We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Claire and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Claire and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My friends and ex colleagues recently met for lunch at the Langdale Chase and there was a party of 13 of us and as ex Nurses and lecturers we take some organizing,the warmth of welcome we received was wonderful and Claire made us so welcome and went out of her way to ensure we had all our needs catered for.She ensured we had a wonderful lunch and both her and the staff provided excellent service and the room we were allocated gave us panoramic views over the lake and surrounding fells.We went away feeling we had been treated as old friends and without question we all had a lovely day and will certainly return.Thank you to Claire and her staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitrigg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Whitrigg5,

Many thanks for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you all for your lunch. It was a great day weather wise giving you all a beautiful views across the lake to the Langdale Valley. I have passed your comments to Mrs Noblett who looks forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    181
    65
    36
    23
See reviews for
261
489
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having ready all the reviews i wonder if picked the wrong week-end for my visit - the was acrimony between the restaurant staff and the chef - it was obvisouse that he was not happy that morning breakfast was arriving late, cold, and uncooked. the staff appologised but by then it was too late. I thought the general appearance of the bedrooms looked tired and dated. but the location and overall view was out of this world.
But the cost for the week-end was not something i would do again

I would definately recommend as a Wedding venue -

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Mariyn I,
Many thanks for your review of the Hotel. We pride ourselves on our location and attention to detail, and our staffs commitment to service throughout the hotel. A lot our staff have been here for many, many years. We pride ourselves on our food and with breakfast being an important meal, is the highlight of many guests stay. All items are cooked to order. A lot of hotels run a buffet service and we try to maintain individuality on freshness and presentation with delivery. This can take time, but certainly none of our food comes out cold, our plates are pre heated and food goes from grill to plate to table. We apologise if you felt your expectations were not met, for this we apologise.

With regards to the rooms being dated, we run a strict maintenance programme through the year and is on going. We try to maintain the natural beauty and history of this fine old Lady

A member of our senior team would have been more than happy to discuss this at the time, or on check out. We want our guests to leave happy and fullfilled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I recently attended a wedding here. The location is amazing and the staff professional, but I was very disappointed with the food.The room had a few problems and had we stayed longer than one night we would have certainly complained. The pillow cases were not clean, the sink did not drain properly and there were light bulbs out. Not major problems granted but considering the price, you would expect higher standards. I think there are much better hotels on Lake Windermere to chose for wedding venues.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Whilst we welcome the positive remarks, this review is based on someone who lives in the area who possibly has a personality clash with management at the Langdale Chase. We normally get positive feedback with regards to our food, in particular weddings. The food is always chosen by the bride and groom and we follow out their wishes after they have tried their chosen menu on a previous date to make sure they are happy wih their choices and the quality.

When sending out quantities of the same meal cooked to the same high quality, this does not always appeal to all.

With regards to the minor issues in the room, lightbulbs do pop all the time. No sooner as a member of staff leave the room the bulb could go. Our meticulous maintainance team spend three hours a week checking and chanbing the bulbs. If housekeeping come accross any, they are reported and change immediately.

The poor drainage in the sink was a simple phonecall for someone to come up and rectify.

With regards to the dirty pillow cases, we use a highly reputable national company who delivers the linen in vacuum packed parcels which then is taken by our housekeeping team to the rooms in the same state.

With regards to other hotels holding weddings in the area, which being better or worse is a matter of personal choice and we welcome the competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stocksfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked a table for lunch last week. The meal was very good and the hotel itself is full of olde world character - certainly worth a visit. We will return in the Spring for lunch and to explore the hotel and gardens.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your meal in our lake view conservatory. We pride ourselves on our location and excellent meals prepared meticulously by our chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the spring for lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Having just a stayed for a wedding found this hotel well excellent from the grounds to the staff the hotel itself everything's just perfect andrew and staff nothing too much trouble we will be back again thank you

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay, and your kind words regarding the hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We took our grandchildren, aged 7 and 4 years, for lunch at this wonderful hotel. We have stayed there many times and had our small, quiet wedding there in 2011 when we were treated with the utmost care and consideration. We have always rated it very highly because of its location, superb views of Lake Windermere and the mountains, its comfort, elegance and traditional charm. It is extremely well run by Andrew and his team who are uniformly charming and efficient and go that extra mile to ensure guests are well-looked after.
We were looking forward to lunch but felt a little apprehensive about taking our young grandchildren because they are a lively pair! However, we needn't have worried. After burning off some energy in the beautiful grounds, visiting the boathouse and jetty, feeding the ducks and loving every minute of it, the children were well-behaved and wolfed down their lunch chosen from the appealing children's menu, finishing with sticky toffee pudding which they declared was delicious. My husband had the fish and chips, "tasty, brilliant batter", and I had the super sausages. We drank water only which was replenished without asking by the attentive, lovely waiter.
It was a glorious blue and gold day so off for another stroll around the grounds and then a trip on the steamer. The kids liked it so much they want to stay at Langdale Chase. We'll see.
Thank you to all at LC for helping us enjoy a perfect day in a perfect setting. Paradise! We will be booking a short break soon so we can experience this delightful hotel all over again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review, following your recent visit for lunch with us. I am so pleased that the family enjoyed their visit and hopefully they will convince you to stay with us again in the future.

Andrew Tighe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel in the pouring rain without a booking.Windermere and Bowness were really busy so we just kept driving.Wow.Amazing old hotel on the lake.Bed ,breakfast and dinner was 75 pounds per person.Our room had a great view of the lake .We thought it huge with twin beds and 2 wonderful arm chairs facing the lake.Bathroom had both bath and separate shower.But apparently it is one if the smaller rooms.There is so much attention to detail.We had a drink before dinner in the lounge with snacks.They took our dinner order there and when ready escorted us to dinner.I felt like a queen.Dinner was exquisite.-3 courses plus coffee.Breakfast was a similar standard-cooked to order.Only downside-no lift to second floor.Also the noisiest toilet I have ever heard.Staff so attentive and get to know guests so no signing things when ordering drinks etc.Gardens Immaculate. Great for romantic break even though I was there with a friend.Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tessalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased to read your positive comments regarding your stay. We are very fortunate to be in such a wonderful location with rooms to match and hopefully one day you will return to visit this wonderful hotel.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing