We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having been for Afternoon tea today I cannot fault the staff for a lovely afternoon. We sat in a rather quiet bay window over looking Lake Windermere on a gorgeous sunny day. The food was wonderful and not over facing. The service was excellent and the young waiter could not do enough for us. As for value for money it certainly was and would visit again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    183
    68
    39
    23
See reviews for
268
499
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
768 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

When I first booked a short break at the Langdale a Chase in the early '80s, I arrived late. So easy to find, but it was convinced it was elsewhere. No fuss. 'Go and freshen up, and come and sit by the fire. Chef is still here. What would you like to eat?' So we had steak, after hours, and that same welcome, hospitality, warmth, and professionalism continues today. Wonderful rooms, wonderful views, wonderful staff. The food - so very good. Minor hiccups this stay, with one or two drinks unavailable at the bar - but only for a night, as Andrew the Maître d' got in what we wanted. One of our favourite UK hotels.

Room Tip: All lake view rooms have wonderful award-winning views. We prefer one of the two rooms with an octag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we had a busier weekend than expected hence we ran out of a few items, however we quickly rectified this problem and all in all I am so pleased you enjoyed your break with us.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel was recommended by my partner, who had been before. As it was off-season they had rooms available to book directly at a special rate, so we took advantage of that.

We arrived at the hotel earlier than the official check-in time. After a drink in the bar our room had been prepared for us, about an hour early.

The room was at the far end of the hotel and we had to walk through the restaurant to get to it, which was a little odd at first but not a problem. The room itself was very nice - comfortable bed, spacious wardrobe, French windows looking out over the grounds and the lake. The en-suite bathroom had a bath with shower attachment but no means to use it as a shower, but the bath was lovely and big and ran quickly.

The Piano Lounge and the Baronial Hall are both open at all hours, with real log fires tended by the staff well into the night. I spent a whole afternoon sat by one after a walk in the grounds, which was just the thing after being out in the cold!

The restaurant is absolutely incredible, probably the best I've eaten in. All restaurants claim to offer "classic food with a modern twist" these days, but every single dish I ate had interesting and clearly well thought out combinations of flavours which were a delight to eat - my favourites included twice-baked watercress and goat's cheese soufflé, and an unusual but delicious polenta gnocchi. All of the hotel's room rates include breakfast and some also include dinner, and I'd strongly recommend taking advantage of the latter. The restaurant itself is quiet and comfortable with stunning views of the lake and the mountains - it was easy to forget we were in England at times.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, from the chatty receptionists who greeted us like old friends to the bar staff who thought nothing of my pregnant partner's desperate requests for milk at 11 o'clock at night.

I spend a lot of time staying in budget hotels for work but seldom get the chance to go anywhere as nice as Langdale Chase. This was a fantastic choice for a few nights away from everything and we'll certainly be back in future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumble B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially your meal in the restaurant, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This is by far the most stunning building in the area and it has the best location. And the gardens are beautiful. I can't recommend it enough actually. We stayed in the lake house which is just up from the main building. We had room 86 I think which is on the higher floor. This is a new building so it's excellent. Huge bathroom with under floor heating, walk in wet room shower and separate roll top bath. The room had its own balcony with a view of the lake and gardens and boat house. Simply perfect and we parked right outside the room - 10 seconds from car to room. The main building is so nice too. Stone windows, wood panelling and log fires and views to die for. The staff I met were very friendly and chatty especially the lovely blonde receptionist who is great company. Last time I stayed here which was 2004 or 2006, I stayed in room 26 which was a bit disappointing despite the great view but room 86 will not disappoint anyone. Although it looks like a king size bed it's actually two singles pushed together which was perfect for us. The mattress is very firm which we actually liked and we slept well. People who like soft mattresses may not like this. Overall a positive special experience and I can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gastronaut2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Lakehouse is the Jewell in our crown, affording the best of furnishings and fittings with absolutely stunning wet rooms for bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and please do not leave it as long next time.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at this beautiful hotel we stayed in room 87 i the lake house which was so spacious and the bathroom was to die for, the staff could not have been more friendly, breakfast was superb with a very quick service the room had a beautiful lake view we will be returning soon . Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: choose the lake house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Lakehouse. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

what a delightful afternoon spent at the Langdale Chase, sat in a warm an cosy conservatory with amazing views. Then to be welcomed by our afternoon tea consisting of fresh sandwiches and home made cakes, with the most amazing fruity scones, éclairs, fruit cake and parkin, a lovely mix of cakes. We added a little extra to our afternoon tea with a glass of prosecco wine. The tea was never ending at no extra charge!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
What a lovely review for our afternoon tea, which is all prepared daily by our Pastry Chef who has been with us for over 17 years, and people come from far and wide to try her little sweet treats. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Langdale Chase Hotel on 25th February,17 years ago. Every February since then we have made the long journey, from Cheshire, to celebrate our anniversary with a meal at the Langdale Chase. The hotel has not changed in character and brings back some fantastic memories. It is in such a beautiful setting. The staff are very attentive and even when busy make you feel like you are the only people there. The food is second to none, very special and presented perfectly. (You must try the sticky toffee pudding).We have stayed at the hotel twice in the past, but we are a family of 5 now and find staying in hotels generally at little pricey! Maybe we will stay again when it is just the two of us. The room we stayed in was decorated beautifully and was inkeeping with the building. When it is cold outside the Langdale Chase is the perfect place to sit In front of the log fires drinking coffee and taking in the fabulous views of the lake and beyond.
It must be worth it for us to travel 100 miles each way for lunch once a year!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to you coming back to the hotel with or without the children.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing