We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdale Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkby Lonsdale
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place, from the friendliest and warmest welcome I have received anywhere to the stunning location Langdale Chase has the wow factor! We sat on the terrace until 1am soaking up the view on a beautiful July evening and couldn't have been anywhere better. The room was lovely with views over the lake and patio doors. The bathroom had a roll top bath and a walk in shower with a huge spray system. Breakfast was first class with top quality ingredients. Staff are professional and friendly. Loved it all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay. I will pass on your kind words to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    177
    64
    36
    23
See reviews for
259
484
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked this hotel for our weding anniversary and this was the third place we stayed at in the lake district. Our room was very large and comfortable, the bathroom could do with a bit of updating but it was clean and well equipped.
the view from our room was very impressive and was lovely to wake to the beautiful view of lake Windermere.
The food was fantastic and very good value and the service was exceptional. The only small gripe was on checking our bill some one had ordered a round of drinks on our room number. This was quickly rectified by the reception colleague. The hotel is very romantic in beautiful gardens and we would definitely recommend it to anyone. Thanks for a memorable stay

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room and request a shower room as ours didnt have a shower curtain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay with us. we are blessed with our location, and also our high calibre members of the team, who are all highly trained in the guest service industry.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Decided last minute to go to Lake Windermere. The staff were very helpful securing me a beautiful room at a good price. We stayed B,B and evening meal for £260. When we arrived i was amazed at the wonderful views the hotel has. The atmosphere was one of fun and relaxation. The staff I found really helpful, chatty and efficient.The room was delightful with wonderful views over the lake and to the mountains. I couldnt have asked for more from a hotel room. I give the hotel 4 rating and that is purely becasue I reserve 5 ratings for Michelin starred food. The food at the hotel was of a high standard and well presented. The portions were big so dont fill up on bread and there was a varied choice. You can also have more relaxed eating in nearly all the rooms including the conservatory. The hotel also allows dogs. Not my thing but may be useful for others to know. I so want to give it a 5 rating (oh forget the michelin star- a 5 it is LOL). I thoroughly enjoyed and will definately be going back so that has to be an excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, here at the Langdale Chase, we like to think we offer a friendly, cheerful but professional service. I am so pleased we delivered this and we look forward to your return very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed for just one night at this amazing hotel. The service was very impressive with the person on reception giving the best welcome we have ever received. The room was very spacious and although some would say it needs updating we found to be very quaint.
We didn't fancy a fancy meal so ate from the bar menu hich was was both exceptional value and quality.
The gardens were spectacular and romantic with unparalleled views and also lots of free running bunnies! !. Without doubt the most beautiful hotel we have stayed at with the best food and service- the rooms just need a bit of updating.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the Langdale Chase Hotel after charity row across Windermere. The welcome was amazing, we felt like royalty. Fantastic food with enormous range and variety, beautifully served. After dinner we walked around the grounds and enjoyed Irish coffees with a superb view over the lake. Our room was at the front, first floor, with its own balcony and again, a brilliant view of the lake-we loved the view so much we slept with the curtains wide open so we could wake up to it! The rate was fantastic too-£138 per person for dinner, bed and breakfast. Totally amazing. I would definitely stay here again-it was rated the Uk's most romantic hotel-you can see why.

Room Tip: See if you can get lakeside view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherScott_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

As guests of Ruth and Martin we were delighted to be invited to celebrate with them at their wedding last week at the Langdale Chase Hotel. From our arrival to departure we enjoyed a truly welcoming and friendly atmosphere and found the service we received to be first rate. Add to that the stunning location and you would be very lucky to find a better venue.

The Lordies

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your friends wedding at the hotel. I am so pleased that you all had such a wonderful stay and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudsey, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We only booked our trip two days before we were due to travel and Paul said he would do us a deal on a bed and breakfast bases, which he duly did. Karen warmly welcomed us and nothing was too much trouble for her. Our room was a delight, massive comfy bed, massive bathroom, both with wonderful views of the lake and gardens.( It would have been nice to have separate shampoo/soap/conditioner rather than the liquid all in one provided.) We subsequently decided to stay for evening dinner, which at £70.00 plus wine I thought was a tad overpriced, although the food was plentyful the venison I chose was over done, however, this was partly my fault for not having requested it to be cooked to my preference. I do have to say, however, that although the view from the dining room was beautiful the windowsill needed wiping down as a lot of dead flies had accumulated there which were rather off putting. Breakfast was fine, not a big fan really, but it was adequate. Beautiful grounds, lots of bunnies, beautiful views. Although I have put an average rating, would have put good if I'd had the option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the Lake view, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambermist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent visit. All in all I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, however please be sure to ask next time about the cooking preference for your Venison. We set our standards extremely high with regards to cleanliness, and I have noted your comments regarding the flies, at this time of year with the humidity we are currently experiencing there are far more flies around, and all day and night windows and doors are left open attracting more.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing