We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Having just a stayed for a wedding found this hotel well excellent from the grounds to the staff the hotel itself everything's just perfect andrew and staff nothing too much trouble we will be back again thank you

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Graham Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay, and your kind words regarding the hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We took our grandchildren, aged 7 and 4 years, for lunch at this wonderful hotel. We have stayed there many times and had our small, quiet wedding there in 2011 when we were treated with the utmost care and consideration. We have always rated it very highly because of its location, superb views of Lake Windermere and the mountains, its comfort, elegance and traditional charm. It is extremely well run by Andrew and his team who are uniformly charming and efficient and go that extra mile to ensure guests are well-looked after.
We were looking forward to lunch but felt a little apprehensive about taking our young grandchildren because they are a lively pair! However, we needn't have worried. After burning off some energy in the beautiful grounds, visiting the boathouse and jetty, feeding the ducks and loving every minute of it, the children were well-behaved and wolfed down their lunch chosen from the appealing children's menu, finishing with sticky toffee pudding which they declared was delicious. My husband had the fish and chips, "tasty, brilliant batter", and I had the super sausages. We drank water only which was replenished without asking by the attentive, lovely waiter.
It was a glorious blue and gold day so off for another stroll around the grounds and then a trip on the steamer. The kids liked it so much they want to stay at Langdale Chase. We'll see.
Thank you to all at LC for helping us enjoy a perfect day in a perfect setting. Paradise! We will be booking a short break soon so we can experience this delightful hotel all over again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review, following your recent visit for lunch with us. I am so pleased that the family enjoyed their visit and hopefully they will convince you to stay with us again in the future.

Andrew Tighe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel in the pouring rain without a booking.Windermere and Bowness were really busy so we just kept driving.Wow.Amazing old hotel on the lake.Bed ,breakfast and dinner was 75 pounds per person.Our room had a great view of the lake .We thought it huge with twin beds and 2 wonderful arm chairs facing the lake.Bathroom had both bath and separate shower.But apparently it is one if the smaller rooms.There is so much attention to detail.We had a drink before dinner in the lounge with snacks.They took our dinner order there and when ready escorted us to dinner.I felt like a queen.Dinner was exquisite.-3 courses plus coffee.Breakfast was a similar standard-cooked to order.Only downside-no lift to second floor.Also the noisiest toilet I have ever heard.Staff so attentive and get to know guests so no signing things when ordering drinks etc.Gardens Immaculate. Great for romantic break even though I was there with a friend.Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank tessalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased to read your positive comments regarding your stay. We are very fortunate to be in such a wonderful location with rooms to match and hopefully one day you will return to visit this wonderful hotel.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, dinner bed and breakfast. Stayed in the Lakehouse and the room and view were lovely. The food was lovely too, all the meals we had were good.

The hotel itself is beautiful! I don't know how people can complain about the style and furniture, it looks amazing. This is not a modern hotel and would not look right with modern features and furniture.

The grounds and view are amazing!

All staff are friendly. Everyone said hello if you passed them, including the gardener!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiler825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay and your kind words regarding the hotel. the whole team at the hotel look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Booked this mini break as a treat and what a treat it turned out to be.Superb hotel in a stunning location. All the staff very friendly,welcoming and helpful. Lovely restaurant over looking the lake,
excellent menu cooked and presented to a very high standard, service was superb.Beautiful rooms, which were very clean and lovely garden walks.It's the first time we've ever stayed at the Langdale Chase but we'll be back.

Room Tip: our room was light, with a beautiful lake view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our location, attention to detail and high calibre members of the team. Please be sure to return very soon for another great mini break.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Came across this place whilst driving round the lake district, hungry and wanting somewhere for lunch - what a find!

Spectacular building and setting. Warm welcome when we walked into the bar, we ate in the conservatory overlooking the lake. Comfortable seating, sunshine streaming in and a beautiful view. Varied menu, big decision! but we ate fish and chips which were lovely. Our main server was a young Spanish man who was very sweet and helpful - as were all the staff

Would definitely come again and hope to come and stay next time. Didn't know until we picked up a hotel brochure that it was a setting for the series The Lakes as I didn't watch it

Happy day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review following your lunch here, our chefs work tirelessly to ensure all food is of the best quality and local produce, please be sure to pop back when in the Lakes next time to enjoy our famous Fish and Chips.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stopped off at the Langdale Chase for just a cup of tea on Sunday and ended up staying the night here because it was so lovely! Had a great lakeside room, very big, jacuzzi bath and a excellent breakfast. Staff were lovely especially the receptionist. I can't wait to come and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpark27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and your last minute stay with us, here on the banks of Windermere. We pride ourselves on our location, attention to detail and most importantly our high calibre members of the team, who are the key element for any successful business. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £112 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing