We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,257)
Filter reviews
1,257 results
Traveller rating
861
239
85
46
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
239
85
46
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baronial hall wedding venue boat house stunning views small wedding beautiful hotel lake district main building second to none log fire from start to finish afternoon tea couldn't do enough breakfast and dinner underfloor heating many thanks weekend break
Filter
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 1,257 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We took our grandchildren, aged 7 and 4 years, for lunch at this wonderful hotel. We have stayed there many times and had our small, quiet wedding there in 2011 when we were treated with the utmost care and consideration. We have always rated it very highly because of its location, superb views of Lake Windermere and the mountains, its comfort, elegance and traditional charm. It is extremely well run by Andrew and his team who are uniformly charming and efficient and go that extra mile to ensure guests are well-looked after.
We were looking forward to lunch but felt a little apprehensive about taking our young grandchildren because they are a lively pair! However, we needn't have worried. After burning off some energy in the beautiful grounds, visiting the boathouse and jetty, feeding the ducks and loving every minute of it, the children were well-behaved and wolfed down their lunch chosen from the appealing children's menu, finishing with sticky toffee pudding which they declared was delicious. My husband had the fish and chips, "tasty, brilliant batter", and I had the super sausages. We drank water only which was replenished without asking by the attentive, lovely waiter.
It was a glorious blue and gold day so off for another stroll around the grounds and then a trip on the steamer. The kids liked it so much they want to stay at Langdale Chase. We'll see.
Thank you to all at LC for helping us enjoy a perfect day in a perfect setting. Paradise! We will be booking a short break soon so we can experience this delightful hotel all over again.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review, following your recent visit for lunch with us. I am so pleased that the family enjoyed their visit and hopefully they will convince you to stay with us again in the future.

Andrew Tighe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel in the pouring rain without a booking.Windermere and Bowness were really busy so we just kept driving.Wow.Amazing old hotel on the lake.Bed ,breakfast and dinner was 75 pounds per person.Our room had a great view of the lake .We thought it huge with twin beds and 2 wonderful arm chairs facing the lake.Bathroom had both bath and separate shower.But apparently it is one if the smaller rooms.There is so much attention to detail.We had a drink before dinner in the lounge with snacks.They took our dinner order there and when ready escorted us to dinner.I felt like a queen.Dinner was exquisite.-3 courses plus coffee.Breakfast was a similar standard-cooked to order.Only downside-no lift to second floor.Also the noisiest toilet I have ever heard.Staff so attentive and get to know guests so no signing things when ordering drinks etc.Gardens Immaculate. Great for romantic break even though I was there with a friend.Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank tessalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased to read your positive comments regarding your stay. We are very fortunate to be in such a wonderful location with rooms to match and hopefully one day you will return to visit this wonderful hotel.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, dinner bed and breakfast. Stayed in the Lakehouse and the room and view were lovely. The food was lovely too, all the meals we had were good.

The hotel itself is beautiful! I don't know how people can complain about the style and furniture, it looks amazing. This is not a modern hotel and would not look right with modern features and furniture.

The grounds and view are amazing!

All staff are friendly. Everyone said hello if you passed them, including the gardener!

We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiler825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay and your kind words regarding the hotel. the whole team at the hotel look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Booked this mini break as a treat and what a treat it turned out to be.Superb hotel in a stunning location. All the staff very friendly,welcoming and helpful. Lovely restaurant over looking the lake,
excellent menu cooked and presented to a very high standard, service was superb.Beautiful rooms, which were very clean and lovely garden walks.It's the first time we've ever stayed at the Langdale Chase but we'll be back.

Room tip: our room was light, with a beautiful lake view and very quiet.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our location, attention to detail and high calibre members of the team. Please be sure to return very soon for another great mini break.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Came across this place whilst driving round the lake district, hungry and wanting somewhere for lunch - what a find!

Spectacular building and setting. Warm welcome when we walked into the bar, we ate in the conservatory overlooking the lake. Comfortable seating, sunshine streaming in and a beautiful view. Varied menu, big decision! but we ate fish and chips which were lovely. Our main server was a young Spanish man who was very sweet and helpful - as were all the staff

Would definitely come again and hope to come and stay next time. Didn't know until we picked up a hotel brochure that it was a setting for the series The Lakes as I didn't watch it

Happy day!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review following your lunch here, our chefs work tirelessly to ensure all food is of the best quality and local produce, please be sure to pop back when in the Lakes next time to enjoy our famous Fish and Chips.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews