We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wedding weekend”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have just spend a 2 night stay in this hotel for a wedding , the room we were given was no 51,this room is massive with views of windermere and the hills beyond, all meals were excellent and the service was great, the entrance hall is a stunning setting for the wedding , no on we know had a bad word about their stay,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank focus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us for the wedding. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    187
    71
    42
    24
See reviews for
276
506
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I rang up at the last minute to book in for New Year's Eve, very doubtful that we could get dinner as well as a room. We were offered a gala dinner deal, which turned out to be a fabulous offer, of exceptionally good value for money. We were booked into the Boat House room, which has one of the best views in the country, over the lake. The room is lovely, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a Bucks Fizz and canapes reception before dinner. The dinner was beautifully cooked and presented. The staff were all wonderful. The training must be exceptional, because they were all attentive and very customer-focussed. The brunch - which thankfully started at 10.00 (after a late night disco) was as excellent as the previous night's dinner. I defy anyone to find something which could not be catered for on the extensive menu. Everything was delightful, and it was great to socialise with other guests. As someone else has said, it was just like a family house party. We can not recommend this hotel highly enough. It must be a fabulous venue for a wedding. Book in and enjoy! Deb and Ian

Room Tip: Request a lake view, you will be enchanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your New Year break with us. The boathouse is probably the most unique bedroom in the Country overlooking nothing but the lake, perfect for that romantic break away. Please be sure to come back and visit us sometime for another relaxing break in our Boathouse.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsick
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We've stayed overnight on our anniversary since our wedding in this hotel four years ago, we've never been disappointed the staff are very friendly and welcoming the food is fantastic, can recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a special location for their wedding or special occasion .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed another Anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for another celebration.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A last minute booking and wow what a great decision we made, my daughter and I stayed in room 88 in the lake house, the view was as perfect as the room. Comfortable bed in a massive room with a bathroom that is as salubrious as can be. New years eve was elegant with staff and management discreetly attentive, every wish catered for. The lounges house open fires that are perfect for relaxing in front of and from which you never want to leave. The ambiance of the hotel is of quiet luxury that even the busiest of people can not help unwind in. Brunch the next day was perfect from continental to full English and again no wish was left un-catered for. The peacefulness and tranquillity of the hotel and the work from the staff all of whom where individually amazing leave you feeling personally attended to and if you were the only ones staying. The gardens are a must to wander around and are simply stunning. Thomas and Claire Noblett and Andrew Tighe really do have a gem in the Lake District and it is a privilege that they share it. Do I recommend it - HIGHLY, will I return....most certainly. We didn't want to leave and return to reality such was the perfection of the hotel, Christmas is a wonderful time to stay, the Christmas tree is real and literally does touch the ceiling, the sheer elegance of the room decoration both festively adorned or not with leave you wanting to live there!

Room Tip: stayed in room 88 in the lake house, large and luxurious, amazing view and a private balcony - perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
What a lovely review following your New Year stay with us, I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and the great reviews about the Lakehouse. I feel this block of bedrooms is the Jewel in our Crown and we constantly get reurn guests wanting to stay in these rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have been regular visitors to the Lake District for nearly 40 years and have a great love for it. For the past 20 years we have had a static caravan in the Lake District but we decided to spend New Year at the Langdale Chase (our first visit to this hotel) on a two day break and I have to say we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and cannot praise the staff highly enough for their attention and friendliness. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food at every meal over the two days was excellent and the New Year celebrations were very enjoyable yet relaxing. It felt like being at a big family house party!

The location is perfect and the view from our room over the lake was stunning. We had a huge balcony and I can imagine in the summer is a perfect place to sit and enjoy breakfast or a glass of wine (Lake District weather permitting of course). Although there have been some negative reviews with regard to the standard of the rooms we felt they were perfectly in keeping with the character of the hotel.

The main rooms were cosy with welcoming log fires and again the views from the restaurant and conservatory were beautiful.

Many thanks to Andrew and the team for making our visit so enjoyable. We will be back - for our anniversary if not before - a truly romantic setting.

Judith and Ian Crowther

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review following your New Year break with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the service, the food and entertainment. It was a pleasure having you at the hotel and we look forward to your return visit.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Langdale Chase, situated on the main road from Bowness to Ambleside. It has the most wonderful setting right on Lake Windermere with its own jetty, gardens and terracing. The views are fantastic overlooking the lake and further beyond to beautiful snow covered fells.
We held our wedding here (19/12/2013) in the baronnial hall and dinner/entertainment in the oak room and piano lounge. We are not getting carried away here, but the day was magical everything went smoothly, the setting stunning. Big Christmas tree in the corner of the hall, lovely cosy and very warm log burning fires! Andrew and Ben couldnt do enough for you to accomodate your ideas/wishes. The day was superbly organised, the food excellent, the service was 1st class, food was hot, the orders brought out correctly.
We, our family and friends all echo what we are putting in this review. All the staff were friendly, very approachable with whatever enquiry you had and did their upmost to help you or advise accordingly.
Anyone who knocks this hotel are quite fussy, yes there are 1 or 2 minor faults with the hotel but nothing that deserves sticking 2-3 star reviews down on here, its simply not fair especially if you see the work and effort the staff put in.
Minor faults (which we believe are continually being tried to put right on an on-going basis) some of the fitting/finishes are a little lackadaisical (white sealant on skirtings/gaps etc, curtain tie backs) the other minor fault was a leaking ceiling in Room 20 nothing major but just a drip which was nipped in the bud promptly again, this was apologised for and they did say its being looked at but the weather was atrocious!! (no surprise there given the lakes!!) The rooms are decorated with an old fashioned touch but given the character of the hotel, mod cons would perhaps look out of place.

All in all, a wonderful stay and the memories we take from it will be with us forever and that can only be a credit to Andrew, Ben and all his team at Langdale Chase, hope to see you again soon.

Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ry_Ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable day. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Ben and the 20 foot Christmas tree in the hall has to be seen to be believed.

With regards to the leak in Room 20, the Lakes has had some truly horrendous weather for the last 3 weeks with unprecedented rainfall and with the house sitting on the banks of Windermere we are subject to all elements of the weather and on this occasion we uncovered a minor problem which I am pleased to say we have now rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your Anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I came here in a recent business trip and was very pleased with the place and the staff I met during my stay were extremely pleasant and helpful as well as the food being very nice indeed will definitely recommend to my colleagues thank you to all keep up the good work

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 108Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review, and I am pleased that the team looked after you while you were here. I will be sure to pass on your favourable comments to all of the team at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
409 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing