We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdale Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law had their wedding ceremony here in November . They couldn't have found anywhere better. Stunning hotel and grounds (right on Lake Windermere) and wonderful and attentive staff (nothing was too much trouble). The wedding meal was delicious, even though we ate later than expected because of the wonderful grounds for stunning photos.
After the meal the wedding party spread themselves out between the bar, piano room and the hall for the evening (lovely roaring fires in piano room and hall with logs constantly being replenished by staff) it had a lovely, cosy relaxing atmosphere.
Most of the rooms were very spacious, with lots of original features, some with seperate sitting rooms and very large bathrooms with seperate shower and full bath.
Breakfast next morning had a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts and juices with hot items cooked to order - again food was delicious.
We will be back again - thank you to all staff involved for making it a memorable event.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review following your Son's wedding at the hotel. The fabulous location of the hotel makes an ideal setting for stunning photographs for you to remember the special day and we look forward to you returning to the hotel very soon.

Andrew TIghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    175
    64
    36
    23
See reviews for
259
481
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

From the first visit to the hotel we felt welcomed and it was not a hard choice to book our wedding at the hotel. On our big day Ben and his team couldn't have done any more for us, it was the relaxed wedding that we had both hoped for, nothing was too much effort and everything went to plan. Family and friends booked rooms to make a weekend of the wedding. Our lake house room was beautiful, with a stunning views of the lake and fells. The food was very tasty and a wide choice to suit everyone.
When we left on the Sunday we felt like part of the family, and I am sure we will be back for a return visit maybe to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theclansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review following your Wedding with us. I am so pleased it was everything you imagined and more. I will be sure to pass on all of your favourable comments to the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, if not in the near future, then for your Anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night and had a room with a lake view. The room was beautiful full of lovely features such as the fireplace and a grand bathroom, topped off with a beautiful view of the lake. This was lovely to wake up to in the morning. The hotel is very interesting with lots of original features. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. I only wish we could have stayed longer here, but I am sure we will visit again as we got engaged here, it was a perfect setting.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, we are blesses with our location and all rooms are individually and tastefully decorated, next time stay for longer and if you want to hold your wedding with us, there is no better location or hotel in the Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a night stopover in lake district & chose this hotel based on the reviews. As we have a 8 month baby we needed a family friendly hotel with lot of comfort. The hotel didn't disappoint, we had a lovely large room on the ground floor over looking the lake, the room was very comfortable.

We had a lovely meal in the hotel bar & the staff were very accommodating of our baby's requirements. The breakfast was good too, definitely good value for money.

Only small issue was there was some security lights outside that were being constantly activated when we turned in about 10pm & irritated me getting to sleep as the curtains were quite thin but my husband put a towel over the window & resolved it.

Really lovely character hotel in beautiful setting. Definitely recommend, staff could not have been more helpful & will hopefully have trip back next summer.

Room Tip: Lake view Room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent stay, our location is truly a magnificent one, on the banks of Lake Windermere, our staff are hand selected and trained to the high standards we set ourselves at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next summer.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights here. We were told the room booked was one of the best views of the lake and what a view it was. However, the room required some TLC, the bathroom also needs some love , one of the bath tap tops was missing, the shower door had a broken hinge and the door seemed to have finger prints on the inside. I would not expect this for the price we paid. The first mornings breakfast was disappointing but the second was excellent so some consistency needs to be applied it seemed to me that it depended who served you.

Overall the hotel is nice but is not up to the standards expected for the price paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLO16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your review, our pricing policy is kept in line with all the hotels in the area, but in many cases is lower than our lesser competitors. All of our rooms are regularly maintained and these issues have been passed over to our maintenance team, to which I apologise for these being missed on your visit. We constantly receive great praise regarding our breakfast and the standard should not differ from one day to the next.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future where I will be on hand to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and trouble free one

Andrew TIghe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We won a free meal for two at the langdale chase hotel and having not seen the hotel before did not know what to expect, upon arrival we were shown to a room set up just for the two of us with a log fire and stunning views across the lake, we have stayed at several hotels including michelin star hotels and the view from the Langdale chase out passes any of them. The food was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us, everyone was very friendly and made us feel special.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Tracey H,

Thank you for your great review following your lunch here last weekend. Our private lake view dining room really is one of the best lake shore dining experiences, especially when the fire is roaring and you have it all to yourselves. We hope that last week will be the first of many visits here to the hotel whether it is for another lunch or to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

A beautiful location and were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and this is a return trip,did contact the hotel to inform them of what we were celebrating,but no recognition of that from the hotel when we arrived, so don't expect your special day to be noticed by the hotel.Apart from that a lovely hotel with a new ,well new to me restaurant which doesn't fit the decor of the rest of the hotel ,but can't fault the staff,service or food,well why would I return,all the rooms are lovely and the views stunning.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fennerjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Fennerjames,

Many thanks for your review and apologies that your very special anniversary was not picked up on. Please beleive this is one of the strengths of the hotel to have people staying celebration special occasions. We would have certainly gone out of our way to ensure your special occasion was recognised. We apologise for the breakdown in communication between departments which trust us doesn't happen very often.

We are glad that, apart from the above, that you were happy with your stay, and please do not hesitate to contact myself on your next special occasion where I assure you of my personal attention. I wish you a happy belated anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing