We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay - a high quality couple of nights in every respect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful stay - a high quality couple of nights in every respect.”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Having booked with the Times offer, we thoroughly enjoyed the friendly and professional service, excellent restaurant and incredible location. The views over Windermere from our balcony and restaurant whilst dining at sunset we're some of the best I've experienced.

During one of the days, we spent some time in another hotel for a friend's wedding...let's just our thoughts about the Miller Howe were reconfirmed. It's a great place to stay and I can't recommend it enough. Quality bedrooms, amazing location and fine dining...great recipe.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    159
    52
    33
    19
See reviews for
63
395
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone Kent UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We were on a "Times Break" but would have been appalled at paying full price for the quality standard experienced.
There appeared to be no obvious overall Manager and there was a slight language problem at table. with the foreign staff and in addition there was no welcoming feel to the whole experience.
Having been allocated a Cottage we were surprised to find the very bad access and egress without having been warned when booking.

Room Tip: Avoid the cottages- tortuous access bad in wet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobNapthne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed for a weekend to celebrate a family anniversary. The hotel is full of character and we booked a room with a lake view - to be recommended!
We stayed B&B and Dinner - and the food and service was truly excellent. The restaurant is very well run, like a well oiled machine, and the staff put everyone at ease with their friendly, yet highly professional, manner.

Room Tip: Book a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Brilliant view, lovely interior, excellent bedroom with balcony abd lake view, excellent food, really helpful staff. Definitely worth visiting again ... and again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

A lovely hotel where nothing is to much fo the staff.Food was out of this world.The decor and furnishings were beautiful.Definatley be returning in the future .

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jillic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We went to the Miller Howe on a Times deal, as we'd had a very busy time, business-wise and simply needed to get away for a while.
With the Miller Howe, we were certainly not disappointed.
From the charming relaxed reception and welcome, the showing us our room and the service overall could be matched only be a very few British hotels.
Our room was delightful, even though there was a massive oak tree between us and a lake view! All facilities were spot on, including Molton Brown smellies and tea and coffee facilities (with potted milk that tasted just as good as proper semi-skimmed - others take notice, please).
We have stayed in hundreds of hotels worl-wide, but never have we had such comfortable beds! We literally felt as if we were floating on clouds!
It had rained during the day and the whole of Lake Windermere and the surrounding countryside looked fresh and vibrant and at night time, there was the most horrendous storm, with lightening flashing over the lake. This was quite fantastic, but unfortunately for the hotel, it caused a power cut, which meant that we had cold water in the bathroom, no tea or coffee, and even worse, in the the breakfast room, we dined on cereals, bread and marmalade. Miraculously, the attentive waiter managed to find some hot water for a much needed cuppa.
How they managed during the day at Miller Howe, I don't know, but the Dunkirk spirit prevailed and our stay was not affected by this at all - indeed, the hotel is to be congratulated on the way it just carried on without making any fuss.
For a variety of reasons, we didn't eat in the Restaurant, but the Visitor's book was loaded with complements about the quality of food and the impeccable, unobtrusive service.
Even though we were on the Times Offer, and paying less than the usual rate for an hotel of this quality , there was no itimation from any of the helpful staff that this mattered, nor were we made to feel any less valued and welcomed than anyone else.
Thanks, all of you for a wonderful stay at Miller Howe.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryJohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed in the cottage in the grounds of the hotel, which is interestingly laid out and tastefully decorated with its own lounge and kitchen. It is a good haven for anyone with children as they can relax and play with their own toys and books etc The landscaped gardens are perfect to stroll around with stunning panoramic views over the lake and to the mountains beyond.
They pride themselves on their fresh, imaginative food prepared with quality, locally sourced ingredients and the food certainly does not disappoint and is thoroughly enjoyed accompanied with the excellent wines that they offer on their wine menu.
We found it to be a perfect location for a wedding or just a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millerhowe, General Manager at Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review us and for your very kind comments. The team and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and the food and wines, not to mention the wedding. It was our pleasure looking after you all and do visit again soon.
Kind regards
Nigel Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,419 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,143 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Howe Hotel And Restaurant
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing