We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect wedding location & a great place to stay if you want to relax and “get away from it all”.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We chose to have our wedding at the Langdale Chase on Saturday 8th June. It was without doubt the right decision and thanks to Andrew, Ben and the rest of the team there we could not have had a more perfect weekend and it is one which we will treasure for the rest of our lives!

The location of the Langdale Chase is without doubt its biggest asset. Sitting on the shores of Windermere in fantastic grounds, with a view across to the Langdales, it is simply one of the finest views you can see.

However, the attentiveness of the staff is what makes the Langdale special, either as a wedding location or somewhere to have a break. Nothing is too much trouble for them and everything ran seamlessly during the wedding weekend thanks to them.

From the perspective of somewhere to have a break in the Lakes, the Langdale is a great place to relax and unwind. The rooms in the main building are all slightly different in character (as it is a converted country house) but many have a lake view and balconies. There is also separate building with rooms (“The Lake House”), which are more modern but all still have the lake view and balconies.

Overall, it is a special place to stay.

We look forward to visiting the Langdale Chase again in the future.

Paul & Jo Round

Room Tip: Many rooms have a lake view and/or balconies, ask about these when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so pleased that we made your day as special as you imagined. The weather made your day even more special for you and we look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary. I will be sure to pass on your favourable comments to the team here at the hotel.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

A last minute booking for my 60th birthday and was not disappointed. The weather was kind to us and the staff so friendly and very helpful. We stayed in the Lakehouse in room 82 and were delighted with the spacious room and terrace. Well worth paying the extra for this room. The food was of excellent quality and we were impressed to be given the private dining room for my birthday. The views from both our room and the hotel and grounds are not to be beaten and we will definitely return to this hotel in the future!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mrs_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the whole experience we offer here at the Langdale Chase and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The view was stunning and we had a balcony which is what we asked for. The staff were friendly and we had dinner one night in the bar which was excellent. Breakfast was so disappointing the first day with hard dry bacon and sausage we didnt bother again for rest of week and the restaurant where breakfast was served whilst having stunning views was tired. The room was not what we expected for £220 pn. Fab view but tatty furniture, 2 single beds pushed together, poor quality bedding, quilt smaller than bed, cracked chipped wall and floor tiles in bathroom and a barely adequate old shower with broken fittings.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Margaretmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

In response to your review, firstly I was pleased to read that the staff were very friendly and looked after you and that you enjoyed your dinner in the bar. With regards to breakfast, only 6 weeks ago we were awarded a Silver Breakfast award from Visit Britain for the quality and freshness of the ingredients we use, the restaurant which offers stunning views across Windermere is far from tired and I do have to disagree with you there.

The comments regarding the pricing of your room, we are priced well below our lesser competitors in the area and we feel, along with the majority of other reviewers on Trip Advisor that we provide excellent value for money. The 2 single beds you mentioned are zip and link beds which are used in the majority of hotels around the world so that the room can be utilised as both a twin room and a double room, and the bedding is of the highest quality from a well established Nationwide linen company.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Where do we start?? We got married at Langdale Chase on the 25th May and it was the most wonderful, amazing day that we will never forget. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel comfortable and we really felt taken care of, weddings are very stressful but Andrew and his team made everything run so smoothly. It is a fantastic hotel, with the most beautiful views and location that rivals anywhere in the world, we had our honeymoon in Mexico and a wedding on the beach there is nothing to what we had at Langdale Chase! We really can't thank the team there enough, the wedding meal was delicious and we had so many guests say to us it was the best wedding they had ever been to. We are going back every year for our anniversary to the Boat House for the truly amazing views there...we only wish we could do the whole day again. Thank you so much to all the team there for making our day truly magical. Jenny and Mark Naylor.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roofless12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely words and comments regarding your big day with us, I am so pleased to read that we made your day so special, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next year to celebrate your Anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We honeymooned at the Langdale Chase Hotel in 1978. Thirty-five years, and two grown-up children later, I booked a return stay for my wife and me. When we stayed before, there was a particular dessert on the menu which became our favourite: I secretly wrote to the hotel in advance, requesting that the same item be on the menu again - and (to my wife's delight) there it was! This gesture by the hotel was typical of the extra lengths that the staff went to to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

However, the hotel is undergoing extensive renovations at the moment - for example, replacing carpets on all the corridors, adding a new entrance from the main road, and refurbishing the bedrooms one by one. Unfortunately, we were allocated one of the rooms still very much in need of refurbishment (Room 10): the old-fashioned, metal-framed window would not close properly, the fire exit door at the opposite end of the room allowed the draught to blow the curtains, there had clearly been a leak in the ceiling above the bed, and the decor was tired and dated - it really wasn't very good. When we expressed our concern, we learned we would have to move each night, if we wanted another room, because of other guest bookings. The reception staff did what they could, but there was no satisfactory solution. The general manager, Andrew Tighe, seemed genuinely apologetic about our experience, and has now offered us a compensation arrangement which we have accepted.

We were excited about retracing the steps of our youth, and to begin with I was willing to award the hotel 11 out of 10 for their commitment to making us feel welcome. But the room experience took the gloss off our stay - I'd still give the hotel 9/10. But it's a case of "some you win, some you lose".

Oh, and do ASK if Room 10 has been refurbished when you book!

Room Tip: Note my comment about Room 10! The staff servicing the bedrooms kindly allowed us to see what other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RadioGuyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

In response to this review, firstly I am pleased to read that you have decided to revisit the hotel 35 years after your last visit, and also delighted that the dessert of your choice was organised for you.
As stated we are currently undergoing a lot of changes at the hotel and we are on a constant refurbishing programme of the bedrooms and public areas in order to maintain our high standards. As stated in our previous correspondence ideally for such a special occasion we would of liked to have upgraded you if possible or offered you an alternative room, but we had a few large groups in that week and restricted which bedrooms were available at the time. I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel where both myself and my team will be on hand to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and relaxing one.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Where do I start - what a wonderful day you provided for us, everything organised perfectly, Andrew and his Team are amazing. Our wedding was on Thursday 30th May, the weather was also perfect too!
If you are looking for a lovely stay in The Lakes please look no further, Langdale Chase offers great rooms, amazing staff, wonderful grounds and very very good food!
If you chose to get married at Langdale Chase I am sure it will exceed your expectations.
We had an intimate wedding, which was in every way fabulous.
Thank you once again, we will be returning for our anniversary!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, I had room 19 for using to get ready it was the size of a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparkey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your kind words regarding your wedding at the hotel. We all take great pride in our job and it makes all of our hard work seem worthwhile when we read such lovely reviews and that we have made your day so special.

Please be sure to come back and visit us for your anniversary

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Have just returned from a weekend in the Langdale Chase to celebrate my nephews wedding, it was a truly amazing day.....but the hotel and location of this beautiful hotel made their day extra special.. As we walked round to the back of the hotel, what a sight greeted us....the views over the lake were amazing, the gardens were lovely.....and lake itself shimmered like millions of diamonds with the sun shining on them. Then we went to our room, hoping not to be disappointed with the view from our window....and we wasn't, the view was exactly the same as we had seen before, blue skies, sunshine, mountains, forest and the lake itself, with white sailing boats on it..what more could you ask for 'heaven on earth' in front of our eyes....and not forgetting the hotel itself, very special beautitul entertainment rooms, most with doors opening out on to that special view...and of course not forgetting the staff, who could not have done more for all of us that we staying, well done.....this is definiately one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, and we will be going back again and again............thank you Langdale Chase

Room Tip: a room with a view.................first or second floors to make the best opportunity of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review following your nephews wedding, we are proud of our location and I am so pleased that we made their day so special. Please be sure to come back and see us again.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £112 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing