We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!! - WHAT A PLACE, QUALITY, SERVICE, LOCATION IT HAS IT ALL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If ever there was a place that had all of the above, then "The Langdale Chase" is the place to be. I stopped in room 3 and the views and facilities were stunning. Food excellent, service superb, Matthew, Sue & Magda. Managers and Staff went out of their way to make the experience one to remember. The gardening staff have excelled themselves in producing and maintaining excellent gardens but let down by the failure to remove the abundance of rabbits who are destroying the gardeners hard work - COME ON TOM, GET RID OF THE FURRY BU**ERS and the gardens would equal the best that the Chelsea Flower Show could offer. Good vale for money, fantastic staff and Management (Claire!) and what a fantastic Steinway Piano in the hotel. Keep up the good work - we will leave that to you Andrew Tighe!! - NEIL the piano man

Room Tip: Room 3 has superb views and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PHILIPNEIL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us, I am so pleased that the whole team looked after you. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

When 'lake' Windermere is totally still, covered in a morning mist and you open your bedroom curtains to be greeted with that view you know its a special place.
My wife and I have stayed at the Langdale Chase several times now and they never disappoint. The service is second to none, the staff are always polite and friendly the breakfast is a delight. Our room in the lake house was clean well presented and the wet room had a fantastic shower and bath. Everything about this hotel makes your visit to the Lake district just that little bit better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your excellent review, I am pleased that you continue to use the hotel whilst visiting the Lakes, and will continue to use us in the future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel is beautiful,particularly the gardens and set against the most wonderful view. Staff are friendly and helpful. The bed and bedding was comfortable and fresh and the room and bathroom was enormous. Would be helpful to have darker curtains or linings to avoid waking so early. Breakfast was delicious and morning wait staff were friendly and prompt. Breakfast overlooks the stunning view. It's not cheap and there are plenty of alternative places to stay but it's a complete treat

Room Tip: The back of the hotel overlooking the lake and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186225Traveller624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I will pass on all of your nice comments regarding the team at the hotel. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My Mum celebrated her 90th Birthday at Langdale Chase, with over 20 guests, in a private room overlooking the lake. Everyone enjoyed the day so much that she specifically requested we return for her 93rd Birthday last week.
Again the food was outstanding and everyone commented on the beautiful building and stunning views over Lake Windermere.
I would like to thank all the friendly and helpful staff at Langdale Chase for making my Mum's 93rd Birthday such a special day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike6452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted to have made your Mum’s 93rd birthday such a special day. We look forward to you celebrating her 94th birthday with us next year.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We got married at Langdale Chase in July 2013 and it was the perfect location for us. We chose to get married in the Baronial Hall and had canapes/drinks on the terrace overlooking the lake and the beautiful gardens. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, their attention to detail was second to none.
We booked a boat trip for the afternoon which was a surprise to our guests on the day and had a wonderful meal early evening and fabulous cheese, pork pie buffet later on.
Our guests were especially impressed with the Lake House rooms, very large bathrooms, balcony or terrace and great views of the lake.
The whole day was amazing, enjoyed by all and we can't wait to go back this summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased to read that you had such a magical and memorable day, we look forward to your return for many Anniversaries to come.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at the Langdale for a nights dinner, bed and breakfast with my fiancé as we are getting married here in Nov so thought we would treat ourselves.

All I can say is we have definitely chosen the right place for our wedding!

Amazing hotel, from the friendly staff, the most delicious food to the large spacious bedroom with amazing views. Can not wait to come back for the wedding!!

A walk around the gardens is a must, they are beautifully kept, magical.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartie2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are really looking forward to holding your big day here at the hotel, where the whole team will ensure we make all of your dreams come true.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stopped for lunch, assuming by the beautiful building, situation and upkeep of the grounds we would enjoy a beautiful meal. We were ignored by 2 staff at reception and found our own way to the bar. We were given conflicting information regarding which soup was being made, - from 'not made on Saturdays but Mondays' to 'chef must have run out and made a different soup'. When it did arrive instead of potato and mushroom it was butternut squash and cumin and very watery, the bread seemed stale. My sausages were inedible due to the quantity of mustard used in the potatoes and the large serving of tasteless gravy, that resulted in a floating mess on the plate - most unappetising.The room was scruffy and containers of condiments were dirty. When I visited the ladies cloakroom first impressions was of a modern bathroom, but there was a scruffiness there too and I could not believe the cheap green paper towels used for hand drying and usually found in public services, certainly not expected in a quality hotel. Not one member of staff (3 served us in total) asked whether our food was alright, despite both my plates being returned only half eaten. MY husbands meat pie looked unappetising, with 4 chunky chips and no vegetables. The meat was tough, I knew because he had trouble cutting it with his knife. WE felt that £40 was too high a price for poor quality food and 2 drinks. What made me then write this review was seeing the chef in reception as we left, he looked totally scruffy and unkempt. We were pleased to leave and return to our caravan site with immaculate bathroom facilities which put the ones at Langford Chase to shame. We will not return despite being asked to give our e mail for future special offers. Did we arrive on a bad day, as I find it hard to believe the other reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felicity T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear FEI1232014

Many thanks for your personal view regarding your lunch visit to the Hotel, on this occasion you did not feel that we lived up to expectations, from the kitchen staff through to the management, we apologise profusely. Our reputation comes from the high quality calibre of our staff who are all friendly and highly customer orientated. Please be assured that all of our menu items are made from fresh and cooked to order. From the bread to the sorbet. Our ingredients are sourced from local high end suppliers and the kitchen prides it self on delivering, 99.9% of the time. We are genuinely sorry that on this occasion that you felt let down. With our investigation into the communication error that let us down, it was a case of the left hand not knowing what the right hand was doing!! These thing happen, "hands up"! Trust us when we say that we are value for money, care for our guests needs, and a commitment to delivering genuine service. With regards to cleanliness of our toilets, they are brand new, checked regularly and probably due to the weekend high volume of guests using them, a mess from a previous guest may have occurred. We will check our facilities on a more regular basis during busy times. With regards to seeing our chef unkempt, he was finishing a busy lunchtime shift. Even I don't look as bright eyed and bushy tailed as when I first walked in from the start of my day to the finish. Please rest assure that your comments are taken on board, and your comments taken seriously. Should you choose to visit the hotel again, we will endeavour to put the wrongs, right!

Assuring you of my personal attention,

Thomas G Noblett, Hotel Director, and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £91 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing