We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and wonderful staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdale Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is the perfect place for a wedding. The views of the lake and gardens are stunning.
But the staff really make this a terrific place to stay and celebrate a wedding.
The staff are verry helpful and accommodate guests every need.
In particular their pastry chef Joanne was kindness itself when she helped me fix our wedding cake disaster. Thank you Joanne!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJB201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit to the hotel. I am so pleased a disaster was avoided thanks to our wonderful Pastry Chef, I will pass on your kind words to her, and hopefully we will see you at the hotel again in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    175
    64
    36
    23
See reviews for
259
481
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our wedding at the Langdale Chase. We wouldn't have settled for anywhere else, the venue is absolutely breath taking and the staff were fantastic. Andrew always made himself available to see us no matter when we arrived. The food was fantastic and we couldn't have wished for better weather. Our guests were nothing but complimentary about the whole experience. The Langdale Chase is one of our most favourite places in the world and we are both so pleased we got to celebrate our marriage there. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your wedding at the hotel. It means so much to us all here that you had such a wonderful time celebrating your big day with us, we look forward to your return for your Anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just got back from a wonderful stay at this hotel. On entry we were greeted by a wonderful Geordie lass called Karen she was very friendly and informative about what the hotel had to offer. She was also very helpful about attractions and places to eat in the area. All the staff are really friendly and helpful and its like being part of the family. Fantastic views across the lake and would be a fantastic venue for a wedding.

Thank you to all the staff at Langdale Chase Hotel for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Although there is no wi fi in the rooms all the public areas have wi fi. Lake facing rooms are bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishruane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at the hotel, I am so pleased you were so well looked after, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first time at Langdale Chase. It was a birthday present from my son and daughter-in-law. From start to finish we couldn't have been made more welcome. We had a beautiful room, with stunning views across the lake. The atmosphere at the hotel was so relaxing which made it very easy to chill out!

We had both lunch and dinner in the conservatory. The food and service was excellent, the staff were very attentative and nothing was too much trouble.

We had several walks around the grounds, the gardens were beautiful and so peaceful with very well tendered plants and some amazing trees.

To wake up to these views in the morning was unbelievable!

Special thanks go to Clare, Thomas and Andrew who made our stay very special. This was my husband's first trip to the Lake District and we are already planning when we can come back and we will definitely be staying at Langdale Chase.

Thank you so much.

Val and Mark x

Room Tip: Room 3 was brilliant with stunning views across both the gardens and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValC478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to have you stay at the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We have had afternoon tea here today and although the food was delicious and plentiful we were a little disappointed.
We had booked afternoon tea for four. We were shown into the conservatory from an empty bar . We then had to stand to one side whilst the waitress pushed two dirty tables together, rearranged the chairs then cleaned the tables. There was no atmosphere in the room, quiet music would have helped. The food arrived, it looked delicious and there was plenty if it. But... the teapot was chipped in several places, the sugar pot felt grimy and there were no tongs or extra spoon to get the sugar cubes- how many wet teaspoons or fingers had been in there???
No one came to check our food was ok and no one asked when we'd finished if we had enjoyed it.

Well done to the kitchen, they saved the day, the afternoon tea was very tasty.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank engledene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your visit to the hotel. I am sorry to hear of your comments, we do play subtle background music, but as to not be intrusive we keep this to a minimum.

With regards to the atmosphere, at this time of year, there are always plenty of people around to create a great atmosphere, and with your booked Afternoon Tea, we always like to offer the Conservatory due to the great views it offers from there, rather than just utilising the bar area.

Our staff are fully trained to be attentive but not intrusive, however I am pleased to read that you did enjoy the food which you were served.

Please contact myself directly on your next visit, and I will ensure that you have a pleasant and enjoyable visit to the hotel.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just returned home after sampling the delights of afternoon tea at the Langdale Chase. What a perfect setting and such a friendly and caring welcome. When Mr and Mrs Noblett heard that it had been my friends 80th birthday we were presented with a glass of Summer rose spumante to accompany the delicious and attractively served food.
The views over the lake to the Langdale Pikes were so clear. We sat by the edge of the lake and listened to a harpist playing as a wedding was being celebrated.
We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and would recommend the venue to our friends.
Thank you

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit for afternoon tea. I am so pleased to read that you had a lovely time, and it was our pleasure to present your friend with a glass of sparkling rose wine.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

on Sunday 6th July 14 I had my perfect, perfect wedding day at the Langdale chase. Andrew, Ben and all the staff are all very friendly, helpful and professional and simply cannot do enough to ensure your day is everything you want and more. All our guests where astounded at the lovely surroundings and views and the service received throughout the day, and all commented how large and comfortable the rooms are.
The food was amazing and they let you piece a menu of your choice together, very competitive rates on drinks packages and all the special extras you can add on, nothing is to much trouble.
Anyone thinking of choosing this hotel simply for a night away, holiday or wedding day etc. I can highly recommend it and I will defiantly be returning every year to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: The lake view room are amazing, so nice waking up to that lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your wedding with us. It is lovely to read such wonderful comments and that we made your day so magical for you.
We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel for your Anniversary

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing