We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Dream Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

For years my husband and I have been visiting Langdale Chase for a walk around the beautiful gardens and taking in the spectacular scenery. When my husband finally popped the question, we couldn't wait to go and enquire about having our wedding there.

It was winter when we first went inside, outside it was cold and very rainy. The interior is very traditional with oak panelled walls and it was lovely and cozy with the log fires burning. The venue was just what we were looking for, a nice and relaxed atmosphere, surrounded by the most stunning views (even when it is lashing down with rain!) We were greeted by a very smiley and friendly Clare Noblett, who was more than happy to show us around. She informed us that they are very flexible when it comes to weddings - whatever we wanted, we could have basically, and for a reasonable price too.

Andrew, the General Manager was one of our wedding co-ordinators. He was a star and a really big help, nothing was ever too much trouble. Each time we visited the hotel in the run up to the wedding, he made sure he sat down with us and had a chat, even if he was always rushed off his feet.

We got married on Sunday 13th April at this wonderful venue, exchanging our vows at the top of the stairs in the Baronial Hall. The hotel looked beautiful and the food was gorgeous. For our wedding breakfast we gave our guests a choice of 3 starters, mains and desserts. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food and the service was excellent.

We "took over" the hotel for 24 hours, allowing many of our guests to stay over (after a great disco in the Baronial Hall.) On the morning of the wedding me and my Bridesmaids got ready in Room 20 which is very spacious with a separate sitting room and a beautiful stained glass ceiling. All rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished and have a lot of character.

Thank you to Andrew, Ben and the rest of the team who made our special day so perfect. There is nowhere else in the world we would have rather been married, and we could not fault anything at all. You are a credit to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you all again when we return for our first anniversary!

Mr & Mrs Mitchell :)

Room Tip: Room 20 is enormous with a beautiful stained glass ceiling. The Lake House is quite new and an annex...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Mr and Mrs Mitchell,

I am so pleased that you had such a memorable wedding day, and that the whole team looked after you. I will pas on all of your kind words to the whole team here and we all look forwards to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
There are newer reviews for Langdale Chase Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our family had a wonderful time last weeked in celebration of our brother and sister-in-laws silver wedding. Eight family members were treat to a superb meal and fine wine in our luxurious private dining room, the whole experience has created unforgettable memories for us all. Staff were extremely attentive, nothing was too much trouble, indeed we were encouraged to feel at home in these wonderful surroundings. We enjoyed the building, the gardens and the views which are absolutely magnificent and priceless. We were also blessed with good weather.

Room Tip: Room 20 brilliant with superb 180 degree views of the lake and peaks beyond
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your Silver Wedding celebration. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable day and the whole team looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited the Langdale Chase for afternoon tea, and we were amazed, when we arrived the place did seem a bit deserted, so we asked where to go and were pointed in the right direction and sat down with the most incredible view in the conservatory - we were happy we got there early, as there was choice of the window seats!. We had soup and chicken (the sweet potato strings were lovely). Followed by the homemade scones with two types of tea, which were delicious and amazingly presented. Then we took the opportunity to go into the garden where we were greeted with baby rabbits - how adorable and friendly.
The gardens were beautiful, the staff were friendly and attentive. The food was lovely. As we only live down the road in Windermere, we will be back for sure (hopefully it wont rain this time). Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Klara35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit to the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed not only the food but the incredible views, and great service we strive to constantly deliver. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We got married here on the 19th of April and I don't even know where to begin in expressing how wonderful it was. From first visiting the hotel we knew that we didn't want to get married anywhere else, the setting is breathtakingly beautiful with the views of Windermere and the mountains second to none. We "took over" the hotel from the Friday night and this was perfect to relax and have everybody get to know each other before the big day. All of the staff at the Langdale Chase were extremely friendly and helpful and the wedding staff accomodated our every request really going above and beyond and showing that they really cared about every little detail and delivering exactly what we wanted on our big day. Everyone commented on how outstanding the food and service were and how lovely all of the rooms are, the majority with fantastic views of the lake. We cannot thank Andrew and the rest of the staff at the Langdale Chase enough and will be visiting again to revisit some wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowanpookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I am so pleased that we made your day so perfect in every way. I will pass on all of your great comments to the team here, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your Anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If ever there was a place that had all of the above, then "The Langdale Chase" is the place to be. I stopped in room 3 and the views and facilities were stunning. Food excellent, service superb, Matthew, Sue & Magda. Managers and Staff went out of their way to make the experience one to remember. The gardening staff have excelled themselves in producing and maintaining excellent gardens but let down by the failure to remove the abundance of rabbits who are destroying the gardeners hard work - COME ON TOM, GET RID OF THE FURRY BU**ERS and the gardens would equal the best that the Chelsea Flower Show could offer. Good vale for money, fantastic staff and Management (Claire!) and what a fantastic Steinway Piano in the hotel. Keep up the good work - we will leave that to you Andrew Tighe!! - NEIL the piano man

Room Tip: Room 3 has superb views and a balcony!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PHILIPNEIL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us, I am so pleased that the whole team looked after you. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

When 'lake' Windermere is totally still, covered in a morning mist and you open your bedroom curtains to be greeted with that view you know its a special place.
My wife and I have stayed at the Langdale Chase several times now and they never disappoint. The service is second to none, the staff are always polite and friendly the breakfast is a delight. Our room in the lake house was clean well presented and the wet room had a fantastic shower and bath. Everything about this hotel makes your visit to the Lake district just that little bit better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your excellent review, I am pleased that you continue to use the hotel whilst visiting the Lakes, and will continue to use us in the future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel is beautiful,particularly the gardens and set against the most wonderful view. Staff are friendly and helpful. The bed and bedding was comfortable and fresh and the room and bathroom was enormous. Would be helpful to have darker curtains or linings to avoid waking so early. Breakfast was delicious and morning wait staff were friendly and prompt. Breakfast overlooks the stunning view. It's not cheap and there are plenty of alternative places to stay but it's a complete treat

Room Tip: The back of the hotel overlooking the lake and gardens
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186225Traveller624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I will pass on all of your nice comments regarding the team at the hotel. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,183 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,469 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £112 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing