We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruth and Martins wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdale Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ruth and Martins wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Well...1year in the planning and on Wednesday the 25 th June ourselves and 38 guests arrived at the hotel to prepare for our wedding on the Thursday. Andrew and his team run the hotel like a well oiled machine and nothing is too much trouble. More guests arrived on the Thursday and the wedding took place in the hotel. The setting is stunning with fabulous views over Lake Windemere and the Langdales. The hotel prepared salmon and roast beef as choices for the wedding breakfast and the beef was particularly good...very tender and food was enjoyed by all! We now have wonderful memories of our stay and will be regular visitors....thank you so much Andrew and team....see you soon

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review following your wedding with us. I am pleased that you have so many wonderful memories and we look forward to welcoming you back for your Anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    176
    64
    36
    23
See reviews for
259
482
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I returned from a 2 night stay at the Langdale today after attending at a wedding yesterday.

I am a very judgmental person however am simply unable to come up with any cause of complaint about this beautiful hotel.

Our room, when we booked was described as a standard room however it was anything but standard to us, there was plenty of space, beautiful views and lots of information/magazines and booklets about the local area. There were lovely toiletries and a refreshment tray and it was absolutely spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well we also had a very nice seating area with a full length window to look out onto the fantastic gardens and lake.

The hotel surroundings were second to none not just with the prime location on the lake but the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen with lots of wildlife. We spotted rabbits, a fox and even a deer.

The staff in the hotel could not have been more pleasant from the receptionist right through to the bar staff. We did have the pleasure of meeting the Manager as my husband was best man and we had asked for assistance with a projector screen which they were more than happy to provide and erect at the drop of a hat. The food served at the hotel for both breakfast and evening meals was delicious and my mouth waters at the thought of the delicious meal that I ate and every member of the entire wedding party had the same view and I would like to take this opportunity to compliment the Chef!

As part of the wedding we went on a lake cruise and the staff that came along from the hotel again were courteous and not intrusive in the confined area whilst incredibly kind and polite.

For the duration of our stay we were often asked if we were comfortable or if there was anything we needed and we felt very at home.

I would like to thank and commend all of the staff at the Langdale for making not just our stay but our very dear friends day the most memorial and special they could have wished for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyAKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us for your friends wedding. Please come back and visit us again in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our family have used the Langdale for more than 30years for special occasions and romantic breaks. So many memorable stays here. Several times booked the private sitting room for my late October birthday. They can cater for table for 2-12 in this room and when it is lit only by candlelight and the real open fire and white napery and silver it makes one feel very special indeed. Of course Clare and her wonderful team create a magical experience for larger weddings and such. Our daughter's summer wedding held there was amazing. My own favourite season to visit is Autumn/winter when the the fire in the Great Hall is mesmerising and the smaller lounges also have log fires burning. It is such a treat to return to the hotel and enjoy a hot chocolate in front of one of the fires.

Our stay on Sunday 22nd June 2014 did not disappoint. Our party of 2 couples were allocated adjoining rooms in Lake House Lodge. These are the most splendid accommodations with verandahs and the most exquisite lake and Langdale mountain views. Overlooking perfectly manicured gardens with lovely meandering footpaths down to the Boathouse and jetty. Really comfortable beds and loads of fluffy white towels.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The food perfectly presented. We arrived at lunchtime and had coffee and very tasty sandwiches in the Orangery/conservatory. Early evening we were lucky enough to find available a lovely table on the terrace for dinner. Although the hotel was busy as we expected because lots of other guests, like us, were eagerly awaiting the spectacular sunset, the service was ultra efficient.

This visit was to introduce my brother's new Chinese wife to the English Lake District and, predictably, she was ecstatic. Our family have had connections with the Lake District since the 1930s and have experienced all of the top hotels in Windermere and nowhere is as consistently excellent as the Langdale Chase.

Treat yourself - go there - go soon!

Room Tip: All lake view rooms are special but we love Lake House Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freyaroseCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us, and I am pleased that you have enjoyed another remarkable visit to the hotel. We look forward to many more to come,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Arrived to very friendly staff. Thought we were walking into a medieval castle. We were given room1.I think this hotel has good and bad points.
Good points
1 huge bedroom
2 fantastic view
3 enormous bed
4 a none tipping hotel but add £1 to your bill at the end of the stay but you can choose not to pay that as well but I like the idea.
5 good breakfast in the dining room overlooking the lake
6 free wifi
7 pretty central if you want to go out for the day without going miles out of your way to get there.

Bad points
1 very poor shower no heat hardly at all. Same if you ran the bath like warm
2 poor shower head water just just trickled through
3 good breakfast and although we ate all we ordered at dinner there were numerous complaints.
4 second night were seated I a small dining area because there were only four couples eating it was quite dark and wow did you want to hurry and finish your meal and get off those uncomfortable chairs.
5 got internet for about 15 minutes on first night and couldn't get it after that.

All in all a decent hotel and I would still go back. Don't know whether I would pay £100 per person per night for dbb again, and that was on special offer.

Room Tip: Room 1 is good just one small flight of stairs. Side and front windows £10 per person per night for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann.cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay in room 1. With the comments regarding dinner in the smaller room, during quieter times on an evening an to create a more intimate ambience at the hotel we are fortunate to be able to offer a smaller room for dinner to create this atmosphere, but please next time ask for another more comfortable chair rather than our hand carved ones. I am sorry that you experienced problems with the water pressure, but I have just found out today, that the local water company have been carrying our a lot of work in the local area and many people have experienced such problems.

However I do hope you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently had the pleasure to stay in the boathouse on the edge of the lake. We had an amazing experience, the views are outstanding and there is no where else like it. To wake up to the sound of the lake lapping around you was unbeatable. The food in the restaurant did not disappoint and have always wanted to try the Chase Gateau. This was amazing, thank you Joanna xxxx. Breakfast was also a treat and we enjoyed every morsel. This was a birthday treat booked by my husband and as we have both worked there a long time ago and had our wedding reception there nearly 13 years ago. Was a very special place for us and we were not disappointed. I have always wanted to stay in this room and finally my dream has been realised. We hope to return and sample a room in house next time. Thank you all xx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay in our Boat house. I agree this is the most stunning room possible in the country for location, and hopefully you will come back and visit us soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I am exceedingly lucky to stay in some fabulous hotels and visit a great variety of restaurants, I overwhelmingly find that people working in the hospitality industry and welcoming and sincere. On the odd occasion that the experience has not meet my expectations I have chosen not to leave a negative comment here on trip advisor being all to aware of the possible effect on that business of a poor rating. Today however I have been humiliated the langdale which has the most stunning position on the side of lake windamere. We asked for two chicken Caesar salads for lunch - you order from a waitress at the bar! She seemed surprised and unaware they were on the menu - the chef appeared from the kitchen to say it was to late to order lunch but she pointed out it was not quiet yet one. I ordered a beer and a water for my partner and we went outside into a sunny day to enjoy the stunning view. Several staff came and laid up the table, the barman bought my warm flat beer and the water and then a kitchen porter appeared with the two salads . He laughed and said here are your two ceasar salads laughed again and walked off. What please is so funny? It was a hot day we did not fancy the roast pork lunch. The salads were sloppy plenty of anchovies and faux paramasen did not make up for the few rotting lettuce leaves, at no point did anyone come to ask how our lunch was - or perhaps explain what's so funny about having two salads for lunch. I hope that the hotel owner and GM find the joke as funny as your chef and the waiter did and that you all still laughing!

If we had been told there was no lettuce we would have happily been directed to something else on the menu.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent review, and I read in amazement and confusion your comments, I personally was on duty yesterday, and feedback that we received, was all positive, however if you were not happy with either the service or food I would have been happy to talk to you regarding this.

We serve food all day from 12 noon through until 10pm, we have no restrictions, and certainly would not allow a kitchen porter to deliver any of our food. Our chef was tied up in the kitchen, delivering the food, and would not have been able to leave his station at 1pm on a Sunday lunchtime. We do only serve a Caesar Salad however and not a Chicken Caesar Salad, so maybe this is where the confusion came from when ordering and made her look surprised.

Our Head Chef would not allow any rotten food to leave the kitchen, and we only use baby gem lettuce for our Caesar Salads, and only use a top quality Parmesan Cheese, so I am a bit perplexed by the comments, and this particular item is served all day long both on our lunch and afternoon menu, and our staff certainly do not laugh at our guests, do you think you may have misinterpreted a friendly smile and gesture as something more sinister, you certainly couldn't be more wrong, and we certainly are not laughing, and all of our beers come through a cooling system and then through a flash cooler under our bar, if your beer goes warm, it does the opposite and does not go flat, it froths and foams, and if we were serving warm, flat beer on a sunny afternoon we would have had a number of concerns about this.

I am sorry that it did not conform to your normal high standards, but trust me, we do our best to deliver a high standard of food, alongside a high calibre members of our serving team, and should you choose to visit us again, I would be happy to meet you personally and get our dedicated team of Chefs to recreate you a delicious Caesar Salad.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at this beautiful hotel on the night of our 25th wedding anniversary. Had a requested a lake view room and what a room it was (no 1). The room was absolutely huge with large windows looking out onto the lake, just wonderful. The hotel was spotless, the reception staff were very friendly and nothing was too much for any of the staff throughout our stay. The Dinner was very good, had a nice bottle of wine. We both had cheese and biscuits instead of a dessert and these were served on a large plate that was decorated with Happy Anniversary in chocolate, a really nice touch. Breakfast was lovely and very well cooked. We had a superb time and were made to feel really special. Thank you for such a lovely time, we didn't want to leave such a special place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giminana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay at the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed al the aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing