 million to achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

We booked the honey moonsuite and found that the bed was two singles pushed together with the light switches almost unreachable behind the head boards,even the some of the bulbs were blown.All the furniture in the room was damaged with pieces missing off them, the T.V was from the 1980's the chairs were so worn that your bum nearly went through to the floor ,and the bathroom was worst.Where do i start.The tiles on the floor were cracked and lifting up with sharp edges,3 out 6 lights were blown,the toilet seat did not fit the toilet.There was old brackets left screwed to the inside of the shower cubicle that should have been removed.The sealing around the bath need to be resealed.There was more but i think i've said enough !This is NOT a 200 pound room. the ground floor area's and location are the best thing about this hotel Nice view shame about the room !

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor room quality
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

We got married at The Langdale Chase on 16th December 2007. I organised the wedding from my home in Sydney via the phone and email, and the staff, in particular Claire and Faye, were absolutely fantastic in helping me arrange the perfect day from the other side of the world. I had always wanted a Christmassy wedding in the Lakes and the staff at the Langdale were amazing in making sure everything was perfect. The food was suberb, the rooms were lovely. The whole day was fantastic! i can not recommend this venue more! We will definately be back there soon! Caroline & Andrew McLean

  • Liked — Gorgeous venue
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline_whittle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2008

My fiance and I stayed here on January 11th on the look out for somewhere to get married. We arrived when it was dark and the lady at reception was really quick and very friendly. In fact, all of the staff were incredibly pleasant and friendly. The biggest disappointment was the bedroom. We were in room 2, which was up the gorgeous staircase and in the corner.

Plus
The room was big and had a fantastic view of the Windermere shore and the hills. The staff were really frendly and the bar food was nice.

Minus
The decoration was not in keeping with the hotel and looked cheap and chintzy. In particular, all of the fabrics felt man made and cheap. The double bed was two singles pushed together with a granny type blanket on it. The carpet felt like plastic. In addition the tap fell off the bath when I turned it on and there was an electric heater in the room. It's such a shame, because if they had just spent some extra money on furnishings this would be an amazing place to have a wedding. Another bone of contention was the thiness of the walls! I woke up to hear some woman talking to a bloke called Chris and I thought they were in the same room. Let's just say that we could hear the bathroom noises so clearly we thought we were sharing the facilities!

Looks like it's back to the drawing board!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — room - cheapness
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

We had our wedding here on July 31st 2007 and it was perfect,everything was just how we wanted it.We only had a small wedding,just five of us in total.The staff couldn't of been more helpful in helping us with our plans.everyone there is so freindly and helped to make our day a day to remember.
The hotel itself is beautiful we all stayed overnight in the superior lake view rooms were the views were breathtaking.after our ceromony we had our photographs taken in gardens which are a credit to the hotel,also the pictures we had taken in the hotel were stunning,such a lovely place,so glad we found it and will certainly be going back.
I would like to say also the food we had was very nice,we had a meal after the wedding which we all enjoyed and breakfast was relaxed and enjoyable.
Overall i would recommend anyone planning there wedding to go and visit the hotel as it is a place that must be seen.

  • Liked — The history at the hotel also the breathtaking views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANIELiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

I agree that the Hotel is a beautiful old house, and it is quite stunning both inside and out. The views from the hotel are lovely, but the rooms are dated and need refurbishing. I expected standards of cleanliness and quality that were not met in the rooms. We stayed in the room which had been previously named the room with the best view from a national newspaper(from the balcony area outside), and it was stunning, but it was overlooked by the driveway which meant it was not private at all! The bathroom had cracked tiles and the room had outdated decor that needed refurbishing.

The restaurant was a real treat and the view from it was wonderful (the glass could have been done with being cleaner!). It is a very romantic location and a wedding party was enjoying themselves when we stayed there, but I think it needs updating in the rooms to really warrant a higher rating.

  • Liked — The stunning location
  • Disliked — The dated worn out rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LindsayJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing