We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, superb service”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed for a weekend to celebrate a family anniversary. The hotel is full of character and we booked a room with a lake view - to be recommended!
We stayed B&B and Dinner - and the food and service was truly excellent. The restaurant is very well run, like a well oiled machine, and the staff put everyone at ease with their friendly, yet highly professional, manner.

Room Tip: Book a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    161
    55
    34
    19
See reviews for
64
397
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Brilliant view, lovely interior, excellent bedroom with balcony abd lake view, excellent food, really helpful staff. Definitely worth visiting again ... and again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

A lovely hotel where nothing is to much fo the staff.Food was out of this world.The decor and furnishings were beautiful.Definatley be returning in the future .

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jillic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We went to the Miller Howe on a Times deal, as we'd had a very busy time, business-wise and simply needed to get away for a while.
With the Miller Howe, we were certainly not disappointed.
From the charming relaxed reception and welcome, the showing us our room and the service overall could be matched only be a very few British hotels.
Our room was delightful, even though there was a massive oak tree between us and a lake view! All facilities were spot on, including Molton Brown smellies and tea and coffee facilities (with potted milk that tasted just as good as proper semi-skimmed - others take notice, please).
We have stayed in hundreds of hotels worl-wide, but never have we had such comfortable beds! We literally felt as if we were floating on clouds!
It had rained during the day and the whole of Lake Windermere and the surrounding countryside looked fresh and vibrant and at night time, there was the most horrendous storm, with lightening flashing over the lake. This was quite fantastic, but unfortunately for the hotel, it caused a power cut, which meant that we had cold water in the bathroom, no tea or coffee, and even worse, in the the breakfast room, we dined on cereals, bread and marmalade. Miraculously, the attentive waiter managed to find some hot water for a much needed cuppa.
How they managed during the day at Miller Howe, I don't know, but the Dunkirk spirit prevailed and our stay was not affected by this at all - indeed, the hotel is to be congratulated on the way it just carried on without making any fuss.
For a variety of reasons, we didn't eat in the Restaurant, but the Visitor's book was loaded with complements about the quality of food and the impeccable, unobtrusive service.
Even though we were on the Times Offer, and paying less than the usual rate for an hotel of this quality , there was no itimation from any of the helpful staff that this mattered, nor were we made to feel any less valued and welcomed than anyone else.
Thanks, all of you for a wonderful stay at Miller Howe.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryJohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed in the cottage in the grounds of the hotel, which is interestingly laid out and tastefully decorated with its own lounge and kitchen. It is a good haven for anyone with children as they can relax and play with their own toys and books etc The landscaped gardens are perfect to stroll around with stunning panoramic views over the lake and to the mountains beyond.
They pride themselves on their fresh, imaginative food prepared with quality, locally sourced ingredients and the food certainly does not disappoint and is thoroughly enjoyed accompanied with the excellent wines that they offer on their wine menu.
We found it to be a perfect location for a wedding or just a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millerhowe, General Manager at Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review us and for your very kind comments. The team and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and the food and wines, not to mention the wedding. It was our pleasure looking after you all and do visit again soon.
Kind regards
Nigel Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I recently stayed at the hotel, and had a throuroughly enjoyable experience. The hotel and views were beautiful, as were the meals. If I had one complaint, it would be the lack of internet access throughout the hotel - much needed in my line of work. Nevertheless, I would recommend this to anybody looking to escape for leisure purposes!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaboola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millerhowe, General Manager at Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Many thanks for your kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have wifi in our public rooms though not in the bedrooms. We are looking into extending access. Come again soon and let us spoil you.
Best regards,
Nigel Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We went to the Miller Howe for lunch, full of expectation of being treated. I am sad to say it was a disappointment. Food only average - service and ambience not good! We were greeted on arrival but then effectively abandoned in the lounge for 15 minutes before being offered menus and a drink (no canapes at all) . There seemed to be only one maitre d' handling everyone's drinks and orders. The situation was compounded by an antiques exhibition of sorts which was being set up in the conservatory around us - people coming and going and boxes left everywhere. The window cleaner was also doing his level best to spoil the magnificent view of the Langdales! You don't do these things during service! Menu choice was fine for a lunch offer (£17.50 for 'locals') and a good selection of House and other wines. We then waited a long time before being called through to the dining room (despite there only being about five other tables occupied - including one by a family in shorts and walking shoes - see earlier review re dress standards!). Again, we had to walk through a room full of cardboard boxes to get to the dining room. A boring selection of bread was offered (white or brown - where is the walnut, olive, tomoato etc - it's not hard). My starter of twice baked cheese souffle looked nice but was only okay - not nearly tangy enough with some sorry looking leaves dribbled with balsamic on top. My wife's trio of salmon looked superb but again lacked taste sensation - bland and samey she said. Both our main courses were disappointing - my duck breast was over cooked, with the skin flabby instead of crispy, and a skin had formed on the jus where it had clearly been waiting on the pass. My wife's seared cod was something she said 'I could make at home' with the jus leaking into the potato and the wilted greens definitely wilted! A VERY long wait to order dessert followed - despite us now being almost the sole occupants of the dining room (maybe more than one waiter - albeit a very friendly one - would help!) . The desserts were better, a very nicely presented trio of chocolates (again - taste didn't match looks though) and a nice rhubarb crumble served with plenty of real creme anglais (always a tester of a decent kitchen for me!). Coffees at £3.50 extra with some okay choccies in the lounge were fine if pricey. I would love to say this was good value but it wasn't. A final bill of £66 plus tip (we had only a modest - but nice Chablis - half bottle of wine at £18) is not cheap. When one looks back at what the Miller Howe was not so many years ago I have to say a Michelin Star is almost inconceivable. We recently had lunch at the nearby Holbeck Ghyll and for less than £20 more on the total bill the difference is like chalk and cheese. We felt sad leaving the Miller Howe - and a little sorry for the old girl.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scareybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millerhowe, General Manager at Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. I was saddened to read your comments. i am sorry you felt abandoned in the lounges. We do not serve canapes at lunch time. As you rightly said Moorcroft potteries were hosting an event at the hotel. We were not aware of the volume of stock there would be and we did try to contain them to the conservatory. Regarding dress code, at lunch time we are quite relaxed about this as we get a lot of walkers, so I am sorry if the dress of fellow diners offended you.
As to the food, we do just offer freshly home made wholemeal and white at lunchtime. The flavoured breads are served in the evening. As for your comments regarding the starters, the chef and I are very surprised. The cheese souflee and the trio of salmon dishes are firm favourites on our menus and are requested time and time again by our regular guests. What can I say.. we all have different palates. I am puzzled by your wifes comments on the salmon being "samey". Home cured gravadlax, seared and rillette are quite different takes on salmon in my opinion.
As for your mains, the cod dish is a perfect lunch time dish in our opinion, simple and light with nice flavours. If your duck was overcooked I only wish you had said and we would have happily replaced it
Desserts, glad we scored well with the crumble and custard. In my opinion £3.50 for fresh coffee and hand made petit fours is reasonable and in line with any of our competitors.
I believe our wines to be quite fairly priced.
In essence I am sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us, I have tried to address your comments whether I agree with them or not!

Regards,
Nigel Williamson,
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Howe Hotel And Restaurant
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing